We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel rigth in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Hostel rigth in downtown”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Very short walk to the Zocalo, the place is very clean and the facilities excellent, the staff gave us an amazing service very polite and friendly. The roofterrace at weekends is so good with the parties and cool drinks i tried something called black pearl was so good and hip. I really liked hostel regina i will come back here anytime very very recommended.

Room Tip: any room is nice and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in the hostel and that you liked our common areas. We feel also very proud to know you enjoyed the new drink you tried. Our colleagues are fond of introducing our foreign friends to all the different aspects of our culture so please do not hesitate to ask for any particular interest you might have next time. We are sure we will be able to show you lots of new stuff you will enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    88
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
10
40
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A bit of a party hostel - both in the hostel lobby/bar/restaurant and from the streets below which host a variety of (often poor quality) buskers that play to the people sat outside cafes.

Facilities are good with 3 free-for-20mins PCs with internet, and free wifi. Breakfast is standard with weak coffee and two pancakes with syrup. Ok if you're on a budget.

Kitchen is decent with a microwave, gas cooker and a fridge.

Rooms have beautiful high ceilings. I had a double with a friend and it was incredibly spacious!

Staff are helpful and speak good English.

Tours are available from reception, but as ever with tours in Mexico, they are often unorganised which can penalise the tourist when, for example, the driver of your van disappears and no-one quite knows when or when to meet up, or as happened to me at the end of the wrestling tour, the minibus driver wanted to drop me and some other Regina residents at another hostel for us to find our own way home, as it wasn't the same bus that had picked us up (all part of the same tour but regardless he wanted to save time/money!). Be aware!

Regina however is a nice place to stay - noisy but nice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opening over the "Regina street" pedestrianised side where the cafes are. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for your sincere words, it was our pleasure to receive you. In the Hostel we try our best to create a fun and entertaining environment where our guests can meet interesting and new people and end up having a great time. We also have additional services like the tours you mention. The company in charge of these tours picks up our guests at the Hostel and returns them to this same location. Therefore the situation you mention is unacceptable and we have talked to our Tour operator in order to prevent it from happening ever again.
Nevertheless these tours are still an excellent alternative for our guests that desire to get to know new and interesting places by the time they get familiarized with our culture, so we definitely suggest them also for your next visit. Perhaps next time you would like to visit Xochimilco or the Teotihuacan Pyramids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights recently, and it's a good option in DF. It´s a short walk to the Zocalo, metro, and lots of places to eat. It does have a rooftop terrace but no one was ever really up there unless with a group. It was clean, good showers, comfy beds. The staff are bilingual and very willing to explain things. I asked a lot of questions at first because using the metro freaked me out (I get lost easily), and they were always super nice and patient. Use the metro it´s easy, cheap and so much faster! They do have tours and stuff but I did everything on my own. Breakfast was basic but always fine and cooked to order. They have a good restaurant too which is open to the public so it gets full sometimes (good sign). I will say I did get a bit bored because there weren´t too many people around, or if there were they were in a group, so if you´re a solo traveller like I was you might want to take that into consideration. But that´s all luck of the draw I guess. But for good service and value, this is definitely a good hostel! Oh I will also mention, bring earplugs because the city is wicked loud-not their fault but if you don´t you might be miserable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmniaVinatAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thanks for your kind comment, it was very nice to receive you. We feel very happy to know that you were able to take advantage of our location. With so many nearby museums and the Metro stations also close by, our Hostel is commonly a selected option for travelers that enjoy travelling in a more relaxed way. Also like you mention, our girls at the Front Desk gladly assist our guests in any doubt they might have and usually suggest a couple places to visit while they are at the Hostel. Maybe for your next visit you will be interested in hanging out on our common areas. Most of our guests enjoy relaxing and hanging out in these areas so we are sure you will end up making some new friends. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hi, I'm from Puerto Rico living in Atlanta, Georgia. I stay in Hostel (hotel) for 4 night and the location and the rates are great, the atmosphere the guesses and the employees created was wonderful after a day of site seeing. Is a place to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank for your kind comment. We feel very happy to know you had such a good time with us. Hope you also had the chance of visiting our Roof- Top Terrace, which is the ideal place to hang out after a busy day and chill out by having a drink. Our guests fond of visiting this place at night and hanging out with the other guests. There they get to know each other and sometimes end up obtaining new friendships. Therefore we definitely recommend visiting this place for your next stay with us. We are sure you will spend a very good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July 2012 with a friend. Can't remember the exact amount but it was a bargain, as we booked a private room, which came with a massive queen/king sized bed and a bunk bed. The room was very large and had a great view onto the street, which had street music flowing into the room. At night, we could hear people chatting away as it looks out onto a street filled with restaurants, but it was never loud and we fell asleep quite quickly. It has shared bathrooms, which are large and generally clean.

The location is great, only a few minutes walk away from the Zocalo and the central streets of Mexico City. It is in a safe area, although at night stick with crowded streets, and ask the lovely ladies at reception which areas to avoid. The bed was comfortable, they were also generous with giving us extra sheets. Breakfast is also included, which was great as they would make it for you when you entered the restaurant. We also ate dinner there which was great and the guys that work there were really "friendly" :P

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneyswans910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for you kind words and for giving us the opportunity to receive you. It is excellent to know that you enjoyed staying on one of our Private Rooms. This rooms are very popular among our guests since they offer you a little more privacy even though they do not count with private bathrooms. In the hostel we only have one Room that counts with its own private bathroom. The rest of the Private Rooms as well as the Dorms have Shared Bathrooms located on every floor.
Perhaps you would be interested on staying on a different room category for your next visit. Each of them count with their particular advantages and benefits so please let us know when you plan on returning so we can suggest the best category for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The good: It's close to the metro and to many of the sites in the historic part of the city. Our private room was large (we booked a double but all they had was a triple with three twin beds) with high ceilings and a tiny balcony. And believe it or not, though the street and common areas of the hostel are quite noisy, it was pretty quiet when we closed the doors. Also nice to be served breakfast in the morning, though it's nothing to write home about. OK because there is an infinite number of places to find inexpensive food in the area.

The bad: Seemed a bit phony with the boho/artsy vibe. Lots of young, silly travelers. "Party" scene. People up at all hours. Music blasting in the lobby. The streets of downtown MC are very chaotic as it is. The hostel should be a bit more serene. Also seemed geared for profit and inexperienced guests. A business, not a true hostel. Tour packages seemed to be a rip-off. We paid far less to take a bus to the pyramids, for example. The kitchen was filthy. Someone put a beer in the freezer and it exploded and leaked into the fridge. It smelled absolutely awful. It was also ill-equipped for cooking even a simply meal. We cooked one night, but I felt uncomfortable using the kitchen because of the filth. The "fancy" bathrooms were run-down and did not appear as they do in the pictures. Water in showers is not very hot. WI-FI is spotty. Staff not particularly warm or helpful. Maybe a bit overworked? Bed are a bit firm and noisy. So glad we were in a private room. I can't imagine someone above or below me tossing and turning all night.

The ugly: My partner encountered a disgusting scene in the bathroom stall (someone was "sick" all over the toilet).

I truly loved Mexico City but will stay in one of the peaceful 'burbs (Zona Rosa or Condessa) next time.

Room Tip: Get a private room facing the pedestrian street with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pageofthebackstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We are so sorry that your experience was not the best in our Hostel. As you mention Mexico city can be chaotic sometimes and over warming for some people. We try to have a nice vibe with nice music where people feel safe and comfortable, like if they were on their own place.
About the Tours, we have the same rates as all the other hostels and we even have lots of discounts for our guest. We know they can appear expensive but everything is included on the price: entrance, transportation, but the most important: the explanation and knowledge of the guide.
About the Kitchen and that ugly incident on the bathroom, I only have apologies to you. We will be extremely careful with the cleaning.
Thank you very much for your comment, this can only help us to improve and to grow as a Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here in a 14-bed room for my 6-day stay in Mexico City. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff were pretty helpful and friendly. Met a bunch of cool people staying in the hostel as well. The hostel offers different interesting day trips (Teotihuacan, Lucha Libre, Taxco, Xochimilco) - I opted to go to the Teotihuacan pyramids one day and it was a fantastic experience.

The Hostal Regina is very affordable and in a convenient location - just a 5-minute walk to the Zocalo. There are also two metro stations nearby (Isabel La Catolica and Pino Suarez), along with a plethora of nice, inexpensive restaurants, taquerias, cantinas, bars, farmacias convenience stores and other businesses. The neighborhood isn't glamorous like Condesa but it was pretty safe nevertheless. I would consider staying here again when I return to Mexico City in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jphnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed so much your recent stay with us. Like you mention, we are located on a pretty safe area where it is common to see families taking a walk and tourists getting to know different attractions nearby. Also, it is very nice to know that you had the opportunity of taking one of the tours we count with. They are a very popular choice among our backpackers so we have added some more options to the original sort we handled. These options can be seen via our official website so please do not hesitate in checking them and taking them on your next stay. We are sure you will like them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,548 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
715 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 214 in Mexico City
396 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#38 of 214 in Mexico City
192 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 214 in Mexico City
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Centro Historico Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Property: Hostal Centro Historico Regina
Address: Calle 5 de Febrero # 53 | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Centro Historico Regina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Regina is projected to be the only retro art-kitsch youth hostel in Mexico City. We have shared and private rooms, where local and foreign cultures and fused along with experiences and environments. The place is brand new, counts with 121 comfortable beds, private rooms, parquet floors, high ceilings and huge windows with balcony. We manage to make every room special, spacious and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Centro Historico Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing