We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and affordable”
Review of Hostel Suites DF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Suites DF
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant and affordable”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I spent a few nights here with my wife during our stay in Mexico City, because there weren't rooms available in other more central hostels. This hostel is in a safe neighborhood, only a 20 minutes walk from the center (Zócalo) and close to the Hidalgo metro stop in case you don't feel like walking (at only 3 pesos per trip, metro is really cheap).

Our private room with bathroom was big, but not particularly clean. The shower was very comfortable and hot water was always available. Free Internet and cable TV were working properly. The included breakfast was abundant and good, with American coffee, fresh milk, pancakes, quesadillas, fruits, toasts, and homemade jam. There was free mineral water always available in the kitchen and it was possible to buy other drinks directly at the hostel for a reasonable price. Also, just around the corner there was a grocery store open 24 hours a day.

The staff was friendly and eager to help. They stored our luggage free of charge for a whole day after checkout and provided us with a cheap taxi service to the airport. They also offered organized trips with the popular Wayak agency with direct pickup at the hostel.

Overall, I'd recommend this hostel for a pleasant (and affordable) stay in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are slightly better than the ones on the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    74
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
61
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Most importantly, the staff was really friendly and went out of their way to help. They definitely make the hostel a welcoming place.
The hostel location was perfect for me – within walking distance of Bellas Artes, the Zocalo, Templo Mayor, etc. About a 30-45 minute walk to the Bosque Chapultepec along interesting Paseo de la Reforma – but at the same time just outside the centro historico so quieter (I believe) . It’s just off a main road, about ½ block along a smaller street, which is relatively quiet. I found it fine walking back there at night alone from the Zocalo, since I could walk along main, well-lit, streets all the way. It is also situated really close to the Hidalgo metro station, and within easy walking distance of the main bus routes.
I stayed in two different 6 bed dorms over 5 nights. Both contained 3 bunk beds. Each bed had its own LED reading light and a socket along with a shelf on which to place your electronic device as it charged (very well thought out). Apart from that, the room is quite spartan – one small table with a chair are the only other furniture. There is lots of room between the bunk beds, which is handy. The toilet and shower are in the room. One of the dorms had six large lockers, the other dorm did not have lockers. I was provided with a towel and sheets and there is a warm comforter-type blanket as well. Pillows were comfy! Everyone gets a key card. The rooms that face the street are quite light even at night because there is a street lamp outside the window and the curtains are white. The room was cleaned daily.
The interior common area is quite small – a room with a desk and PC with free internet, a large screen TV and a sofa. There is a larger patio just off this room with tables and chairs. There is a small dining room, where breakfast is served and a small kitchen, which you can use to prepare your own meals. There is a fridge available for guest use. They provide free drinking water, so bring a reusable bottle! There is a luggage storage room where you can leave your luggage if you are departing the city after the check out time or even for a few days if you want to make a short trip outside the city.
The included breakfasts were great. They always had fruit, bread (with a toaster available), homemade jams, butter, cereal, milk and usually yogourt. There was also always a hot component to the breakfast (although not ready at 8 am when breakfast starts, you have to wait until about 8:30, but it’s worth the wait!). It varied depending on the day – I had pancakes, omelets and quesadillas. Breakfast is served from 8-10am.
I found security to be good. When the door was left open, there was always someone at the front desk. When no one was at the desk, the door was locked, but would be promptly opened when the bell was rung.
All in all, a great place to stay in Mexico city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChileSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed in the 6-bed dorm. Big locker. Convenient electricity outlets and reading lights.
The hostel is practically new and everything (bed, bathroom, etc.) has a high-quality feel *and* a nice design to it.
The common areas are small but nice.
It's a 5 minute walk to a main Metro station (Hidalgo), and a 15 minute walk to the buzzing city-centre, yet the hostel is on a quiet (but safe-feeling) side-street with almost no traffic.
During my stay, I stupidly lost the key to my locker-padlock, causing quite some inconvenience/extra work for the staff (it was a strong padlock), but this was solved in a patient, friendly and prompt manner. For me, this is the difference between "very good" and "excellent" - when something "abnormal" happens, and it is solved in such a manner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Granted, i have only stayed in two hostels in mexico city, but hostel suites DF was head and shoulders above the other. Seriously great place. I ended up with a 4 bed dorm to myself with fully equipt satellite tv on a flatsceen! You can imagine my joy. But this was not the main reason. The main reason was the freindliness and helpfulness of the staff, the decor, cleanliness and infrastructure of the place, and the cost effectiveness of it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: go for the 4 bed dorm with flatscreen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamesbarnes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in Hostel Suites DF for three nights at the beginning of my 6 week Mexico City adventure. Hostel Suites DF was a fantastic hostel, the breakfasts were plentiful (pancakes on one morning!) and the staff were very helpful. The only negative I have about the accommodation is that it can be quite noisy in the evening (there was construction work going on around the clock in the area and one night the bar downstairs was super noisy till the early hours of the morning.) The hostel staff were able to change my reservation at last minute to a short three night stay after I found a sub-let in Condesa also. Clean, friendly and very convenient. Thanks Hostel Suites DF I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that does not have a window which looks out over the bar downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shizapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed for three nights at Hostel Suites DF. The building is the nicest I've ever stayed in as far as hostels go. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they seem to work hard to keep the place clean and take some pride in what they offer. The layout is not as conducive to meeting other travelers as some other hostels I've stayed in, but as for a place to stay while passing through one of the biggest cities on the planet it gets a huge thumbs-up from me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WQst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed in this hostel one night only, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a private room (on the fourth floor, with no lift, which can be challenging if you have been walking around all day!), comfortable en-suite, shower with very hot water and good pressure, ample storage space, desk with a very good lamp, lots of sockets everywhere! Internet worked well. Not much noise from the street and absolutely none inside the hostel at night. Only problem was the heat. They could do with a fan.

We checked-in with Irma and checked-out with Saul. They were both kind, cheery and helpful, gave us tips and precise and clear directions and showed us maps and travel guides.

We had an early breakfast, so we only met one other traveller while enjoying our juice, fruit with yoghurt, toast with cream cheese, butter, jam, honey and very good coffee!

They have a nice lounge and a terrace with lovely plants, which I found miraculous, since it is encased among tall buildings (which you do not notice until you look up). Very surreal.

The hostel is just steps away from Reforma, where you can get a bus South to Chapultepec and the Anthropology museum, or North to the Basilica (quite far away), and about a 10 minute walk to the Alameda (closed for renovation at the moment), and then on to Bellas Artes, Correos, Minería, Casa de los Azulejos, Torre Latinoamericana, Cathedral, and Zócalo.

Also within walking distance are several metro stations and two metrobus stations, one of which goes all the way to the airport (we didn't take it, but it looked nice and clean).

We would definitely go back to the Hostel Suites DF.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if it is mosquito season and get a device at reception that you connect next to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKINMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#37 of 310 in Mexico City
578 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 310 in Mexico City
597 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 221 in Mexico City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#2 of 221 in Mexico City
402 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#10 of 221 in Mexico City
560 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 221 in Mexico City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites DF

Property: Hostel Suites DF
Address: Calle Jesus Teran 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, cozy, design hostel located very close to Mexico City’s downtown, close to public transportation and tourist attractions. Our goal is you to have the best home experience. We serve breakfast every day and we give you personal attention. Tours and activities can be customized depending on your mood, budget and lifestyle. You are very welcome to be part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Suites DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Suites DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing