We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, inexpensive hotel in zona rosa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #103 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booking this hotel on expedia was a great bargain and we felt that it was a very good hotel for our budget. Helpful staff at the front desk spoke English. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Seemed like a nice safe neighbourhood within the zona rosa and about a 5 minute walk to Reforma. Metro station was about a 10 minute walk. There were a few restaurants within a short walk and there was a dining room in the hotel, although we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comfortseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013.. It is a clean, centrally located hotel at a reasonable price. What made it extra special was the staff.. Carlos at the front desk should be given a medal.. he is a rockstar!
My boyfriend and I started a 6week backpacking holiday in Mexico. We flew into Mexico city with Aeromexico (rubbish rubbish airline!!).. They lost our luggage and it took them 3 days to recover it. Carlos spent hours on the phone with aeromexico being our advocate and translator. Seeing us distressed, the hotel even let us stay an extra night and only charged us the cheap internet rate we got when we made our original bookings. And gave us free breakfast on 2 mornings! If it wasn't for him, we'd probably have been luggage-less for even longer.
Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is located in zona rosa, very close to a shopping center, the stop of the turibus (the sightseeing bus) and a metro station. There are restaurants and a souvenir market not far away - actually on the same street Londres (some walking required for those not used to walk).

The rooms are small but clean and offer everything you will need. The beds are comfortable and are not hard as usual in Mexican hotels. The tv is the old type of flat screen but works fine. The Internet is good. The bathroom is small but has all you need. You get a bottle of water every day free which is not the case for more fancy hotels we stayed in during our trip.

The breakfast is good (it is a buffet mixture of continental and English breakfast all with a Mexican touch :-) and includes freshly pressed juice! The staff is flexible, very friendly and helpful. Carlos from the reception was particularly nice and helpful. Thanks!

When you first see the hotel you may feel a bit disappointed but it only improves thereafter. For the money you pay, you get something really decent. Give it a chance! Have a safe trip!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a week while working on a project. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I inquired about a gym, and one of the staff members ran to the gym to get a brochure and delivered it to my room, without me even asking him to! The beds were also comfortable.

The best part was the breakfast-- chiliqiles (tortillas soaked in chili water-- SO GOOD!), eggs, beans, different Mexican dishes with potatoes and ham, coffee, and pancakes (at least on the weekends!)

The neighborhood is actually also pretty cool-- a quick walk to Roma Norte, which is quite cool!, and only a 2 blocks from Reforma. There are also several little restaurants within a few block radius. I was traveling with 2 other girls and only I spoke Spanish-- we never felt unsafe!

The ONLY thing I would say is that the towels were quite old and kind of rough, but at least they were clean!

Room Tip: We stayed in 304, then moved to 410-- 304 was MUCH quieter-- so whatever side of the building that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reggerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very professional, friendly service all-around.....good quality Mexican breakfast buffet....excellent location....rooms are clean and adequate...if you feel the need to spend approximately double the price at a different hotel for a slightly fancier room, then this is not the place for you.....great value and we'll surely return on our next time through Mexico City!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the building and/or higher floors are probably worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I used this friendly, clean, well located, safe hotel as my base in Mexico City and it felt like home. All of the staff were fabulous from those at the desk, in the taxis, in the restaurant and cleaning the rooms. They helped with everything without a problem. The breakfasts were perfect with a great variety of foods even to suit my vegetarian fussy eating daughter! The are is safe and has everything you need. We wandered around all night and day without problems. The only problem we had was that the wifi was weaker on some levels. It is a business hotel so basic but more than enough for our needs. I'll be back that's for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Clean, good location, great price, staff were extremely polite, welcoming and willing to help. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Receptionist spoke excellent English and when asked to book a taxi back to the airport at the end of our trip, it was easy and very affordable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corrine617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Stella Maris
#114 of 312 in Mexico City
126 reviews
Posada Viena Hotel
#99 of 312 in Mexico City
162 reviews
Hotel Astor
#84 of 312 in Mexico City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#98 of 312 in Mexico City
255 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#42 of 312 in Mexico City
858 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#30 of 312 in Mexico City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing