We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE FOOD AND OVERPRICED!”
Review of Dawat Mexico

Dawat Mexico
Ranked #246 of 4,433 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Polanco
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE FOOD AND OVERPRICED!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The restaurant is really overpriced and the food is absolutely the worst I have ever had! The ambiance is not much to speak of either. We ordered chicken biryani, karhai and tandoori chicken. It would be very difficult for me to rank which of the three dishes was the worst! I have a hard time believing that someone who cooks so poorly would be hired to be a chef of one of the few Indian restaurants in Mexico city. Save your time and money and dine elsewhere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Indian food in Mexico City”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I went to Dawat to try their Indian food and were pleasantly surprised with the meal. We have a couple of appetizers that were great and I had the chicken marsala while my wife had a lamb plate. My dish was quite tasty and the roti and nann bread was good as well.

We had both rice with lemon and rice with vegetables and both were really good. We finished off the meal with Indian tea, which was also quite tasty.

Overall, we were pleased with the meal. The amount of the bill was a bit pricey, but I guess it is worth it for a special occassion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USTravelerChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor reception and service”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Took a while to locate the resturant, having finally reached the place, the first impression was they were not at all welcoming. We decided to carry on and have a meal anyways, as we were craving for an Indian meal, having been in Mexico for 1 week without one. Recived the food menu and enquired if they had a wine list. we were presented with a drinks menu but had no wine listed on the menu. We asked if they serve any wine, and we're presented with a few choice of bottles. We enquired what was the price of the bottles, and the prices were churned out of the top of the waiters head.

The price was USD40 for the cheapest wine, having looked at the prices on the food menu which seemed high considering the profile of restaurant. As we were not impressed with the intilal reception we decided not to dine at this restaurant.

Walked approx 2 minutes from the resturant and found a very good Italian resturant. Pricy but well worth the service and food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,037 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
“Good Indian food but small quantities”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We tasted various dishes, vegetarian or with meat and they were all tasty but I found the quantities a bit small for the price - especially when the main ingredient is super cheap (potatoes for example).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in DF”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I've been eating at Dawat for several years now, and I have to say, it is one of my absolute favorite restaurants in Mexico City. The welcome is always warm, the service prompt and friendly, and the food . . . . wow! It has this really amazing fusion of Indian and Mexican going on. Now when I go back to Indian restaurants in the States, it's a let-down; they just don't have the same spice! It is a little expensive, but still, I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dawat Mexico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dawat Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing