We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battle of the Mariachis”
Review of Tenampa Salon

Tenampa Salon
Ranked #245 of 4,458 Restaurants in Mexico City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Historico
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Battle of the Mariachis”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

An experience and a half. Great drinks and good appetizers. The noise level was deafening with at 3 mariachi bands competing with each other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank techgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    121
    36
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tradition but on weekends too full and loud”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I love coming here everytime I go to Mexico - especially if I have visitors with me. But this last time the place was extremely busy and loud. I thought that the etiquette was that one Mariachi band was to play at the time. Well, this last time there were at least 3 bands playing at the same time and that made it less enjoyable. We were there on saturday night after a pay day. So probably is best to avoid these sort of nights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runninglady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok food, terrible service”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

on the first night of our trip to Mexico City, we wanted to make it memorable and decided to go to Garibaldi and walked into El Tenampa. It was very nice inside, there was mariachi playing and it seemed nice. We ordered the Tenampa Grill (or something similar) and a couple of drinks and bottles of water... it took a VERY long time for us to get our food and when it came, the chorizo was raw, and the steak was burnt. We couldn't find our server so we called someone else and had him at least take the chorizo back to be cooked a little longer. We were very hungry and our server was never around to help us, we even talked to the people on the next table from us and they said that they had already complained.
We asked for the check and our server came and told us it was $750 pesos, we asked for the bill to look at our breakdown and he disappeared only to come back mad to ask again for the money... we were still waiting for our bill.. he got very upset and we felt a little scared so we paid him and took off. The bill was suppose to be $459 pesos and he bullied us into paying him way over what the food was. I will NEVER go back to this restaurant and I will tell friends and family to be careful there! Please be aware of this and if the server gets mad, just call someone else to get you the manager... it was a little scary!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Drink your tequila here.”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Founded in 1925 and located on La Plaza Garibaldi, the center of Mariachi music in Mexico Capital, you can enjoy tequilas from a list of classics while listening to excellent musicians perform in Mexico's most beloved music. Both tequila and mariachi are native to the state of Jalisco, but if you can't get there, this is the next best!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maura_Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mariachis!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Touristy but fun. Pay the mariachi band to play for your table - and enjoy the music they are playing for others. Food was inconsistent (but not really why you go there). Enchiladas verde were good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank walking360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenampa Salon also viewed

Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tenampa Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing