We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much To Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Aeropuerto
Ranked #98 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 29 October 2004

The one thing that I can say positive about the Camino Real Hotel at Mexico City Airport is that it is convenient. It connected to the domestic terminal by a "sky bridge" that leads directly into the hotel lobby. There is a bellman in the airport to help with luggage. It is also right on Circuito Interior (Rio Consulado) which makes getting to just about anywhere in or around Mexico City pretty easy. And, this is about all of the good that I can say about this hotel.

Camino Real took over this hotel early in 2004 from Marriott. I had stayed once here when it was a Marriott and wrote a comment into Marriott that it was the worst Marriott that I had ever stayed at. My guess is that they received other many similar comments and that's why it is no longer a Marriott.

Quite honestly, the service at this hotel is pretty good. I ate in one of the restaurants, ordered room service, and used the front desk several times. All of the staff was helpful and friendly. Everyone spoke English well enough.

What is bad about this hotel is that it appears...shabby and not very well kept up. Sitting in my room (312) writing this, I think I have had better "looking" rooms at most motels that I have stayed at. It just looks dull and drab and I think that makes it easy for me to give this property a poor review. The carpet looks like it is in dire need of steam cleaning. The view from my room is onto the cooling system for the hotel.

Besides the decor of the room, it lacks the one thing that is now essential in any hotel room, a high speed internet connection. Not only is there not one in the room, there is not one in the hotel, if you need to connect your laptop. There are a few computers in the business center that have broadband access, but that's it. In late 2004, this is just not reasonable for a business traveler.

What else good can I say about this hotel? The beds were pretty comfortable. My room was cleaned and serviced well, which only shows up in the bathroom.

I wish I had brought a level with me because I swear that this hotel is tilting. I could be wrong, but it is especially noticeable in the halls to me. The walls, floor, and ceiling just seem to be "out of kilter."

The lobby area is not something that I typically care about, but the lobby at this hotel is dark, and the carpet is badily worn. The "sky bridge" connecting the hotel to the airport is both better decorated and in better condition.

There are four (or five) restaurants at the hotel, but two of them don't seem to be operated by the hotel. I had dinner La Huerta Cafe one evening and while the food was good, the ambiance offset the good food. It is just a dull, unimaginative restaurant. The two not run by the hotel seem to be much "nicer." I would have had diner at one of them, but I did not see them until I had already had dinner.

I have stayed at other Camino Real hotels and they are have been beautiful properties. I hope they will either completely renovate this one or take their name off of it. If this was the first Camino Real hotel that I had stayed in, it would be my last. I have posted photos of my room on webshots.

  • Stayed: October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank hankmancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2004

Arrived at 7pm. Waited on line for 15 minutes while about 10 people in front of me for check-in. Decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant with colleagues. When I came back after dinner the line was over 60 long. Took over 1 hour to get through the line for a simple process. (When I got to the front of the line, I counted 65 people behind me.)

Hotel needs to install several more check-in CRTs, say 5-10, and man them for when the 4 or more European 747s that arrive all at the same time!! This is a simple disregard of customers based on their captive market.

The restaurants were adequate, but nothing special. I've eaten more inspired Mexican food at locat taco stands than the fancy plates served at dinner. Again, captive customer can't find a cheaper better meal.
You are captured.

I did get a wake-up call, perfectly on schedule - from a friendly human being. There are machines that do that today. So, please take that girl and put her on the front desk for 7pm check in!! Automate the wake-up call.

My room was an adequate airport hotel room, two twin beds. Three mini-pillows were absurd.

I've travelled the world. This was the worst check-in experience ever.

7  Thank RussianRiverWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2003

Stayed here after getting in one night late and having an early AM connection the next day. The lobby is very nice and very pretty, and thankfully they have 24-hour room service, and friendly and English-speaking staff. While standing in the lobby, it looks like a very fine hotel. The rooms are clean but small and rundown. Fixtures are fine but old. The walls are literally paper-thin, and I could hear things going on in the hall and in other rooms. Ordered some pizza from room service and wished I hadn't. However, you can't beat the convenience factor and location. The hotel is literally right across from the domestic ticket counters, and then a short 2 minute walk across a footbridge to the main lobby. If placed in the same situation, with a late arrival and early departure, I'd stay here again.

14  Thank wise2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2002

At $110 per night + taxes for weekend rates this is OK -and convenient for 7am flight. Rooms are well insulated, beds are OK. But $185 week rate - I would have been up in arms.
The bathroom and general decor are the main issues - miniature bath room with sink positioned outside in the main room - like a cheap bed and breakfast. General decor is just cheap looking. Health club is a joke - music blasting out with a farce of a pool - not even properly filled and a step right around so messing up and ability to do laps. Service used was fine, but generally hotel really needs a revamp and would only use for weekends preferably with early flight.

6  Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank J.J. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank yjaramillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.3 mi away
We Hotel Aeropuerto
We Hotel Aeropuerto
#135 of 312 in Mexico City
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Mexico City Airport
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Aeropuerto Ciudad de Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mexico City Airport
Hilton Mexico City Airport
#49 of 312 in Mexico City
1,259 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aerop...
#131 of 312 in Mexico City
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Mexico City Airport T2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Aeropuerto

Address: Calle Puerto Mexico 80 | Col Penon de los Banos, Mexico City 15520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Splitty, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Aeropuerto Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Aeropuerto Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing