We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweetest staff in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Amigo Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Amigo Suites
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sweetest staff in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Maybe a new rubric for grading hotels should be how well they treat you when you are (or your girlfriend is) sick and grumpy. We arrived late, but the desk clerk was quick and friendly, understanding our rush to our room (Thanks a lot, Montezuma!) We ended up having to stay several days as my girlfriend recuperated, and each day the staff were very, very friendly and accomodating despite our haggard grumpiness. Even the custodian was full of sweetly encouraging advice about nearby pharmacies and nearby activities to keep my occupied while I wasn't playing nurse.
While breakfast and dinner (BOTH included in the room rate) were not spectacular, they were decent and the rooftop view is great. There are three computers available to guests, and they all worked 90% of the time. There is even a vending machine for drinks and condoms.
Location is great--just a few blocks from El Zocalo, and close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: Many rooms have street-facing windows and very small balconies. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    93
    43
    15
    15
See reviews for
18
92
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My bf and I stayed here for three nights. Great location, close to city centre! Couldn't believe it when they said breakfast and dinner included in the price (surely thought I'd would be rubbish if so) but surely enough it was true and not a complaint whatsoever! The food was great and fulfilling! The staff were all very helpful and
friendly. Victor in particular went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and had a very friendly and humorous mannerism! Only down fall was the location of our room, very noisy street and we were located on the first level facing the road! Staff handed out ear plugs which helped! But I would recommend asking to be placed facing the courtyard or a higher level! Many thanks hostel amigo suites!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very cool hostel and also hostel amigo very good vibes and great staff and parties. If you need to organise anything regarding flights and busses the travel agent Aida will sort you out no worries....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davebarry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Right in the centre of mexico city with most things in walking distance.
Room had its own toilet and shower along with a TV.
Included dinner was really good and the bar had a good range of drinks and nice margaritas.
Front desk staff were helpful and spoke good english.
Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Private room was quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turbo619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have been in lot of hostels and hotels but this is one of the best hostels I have ever visited. Very good location, only few minutes from Zocalo. Really clean with nice rooms, bar and roof terace. Thay also serve delicious breakfast and dinner, I love it so much :) but the best impression of this hoslel is staff! The best staff ever! Very kind and helpfull, thay are all great...
Also, I would recommend excursions that you can take in hostel. Great organization and very good guides.
Can't wait to come back to DF and this hostel of course.

I would really recommend this place, you will enjoy there for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DijanaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Staff was very nice (specially one mexican sir that was always around during breakfast), room was large, but only ok. They served dinner too.
Room is a bit spartan (very few furniture, no decoration) and worned out, needing renewal. Location is a bit unsafe to walk around at night, but being in a group helps. One day there was no water, which was a bit unconvenient for us, but it was not the hostel's fault.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana_Carbonari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Amigo Suites is centrally located, very close to the Santiago church and square. Make sure that you get to this particular hostel, as there are two other related hostels in mexico city.

The hostel has both dorms and private rooms. I've seen a few of the private rooms, and there are different ones available. The ones on the street side have a small balcony.

The place has a backpacker feel to it, with a nice communal space on the rooftop where breakfast is served. Breakfast seems to be different every day, and there is not much to choose from: the dish of the day and/or fruits and cereals. Coffee and tea are also available, but no juices or even water.

Dinner is included in the price as well, but usually does not amount to much. There are plenty of affordable places to eat in the area around the hotel, but the small streetside ones often close at about 8 pm. Restaurants in the busier area of the center are open (much) later.

The rooms have no air conditioning, and only some of them have a fan. Since i stayed in the beginning of december this was no problem as mexico city gets very cold at night during this part of the year.

The hostel is a pretty noisy place as well. This is not always due to people making excessive noise, but also due to the buildings construction. You can easily hear people walking on floors above you, and there is noise from the plumbing too. On the street side you may be bothered by traffic - there is not much traffic on the street, but some of the cars and trucks are rather loud.

Staff is very helpful and friendly, and will provide anything you need. They are also a great source of information and offer tours and bus tickets if you are interested.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#21 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#32 of 204 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 204 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#8 of 204 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Amigo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo Suites

Property: Hostel Amigo Suites
Address: Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Amigo Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Services included: Breakfast Buffet, Dinnet Buffet, Internet, Wifi. All rooms ensuited and cable TV in all Private Rooms.Hostel Amigo Suites, sister hostel to the original and famous Hostel Amigo opens its doors in 2011 with the best facilities in Mexico City. The place was designed with private rooms and small dormitories, all with private bathroom inside the room. They were planned with travelers like you in mind, so that you can find the comfort and privacy you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Amigo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Suites Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing