We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another place”
Review of Casa de la Condesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de la Condesa
Ranked #191 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
california
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Choose another place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hi travelers! So here's what happened today...booked ahead on Expedia's Wed. sale day hoping for an upgrade of a place. Been on the road a long time so decided to jump and get the Wed. sale of places offered sight unseen...took a chance. But really will not do this again....Left my other hotel and when I got here they could not find my res. eventhough I gave them all the correct numbers of the conf. etc.. They actually had me take out my computer and show them the Expedia details as I did not print them out, then requested to connect my computer to their printer to have a hard copy of info. On looking at conf. there were actually two addresses for the Casa de Condesa. I had booked originally the one in Polanco...anyway gave the taxi driver the address taken from the conf. from Expedia and got here. Total hold up at the reception. Then they told me that there were two Casa de la Condesa's and THAT THE ONE IN POLANCO IS ACTUALLY CLOSED! They still could not get the correct info and got Expedia on the phone and kept me standing there while figuring it all out. And so, since the Expedia Wed. 40% off deal was paid for and non-refundable, I am stuck here at a total downgrade from my other hotel. Bathroom smells of men's urinal disinfectant, and really wish I was back in my other hotel. So if you don't want to deal with hassles, avoid this place. You can do better for the price. Looked at the original price of room and it is $95, way over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurusdakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    28
    16
    22
See reviews for
14
41
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was disappointed in this hotel because I had heard good things about it, and I had a few setbacks.
The internet only worked for one hour during my entire two night stay. The sheets on my bed were stained. The TV remote did not work, and they brought another that worked so poorly I finally just did not watch TV. The room had lovely parquet floors and a kitchen, unusual for Mexico, and it was very quiet. The ad I saw for the hotel said it had a restaurant, which it did not. The staff were courteous but not eager to help.The location of this hotel is great if you want to be in colonias Roma and Condesa.
There was an amusing restaurant next door, the Cafe Ocho, where I got online and enjoyed some good food. Across the street was Starbucks so I could get an early morning coffee and also go online.
Taking walks along the streets was a safe and beautiful experience. Next time I will look for another hotel in the same neighborhood and see if I can find just what I need!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

While I know there are a number of good reviews on this property, we had a poor experience there. The positives are the location and the balcony, if you take a room with one. Negatives are the 'kitchenette' is totally inadequate, no wi-fi in the room and it is very limited in reception and the property is overpriced. In addition, we had to change rooms because of a waterleak and in the new one an armchair collapsed under me which could have caused serious injury. We also had to have another chair replaced as it was faulty as well. We'll stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raljo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Older, mexican style decor hotel, clean and in great location in Col Roma. Lots of restaurants/bars within walking distance. Staff was very friendly, spoke English and very helpful.
Zocalo was a 40 peso cab ride. Bosque de Chapultepec was about 2 miles away which we walked. I would stay at this hotel again. Budget friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room in front with a balcony overlooking the street. It was noisy in the evenings, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One day during my stay at Casa de la Condesa i met the General Manager. He asked me how i was doing after he introduced himself. I spoke to him for five minutes about staying at Casa de la Condesa and how much i enjoyed the rooms, the view, the people who work there and the streets surrounding the establishment. First, let me say if you are reading this and wondering where to go, this place is it! They are helpful, they are courteous, and the little restaurant serves a good breakfast in the morning. If you have never been to Mexico City, then forget all of the propaganda you have heard, so much is untrue (why Washington DC is far worse!!). The area around the Casa is safe, day and night. The food establishments are many and you could stay for weeks and still not see them all. The metro station and shopping are six blocks away. Finally, i have stayed in this establishment now for more times than i can count, and i will stay more times in the future because it is like home. Every time i arrive it is hugs all the way around, its like family. Do you want a vacation as a tourist or an experience of lifetime that you will always remember? Then stay at the Casa de la Condesa, and tell you friends you had an authentic visit to mexico. Paul From Canada. Viva Mexico, Viva!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with the balcony overlooking the fountain, and the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and we were not disapointed at all. Located right in the heart of the Colonia Roma a trending neighborhood full with restaurants, coffee shops and bars . The room has not so modern furniture (don't expect a flat screen tv) but it's very clean and its kitchen/ dinning table combo makes it ideal for extended stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I am staying in this hotel since a month, and I actually love it.
For a long stay, you can make a deal and get for a very good price a master suite with balcony (& hamaca) with a view of the Luis Cabrera square.
The service is great. If you forgot to fill up your fridge, you could call the room service. This is not so common for long stay place in Mexico city to have this service.

The square is one of the busiest place in Colonia Roma specially in the weekend nights. There is nice restaurant downstairs, Starbucks, and a beautiful restaurant opposite the hotel with queue to get served every night

You can walk from the hotel to the main street of Roma area Alvaro Obregon and Condesa, both area really safe also in the night, but if you feel to get a cab there is in a corner of the hotel a taxi service 24 h ("Taxi Seguro", few pesos more expensive than the normal one).

Book in advance because the hotel feel up really quickly I had to wait couples of weeks to get a room here.

Room Tip: Master suite with balcony view of the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strubi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#78 of 310 in Mexico City
272 reviews
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#178 of 310 in Mexico City
97 reviews
Roma
Hotel MX Roma
Hotel MX Roma
#126 of 310 in Mexico City
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#55 of 310 in Mexico City
60 reviews
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#115 of 310 in Mexico City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Condesa

Property: Casa de la Condesa
Address: Plaza Luis Cabrera 16 | Col. Roma Sur, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Roma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de la Condesa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a safe, residential plaza filled with fountains and cafes, Casa de La Condesa is a boutique hotel with traditional local Mexican flare. The courtyard style architecture and the use of Mexican colors throughout the property provide an authentic and relaxing escape from bustling Mexico City. With free WiFi throughout the hotel, kitchens in every room and a local Gelato shop on site, our hotel is the perfect sanctuary for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de la Condesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Casa De La Condesa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing