We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming, perfect location and great value”
Review of Residencia Polanco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencia Polanco
Ranked #291 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 3 December 2013

First the bad news. We arrived to be told our room was not available (it would be available the next day). Said they had tried to contact the booking company (cheaptickets.com) but were not successful. Tried to send us to a hotel that was literally miles away. In the end they put us in a very nice place a block away (why didn't they offer that in the first place?).

Returned the next day to find a beautiful suite, actually a good-sized one-bedroom apartment The decor is traditional and charming, and the king-size bed very comfortable. No air-conditioning, so beware if you are travelling in Summer. We had a fan, and opened the doors to the beautiful balcony and were very comfortable. Ask for one of the front rooms. Despite a bit of traffic noise, the light and view from the balcony make it wonderful.

The location is great, in a lovely residential area, a pleasant walk to many of the city's top restaurants, Chapultepec Park and the museums. The staff was very friendly and quickly responded to whatever we needed. For just over $80 US per night, this is unbeatable. I can't wait to return to this beautiful city and stay at Residencia Polanco again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent 15 nights at Residencia Polanca in August 2012, and we were not disappointed: it is well located in the quiet, upmarket district of Polanco, close to many sight seeing spots, subway, cafes, restaurants... The staff was always very courteous and very helpful, making this place our "home" in Mexico City. The rooms are spacious and clean, and tend to be better isolated from the street noise (minor and mainly due to cars passing a speed bump too fast) towards the back of the building, where we could hear no noise at all.

A very nice residence with everything at hand!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilieOZ-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

SUPER big room , with private bedroom, excelent size livingroom perfect for long stays, the personal is SUPER friendly, and evrything is close by, restaurants , boutiques , and specialy museums , like Rufino Tamayo , and antropology museum , Also it is in a quiet place in Polanco , with ver y little noise , I love that !!
For business is GREAT area and very safe.

Room Tip: The front suites have a beautiful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We enjoyed the location of the hotel even though it wasn't in the middle of all the action in Polanco, it was only a 10-15 minute walk to be able to enjoy all the major attractions in the heart of Polanco, and the neighborhood immediately surrounding the hotel also had some cute restaurants and convenient supermarkets, pharmacies, dry cleaners, etc. Cab drivers didn't seem entirely familiar with the address, so it is best to learn precise directions and instruct the driver, as the hotel is situated on a one-way street. Note for non-Spanish speakers: some of the staff do not speak English, so be prepared to make an effort to learn at least the basics!

The rooms are somewhat charming in their decor, but as it is such an old building with inferior ventilation, there was a definite mold problem in the room. There is no A/C and there are no fans, however the windows do open (but there are no screens and the windows open directly out to a common walkway). The bathroom shower leaked onto the floor and made a generally big mess. Soap was provided, but no shampoo or any other toiletries. The safe in our room was broken, but they allowed us to use one in an unoccupied room, and we were charged for use of said safe even though they did not disclose the charge in advance. the rooms have kitchenettes, however no dishes or utensils whatsoever.

bonus: if you ask for the password, you can use the free wifi.
the staff was friendly.

when we arrived there were no pillowcases on the pillows (somewhat disturbing because the pillows were pretty gross looking). they changed the sheets, but not pillow cases each day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rinnifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had an appointment with immigration, so I was looking for an affordable hotel in this area. Having lived in Mexico for several years, the idea of a real "Mexican" hotel and not a ''chain" hotel did not discourage me.

I found the hotel to be more or less what I expected. It's small and there did not seem to be much activity. I only encountered a couple of other guests while using the stairs and elevator. The night was fairly quiet and uneventful.

The rooms are older, but are large 2 room suites. The bed was typical Mexican--hard as a rock. There was a nice flat screen TV with cable.Wireless internet worked flawlessly.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room ($85USD) and consisted of coffee, toast, fruit, and juice, all served by a delightful gentleman who's worked at the hotel for 10 years. The restaurant is undergoing remodeling currently.

Compared to the prices of other nearby hotels, I think this hotel was a good value. It's not a 5-star luxury property, but it was certainly adequate for my needs. I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2005

The Hotel Residencia was not bad, but not really a 'boutique' hotel as their Web site stated. The room decor was fine, however sparse, and was suprisingly the size of a suite. Details were amiss however - no hangars in the closet, furniture was slightly mis-arranged, hall lights were burned out and I could not find a thermostat. There were also few electrical outlets.

On a positive note the staff was very freindly and helpful, and all but one desk attendant also spoke English. The bed was very nice, with extra long and soft pillows, and the free satellite TV channel options were good. The shower included a full size tub and plently of hot water and water pressure. There was also a kitchenette, but if you are spending this much on a hotel, why not eat out? The fridge was also too tiny for wine or champagne, and was on the floor requiring one to crouch down to use it.

Having no business center or computer to use for Internet access was a major fault, and in this price range, I wish I had spent +$50/night for the Nikko, a fantastic hotel. Don't let location be a draw here as it was for me - this was on the very edge of the Polanco district and walking a few blocks was required to get into a decent restaurant and shopping area. Making things worse, its street block was very dark at night. Newton Street is one way in most sections which wreaked havoc with my taxi dropoffs. Hotel Polanco, at the same price point, is a better value if one is in town for leisure and to enjoy this neighborhood conveniently and comfortably. And if you can spend more on the W, Intercontinental, Nikko or La Habita, its definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank QuincyVelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
19
Reviewed 3 October 2003

If you are tired of the typical Chain Hotel, this is a nice change. The building is older, but the decor and staff are very nice. All rooms are large suites and the resturaunt is a good value. It located in a safe clean zone of Polanco. Convenient to the great eateries Polanco is known for...also has easy access to Chapultepec Park and museums. Metro is a block away.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hotel Polanco
Hotel Polanco
#268 of 312 in Mexico City
98 reviews
Polanco
Alteza Polanco
Alteza Polanco
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
76 reviews
Hotel Park Villa
#189 of 312 in Mexico City
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#44 of 312 in Mexico City
387 reviews
Polanco
Suites Obelisk
Suites Obelisk
#204 of 312 in Mexico City
60 reviews
Suites Contempo
#59 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Polanco

Address: Calle Newton 272, Mexico City 11570, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residencia Polanco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencia Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Polanco Hotel Mexico City
Residencia Polanco Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing