We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good place ”
Review of Sanborns Cafe

Sanborns Cafe
Ranked #1,587 of 4,368 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighbourhood: Coyoacan
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Coyoacan
Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
2 reviews
“No good place ”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very poor dinner... Service was slowly and low quality. More then 40 minutes for a club sandwich.. It is not possible.

Helpful?
Thank Goodbyerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best the first time!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I ate here my first time to the city in 2007 and had dreams about the enchiladas suizas. Upon my recent return I just had to get them again. Like a lot of things the second time around isn't how you remember it! The suizas were just ok unfortunately. However, the food is relatively cheap and the service efficient so you can't go wrong if you need a quick bite of food in this bustling city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 88MM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing venue but food/service very poor”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Also known as the House of Tiles it is definately worth a visit. We had lunch upstairs - it was cold and tasteless. When the waitress gave us the bill she told us it did not include the tip. Then she produced a calculator and showed us she wanted a 10% tip - became quite annoyed when we declined.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Open late - good for people watching but not so good for eating”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you need to eat late this place will be open, but it's very run of the mill food. My chile rellenos was sub-standard. Staff are lovely though, and it proved to be a great people-watching experience. Not as cheap as you might think.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachlovinAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
364 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice staff-average food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The place was packed at 230 PM then I realized people eat lunch later in Mexico compared to the states. I had to wait in a line but it moved fast. I received a menu in English when I requested one. Someone who looked like kitchen staff came out and I assume because he spoke English, which I appreciated. He took my drink order then my server brought it out. She spoke no English (Nana I think) so the other gentleman came back over to assist. Ordered the Chicken Enchilada's with Mole sauce and refried beans. While the food was good it was nothing special. It filled me up which is always good. This, along with a Coke Zero, came to less than $10 US currency which was a good deal. The staff we all nice here and the restaurant is attached to a store that is stocked well with pretty much everything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanborns Cafe also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanborns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing