We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms for what you pay for”
Review of Hostel Suites DF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Suites DF
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good rooms for what you pay for”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My partner and i stayed in a private room for 3 days. Our room was on the 4th floor. There were no lifts, so be prepared to carry backpacks up multiple of flights. The kitchen staff were very nice and fed you well. The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful. The only thing that may damper your stay is that sometimes staff or backpackers may stay up late partying, unfortunately the noise from the kitchen carries through. If you are staying on levels 1,2, & 3, you are very likely to hear the noise. Otherwise, the hostel is worth your dollar, comfortable beds, clean toilets and bathrooms and HOT water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    73
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
61
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well maybe that's a mild exaggeration but they really looked after us well here. All the staff were great, couldn't do enough for us and were really helpful with advice on places to go and how to get there. Special mention has to go the kitchen staff, two lovely sisters who took us under their wing and were really understanding of my dietary requirements. Great breakfasts.
The common areas were good, it was reasonably social without being crazy and walkable from the centre as well as being close to a metro line. Can't comment on the dorms but both our private rooms were great for the price, though the mattresses need to be changed as there was certainly some dips and broken springs. But you get what you pay for and at Hostel Suites DF, you really get quite a bit.

Room Tip: I think the private rooms are the best option - higher up are quieter but be prepared to tackle the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdseye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

clean hostel, useful services for backpackers and the lady Faviola from the reception was really nice and helpfull. the breakfast was good too.
The location is close to hidalgo metro station and easy to tour this interesting city

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you're young and want to stay up drinking, yelling, smoking inside the Hostel and partying until well after midnight with the Hostel staff - in complete disregard for the other Hostel guests then this is your type of place.

We found the owner and staff very friendly helpful and no other issues with the running of this place.

Room Tip: choose well away from the stair-well or near reception area if your sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calloway34279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Me and a friend stayed at Hostel Suites DF for four nights during march 2013, and we greatly enjoyed our stay! The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and it wasn't too noisy due to the fact that the hostel is situated on a quiet street right off the main streets. Location was good; only a fem minutes walk to Hidalgo metro station and in walking distance from Alameda Central, Bellas Artes and El Zocalo. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the kitchen ladies made delicious breakfasts. My only complaint is that the beds were exceptionally hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikkeL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here in a private room and after taking a day trip to teotauhican we arrived back to discover that an iPhone had been taken from inside one of our bags. We approached the hostel staff who showed little initial concern but assured us that the owner was coming in to investigate, however the owner was never to be seen.

We then asked for directions to the nearest police station to report the theft for insurance purposes only to be told to go to the wrong station in the wrong direction. It was only by good luck that a helpful local drove us to the tourist police and helped us there.

Overall the staff were generally unconcerned and another guest accused us of lying (he smelled of alcohol and seemed to just hang around the hostel all day). The lack of a safe in the private room was eventually a huge downside to this place and has cost us dearly both financially and emotionally.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Worldtrip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Location is very good, safe neighborhood only minutes from the metro station and not much further to downtown. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy and the duvets and pillows all warm and snuggly. The staff were friendly and informative. There's a free breakfast laid on (cereals, yoghurt, toast etc) but get there not too early!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrillemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#37 of 309 in Mexico City
578 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 309 in Mexico City
595 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 222 in Mexico City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#2 of 222 in Mexico City
402 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#9 of 222 in Mexico City
559 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#18 of 222 in Mexico City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites DF

Property: Hostel Suites DF
Address: Calle Jesus Teran 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, cozy, design hostel located very close to Mexico City’s downtown, close to public transportation and tourist attractions. Our goal is you to have the best home experience. We serve breakfast every day and we give you personal attention. Tours and activities can be customized depending on your mood, budget and lifestyle. You are very welcome to be part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Suites DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Suites DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing