We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly good for groups, solo stay away”

Hostal La Buena Vida
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal La Buena Vida
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hostel is nice enough. Everything is very clean and well-kept but the ambiance just isn't there. I was there in mid-march and the hostel was an absolute ghost town. I went to another hostel 2 days later and it was much more active. No one was here aside from an Australian student I met who confirmed that before I got there he hadn't seen anyone else. The meeting/group area wasn't to inviting either.

The area can be a little sketchy at night but also very fun. Be sure to ask at the front desk. He told me which areas to avoid and fun areas to meet other young travelers. So while the area can be fun if you know where to go, the hostel itself wasn't much of a social hostel. I wouldn't mind going here with a group of friends but if I was traveling alone I definitely would not come here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

La Buena vida! This is a chill hostel located in Condesa. The Patriotismo subway stop is just a nice 5 minute walk away, and at night there are plenty of cool restaurants and bars nearby. This isn't a party hostel, but there are still opportunity's to make friends. I met some really great people there! Also the staff are extremely helpful, I wish I could give them a high five right now. Book this hostel and give everyone high fives! You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chadlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at Hostal La Buena Vida for a couple of nights during easter 2013 at the end of my trip to Mexico. The hostel was nice in itself. The entire building is very artsy and fancy. Also, it is cleaned every day leaving it absolutely spotless. Adding to it, I felt very safe in the hostel.

However, the hostel charges double the price as other hostels with the same or better service. For that, it is not worth the price. For instance, the breakfast was the poorest I had on my entire trip to Mexico, the kitchen was not for guests' use since the closets and fridge were locked, there are no curtains in the rooms, and the one I stayed in was exceptionally noisy because it was located next to a main road. Also, I stayed in a female only dorm. However, the last night a guy came in at 11:30 PM. We solved it out, but it made me feel uncomfortable.

So I'd recommend you find another hostel with better value unless you are very much into staying in artsy, new places and not so much into socializing, good breakfasts etc.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you get an inside room since the outside one I stayed in (La Parca) was very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RikkeL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I would recommend this one highly for the following reasons:

First the location is the best, the neighbourhood of La Condesa is the place to be in terms of food, ambiance, nightlife and you have a very close access to the metro in order to move within the city.

The hostel is sparkling clean, the cleaning service is at the height of a hotel. They change your bed every day and clean the room perfectly.

It's true that it's not a cheap hostel, but Mexico City is anyway more expensive than the rest of the country.

The breakfast is ok, nothing luxurious but fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Highly recommended - very friendly people, clean, comfortable, safe, and price isn't bad (~ $USD 20-24/night). There are mixed and female-only dorms. It was nearly empty when I was there in June 2012, probably because it's still nearly new, a little more expensive than older hostels, and Condesa isn't where most tourists flock towards (but is my favorite Mexico City neighborhood).

The location is perfect - walking distance to all of Condesa & Roma, Paseo de la Reforma, Zona Rosa, Chapultepec Park, and Parque Mexico. There is very easy metro access to Coyoacan, the Centro, and airport, and easy Metrobus (bus rapid transit) access to San Angel. The few extra pesos per night compared to most DF hostels more than make up for not having to stay in the tourist nightmares of the Centro or Zona Rosa (my opinion, obviously).

Bathrooms & rooms cleaned very well daily. Laundry on site (pay at the front desk). Combination lockers in each room. Nice common area on the top floor with computers, Wifi, lounge areas, TV, patio. There's a 7-11 a block away for water, beer, and snacks, plus restaurants, shops, and bars all over nearby.

It's a bit hard to find the first time, even with the crazy colorful lights at night - bring good directions and a map, especially if you're coming on the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rackoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A freind and I stayed here in early June. Had been open only 5 months. We were only two in a room for 4 and it cost each of us $22 a night. Very modern and interesting and clean. On top floor there are computers to use and where you fix your breakfast. Good location and within walking ditance of parks and restaurants with a restaurant next door.

Room Tip: They have a website with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jean117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rodrigoviajero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
#48 of 231 in Mexico City
156 reviews
Condesa
Anys Hostal
Anys Hostal
#8 of 231 in Mexico City
73 reviews
Roma
Roomies Hostel Condesa
Roomies Hostel Condesa
#71 of 231 in Mexico City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#44 of 231 in Mexico City
197 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#6 of 231 in Mexico City
323 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
#19 of 231 in Mexico City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Buena Vida

Address: Avenida Mazatlan 190, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Buena Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal La Buena Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Buena Vida Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing