We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #103 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the last two days of a 16 day trip in Mexico. Through an online travel booking site, I paid 1006 pesos for the two night including tax, (worked out to just over $40 per night including tax). This was for a standard room without breakfast. (No need for breakfast at the hotel. There are cheap eats on every corner of Mexico City!)

The location, right in the middle of the Zona Rosa (the Pink Zone) couldn't be better. It's only 2 blocks off of Avenida Insurgentes (and the Hamburgo Metrobus stop) At this intersection, walking north on Insurgentes for just over 5 minutes will take you to Paseo de la Reforma. If you walk in the other direction for 5 minutes, you will reach the Insurgentes Metro station. So there's easy access to public transportation.

The room was rather small, but clean. A huge king size bed took up much of the space in the room. There was a very small closet, a small dresser with TV on top of it. and a small counter with a bench that served as a makeshift desk. The bathroom was tiny (especially the shower stall in the corner of the bathroom-very little room to spare) The furnishings almost had a European IKEA style look. In fact, that combined with the small quarters, especially in the bathroom, with every square inch serving some useful purpose, gave me the feeling that I was in a small hotel room in some European capital rather than Mexico City. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom. The room is equipped with a strong Wifi signal. The window looked out into an air shaft with a full view of another room's window 10 feet in front of you (make sure the blinds are closed!) Like everywhere else in Mexico City, there was no air conditioning. I was staying during the hottest months of the year there. The hotel keeps a fan in the closet to take out and use in case you get hot. There was only a couple of hours a day when even that was necessary.

At all times, staff was very friendly and helpful. They got a car for me at 5 in the morning to the airport for 150 pesos ($12.17) This is much more than what a regular metered taxi would charge, but much less than other hotels in the area charge for their own car service, and less than the ripoff taxis at the airport (238 pesos?? No thanks,I said)

You can have guests over in your room at any time, and the hotel doesn't care or charge any more for it. In fact, three different guys visited during the course of my two night stay and came right up to my room. No one at the hotel said a word or raised an eyebrow.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Del Principado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on TA. On arrival, the hotel was full and we had been allocated a king-sized bed instead of a twin room but my daughter and I didn’t have a problem with this so the receptionist rewarded us with a couple of Coronas. We were pleased with the room, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathrrom... but be warned – there is no A/C. Our stay was in early May so the fan provided was sufficient (though my daughter had some difficulty sleeping in the heat.) I can imagine these rooms can be stifling mid-summer.

Unfortunately, the hotel experienced a problem with the water supply the following morning. We had no water at all for a day and no hot water for a further day. A potable water tanker was parked outside the hotel on the first day. We were on a short stay in Mexico City and wanted to see as much as possible so I did not want to be side-tracked by looking for an alternative hotel so we stuck it out. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Safety deposit boxes are provided at reception for no extra charge. There is free wifi.

We paid extra for the breakfast buffet and I would not do this again. Food was average and service was below average. There was an excellent coffee shop half a block from the hotel – Café Santa Domingo - where the friendly owner welcomed us like long-lost family!

We found this hotel well-situated for sightseeing in DF – a couple of blocks from Paseo de la Reforma and walking distance (20 minutes) to the Zocalo/Belles Artes. For the price, I would definitely stay again but I'm reducing my review to 4-star due to the water issue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlexFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation to Mexico. Walking distance to bosque de Chapultepec. Taco stands and restaurants in all directions. Convenient store less than a block away. We didn't need our room cleaned everyday so the slow house keeping never bothered us. Great place at a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms: clean, a little small but ok, really unconfortable beds!! They were extremely soft. Website offered air conditoner and we received a really noisy fan.

Location: great, really close of night clubs, restaurants and many other attractions.

Food: bad buffet breakfast, no vairety at just one waiter and must say not a really kind one.

Overall opinion, nice for one night stay but i would stay somewhere else if my trip was longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatricioGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

my husband liked this hotel but I did not care for it and there are better options available in this price range. for starters it was on the wrong side of avenida insurgentes thus inconvenient for where we wanted to go. (we usually walk everywhere as DF is so walkable.) the price was terrific and I read good reviews which was why we chose this hotel. we had an inside room opening onto an airshaft which made it very quiet. our room was not very clean when we arrived but improved thereafter when it got cleaned. we frequently arrived back in our hotel at 6 or 7 to find it not yet cleaned. I usually had to ask for towels or a bathmat. the staff here are very nice and very helpful and the breakfast buffet enjoyable. my husband said he would return but I will head next time to hotel florencia which is where we usually stay. if I sound wishy washy about this place....well, that's just the way it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stay in this hotel the second time and we are completely satisfied with our choice. This time we stayed for 6 days. Del Principado is situated in a very good place, almost in the cetre of Mexico city, in 5 minutes from metro Insurgentes. The rooms in hotel are not very big, but clean, light and comfortable, with internet in the room. Hotel is so nice and quiet, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help you and ask any your question. You can reach many interesting places and sights by walking from hotel, without using any transport. Just take the city-map on reception and go on! I recommemd this hotel from all my heart to everyone for staying in the capital of Mexico

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My room was quiet and reasonably clean, but often hot and stuffy. I didn't use the electric fan because there were no extra outlets in the room. Mosquitos were also a problem. The windows should have had screens.
The staff is kind, friendly and generally approachable..
The restaurant is a joke. The breakfast buffet was okay but most dishes contained meat and I'm a vegetarian. Also very few meatless options on the dinner menu and the waiter after being informed twice that I'm a vegetarian brought me a plate of fetuccini laced with ham. He returned it for me but when he brought it back, after I ate most of it I discovered a piece of ham at the bottom so I had to almost force him to not charge me for it. He held a grudge and didn't give me the time of day for the rest of my stay.The plasma screens (three of them) are also unnecessary, especially during breakfast. Music would have been much nicer. A communal table for guests to meet and chat would also have been nice.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaronbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Stella Maris
#115 of 312 in Mexico City
125 reviews
Posada Viena Hotel
#98 of 312 in Mexico City
160 reviews
Hotel Astor
#83 of 312 in Mexico City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#46 of 312 in Mexico City
852 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#89 of 312 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 312 in Mexico City
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing