We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cofee”

Cielito Querido Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Coffee & Tea in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cofee”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Great expresso and very good chocolate drinks. Make sure you try the corn cake.
Its a nice place to chat but no Wifi service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UserX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    96
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Standard Coffee Shop - Very Good Coffee & Chocolate”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Don't expect to be wowed by the setting. Pretty functional.
However, do expect the coffee and various hot chocolate drinks to be excellent.

Quiet enough for conversation but, no WiFi at all.

Helpful?
Thank RoadWarror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place to calm down and chat.”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I was recently there in "la Condesa" visiting Mexico City to meet up with an old friend. He suggested this cafe as it is similar to Starbucks coffee (too similar in my opinion....) and is a nice place to chat and sit down.

The white hot chocolate is delicious. It is priced very well and with the current cold weather it was very nice. However, I will note the place is rather small so on busy nights don't expect to be able to sit down. The good news is that there are more places to count in la condesa so don't be shy to venture.

Final thoughts:
Out of this world? no I don't think so.
Would I come back? Yes, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

Overall, I enjoyed the experience and the chocolate was great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“Best coffee in Mexico”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

It is the best coffeen in mex city. I come often for business, and stay close just to try the coffee. Very elaborated, but traditional. Starbuks meet traditional mex cousine...

Helpful?
Thank Fefo_el_Rapido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Went back the next night”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A Mexico City native introduced me to the hot chocolate from Cielito Querido, and it changed my life, haha. I had the chocolate chile and it was such a different and interesting combination...I LOVED it. But choosing between it and their plain hot chocolate (which is not sweet at ALL, just rich chocolatey goodness and latte-foamed milk) was impossible for me, so the very next night I went back and tried the other one. Now I'm online searching for a recipe so I can try to recreate the deliciousness at my home in Missouri, USA!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cielito Querido Cafe also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cielito Querido Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing