We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Aeropuerto
Ranked #91 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We got 14 hour layover on our way from Peru back to US so we decided to book hotel overnight and stay here. The hotel grounds are very nice and rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is conveniently located right at the airport so you don't have to even go outside if you don't want to. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    361
    308
    153
    102
See reviews for
182
214
120
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is super convenient - I walked from the immigration to the check-in within 10 minutes. The room could be a candidate for refurbishing but was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. I got in late and left by 5 AM so did not check out other details of the hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonao, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Truly a disappointment. I spend over 250 days in hotels around the world for business and every business travel expects the basic from a hotel when the reservation is made. In my opinion the hotel is not even in the class of a Super 8. The hotel was very poorly maintained, the price of the room was truly not correct for the services provided and the environment was not open. During my one stay I noticed over 100 or Mexican Federal police trainees running up and down the halls. Bringing away the attention of the hotel guests and the elevators were full which meant long wait times if you needed a ride to the upper floors. Overall I will make plans to stay in another hotel becuase this hotel in my opinion owes me a refund for services not provided.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank troy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días de antemano me apena saber que no la paso bien, efectivamente como operativo de vacaciones el gobierno reforzó la seguridad del AICM, y nosotros fuimos hotel sede, lo que si le puedo comentar es que siempre se comportaron bajo las reglas establecidas, y de una manera educada en todo momento. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Camino Real, means the “Royal Path". If this is royalty… I prefer to be a peasant. The time of royalty in this hotel is LONG gone.

Having stayed in other “Camino Real” hotels, I am honestly surprised as to the terrible state this hotel finds itself in. In lack of a better word, and not to sound too rude… this was a huge disappointment.

So, let’s look at it:

POSITIVE POINTS:
Best of all, it is inside the international airport. Very convenient for a ONE night stay – maximum, and get to your flight on time, avoiding the hectic Mexico City traffic.

Lobby area is great, with a nice relaxing bar. After a long trip, it is a nice place to unwind.

The hotel staff is friendly, and tries to help as much as they can. The area outside the hotel is not the best, but they give you good advice on where to go, and what to do.

In the hotel, there is a good choice of restaurants. Yes, the prices are steep, but you are in the airport, so it is to be expected. Having said that, the food in the Italian Restaurant was pleasant.

Gym is very well equipped and modern machines, giving you a decent full workout.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
Prices are not cheap.
I stayed on the first floor of the North Wing. DON’T DO IT!!!

The room is very small and felt cluttered. The décor was OK, but tiny. Bathroom was a matching set – really tight, with everything on top of the other.

Internet – Can you believe this??? You have to pay for internet… and it is not cheap. 20 dollars for 24 hours. Honestly speaking, I think that it is pathetic that hotels in this 21st century that we live in – still do things like this. Cheap hotels all over the world give this away for free. NO… not here.

Sleep quality in this room I stayed in was a disaster. I arrived in the room at about midnight, and turned in for the night. Outside my room seemed to be something like the air-conditioning system for the whole hotel. NOISY at night… made it difficult to sleep. Hotel has the responsibility to soundproof the room decently, but was not the case in this room. First NO VIEW... then the noise, when trying to sleep.

It is usual to have a coffee machine in all hotels in Mexico. Well… sorry to disappoint you, this one doesn’t.

REALLY POOR carpets, and cleaning staff must not be the strong point of this hotel. Honestly speaking, did not feel comfortable in the room… and it is smelly.

Besides the lobby area, and the gym… EVERYTHING else seemed old – REALLY OLD.

SUMMING UP:
Sorry to say that I will not return to this Camino Real. I would suggest accepting to fork out the extra 10 to 15 dollars, and stay in the Courtyard Marriott hotel in the airport as well. You will thank me for this advice… MUCH BETTER.
“REAL” = ROYAL – more like the “JESTER’s” quarters.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave1Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios, tomaremos acción al respecto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a night at this hotel through a Hotwire for a bargain at $68/night and was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. But I must say that those folks must have stayed at a different hotel. I arrived at 10:30 pm on a late flight from Baja. There was a line of about 10 folks, all of us from the free shuttle from terminal 2 but they had 6 folks at the front desk. I was checked in and on my way to my room in less than 15 minutes.

I don't acknowledge the complaints of people who complain that the front desk or any other works speak little or no English. It's Mexico. Most of the guests they receive are from other Spanish speaking countries. They're shouldn't have to speak English any more than they should have to speak Dutch or Arabic (of which there are more Arabic speakers on the planet than English FYI). Consider an app to help you translate or maybe learn Spanish.

My room was in the North Tower at the end of the hall facing away from the airport so while I heard some street traffic while I was dozing off there wasn't enough noise to disturb me. There are 2 restaurants open until 1:00 and 2:00 a.m. I'd skip the breakfast buffet unless you're expensing it or you plan to eat yourself until you're stuffed to the gills. It is delicious and has a good variety, but it's right around $20 USD with the exchange rate today. You can walk across the pedestrian bridge and get fairly decent breakfast of typical Mexican breakfast items for about 5 bucks.

The later than usual checkout time 2:00 pm can allow you time to relax in the comfort of your room, take advantage of the business center or bars in the hotel or I'd suggest,leave everything in your room safe and take an early morning Metro ride to the Zócalo to take photos and just enjoy the people watching opportunity.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Google Translation
Esperamos tenerlos pronto en casa

En Camino Real Aeropuerto, nos esforzamos por brindar un excelente servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've stayed at this property for over 20 years. Convenient to the international airport via secure covered walkway. In house restaurants are good but expensive. Neighborhood is not real tourist friendly.

Rooms have seen some upgrades over the years but it is showing its age. Plumbing is ??? HVAC is noisy. Good luck with internet, way over priced.

Having stayed there as long as I have check in is a laborious process.

The easy access to airport is huge plus.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main tower adjacent to lobby. Water pressure best there. Front side facing airport c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flycactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Comfortable, convenient and excellent customer service! If you are on transit or u need to spend extra hours near the airport this rhe best choice plus they have an extraordinary breakfast buffette and a variety of restaurants with great quality.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias, por sus comentarios, es un gusto atenderle y haberlo tenido en casa Vuelva Pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Aeropuerto Ciudad de Mexico
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
#4 of 310 in Mexico City
1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mexico City Airport
Hilton Mexico City Airport
#47 of 310 in Mexico City
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Mexico City Airport T2
0.3 mi away
We Hotel Aeropuerto
We Hotel Aeropuerto
#132 of 310 in Mexico City
474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aerop...
#107 of 310 in Mexico City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Aeropuerto

Property: Camino Real Aeropuerto
Address: Calle Puerto Mexico 80 | Col Penon de los Banos, Mexico City 15520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Aeropuerto Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Aeropuerto Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing