We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Condesa Dining Experience”
Review of La Capital

La Capital
Ranked #22 of 4,315 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Condesa
Cross street: Saltillo & Ometusco
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Condesa Dining Experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended by our hotel, La Capital proved to be even better than expected. A wonderful refuge on a cold and rainy DF night, my wife and I could not have been more pleased with our meals. The dining room was smart and busy with a beautiful open kitchen. The tortilla soup was superb as a starter and both mains, a delicate grouper in lemon sauce and a nopale cactus stuffed with a ground filet mignon were gourmet. This restaurant is Mexican cuisine at the highest level. When in Condesa, stop here for a wonderful lunch or dinner...or both!! We did!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    87
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
293 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had noticed this place on T/A and decided to try it when it was also recommended by Red Tree people. It is a beautiful place. The small patio in the back is a good choice for a table.

Tuna tartar was excellent and portion was very big. We only had 4 appetizers and they were all very tasty. We were too full for entrees. Service was excellent. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food an service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Anything you ask for in this restaurant is excellent.
Food is great, prices are very reasonable and the dish presentation is one of the best I have seen.
It´s a must if you visit Mexico City

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Irving001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner at La Capital on recommendation by The Red Tree House where we're staying. It definitely is worth a visit. Of the best food we've had in MC. Great service and ambience.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrettMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This one was one of our favorites”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We used to go to this place at least three times a month Until they removed the "tiradito de atún" from the menu.
The María Felix cocktail is my favorite drink ever!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lizzete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capital also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing