We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #106 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I knew that this hotel would be basic with nothing to blow guests away with but it was still fairly disappointing. This is a budget place so lower your expectations before arriving. I wasn't expecting much but I thought it would be a good place to stay based on past reviews.

The front desk staff were extremely nice and spoke English.

The issues I had were the rooms were so small! I was shocked the first night when we first opened our door, we could see a quarter of the bed without even stepping into the room. The main problem I had was with the cleanliness of the room. The sheets were not 100% clean and I left a note for the maid, pointing out a stain on one of them. When we came back that evening, they didn't replace the sheet and just used the same one for the entire duration of our stay.

Maybe they didn't change it because they appear to outsource their cleaning services and it would have been too difficult to clean it?

On our last day, there was no hot water in the morning when we wanted to shower. The front desk had the problem fixed after 30 minutes.

Some notes:
- about a 5-10 minute walk to Cuautemoc metro station
- there are some street food stalls a block to the west of the hotel
- there are OXXOs and 7-11s a block or two away from the hotel so you can get water and snacks.
- the hotel provides free bottled water. We had 2 bottles the first night and had 4 bottles in the room every day after that
- the hotel provides free Wi-Fi which has a decent connection
- 200 pesos for a taxi to the airport
- there is a free safe that is available at the front desk
- no air conditioning but there is a fan in the room

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pdmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is small and a little on the old side. No Air conditioning, just a pedestal fan. TV didn't get much reception. The shower was a bit average.

The location was good, a short walk to Alemeda Park and then onto a few other landmarks. Felt very safe in the area. Shops close by.

The staff here were pretty good, very helpful. For what I paid to stay here, it was certainly worth the money. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSet-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very good hotel considering its price! Nice location, very close to Zona Rosa and night life. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. Breakfast is good as well!Staff is friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel for its value!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Eric_Z_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very conveniently located in the Zona Rosa. The hotel area is very safe to walk around the night. The room is very basic with no frills but very clean. The staff was very accommodating giving us directions and maps. The breakfast was abundant with a variety of hot and cold choices and fresh fruits. There is no air conditioning in the room but by opening the windows and turning on the fan you won't miss the AC. The bathroom was very small. If you are looking for a beautiful room please look somewhere else. I don't think I would come back to the hotel because I enjoy a little more luxury and a cold air conditioner after walking around the city. There is an amazing food stand next to 7-Eleven five tacos for 250 pesos ($2.25).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maria52652001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

For starters our rooms were a little bit more expensive than were quoted on the Expedia site. Only about US$10. We ended up staying an extra night. And they were very accommodating of that. The rooms were clean and very well-kept, our particular room faced the street and it was pretty nice - a little noisy but not too bad. Zona Rosa is a great district in Mexico City -bars, restaurants and lots of tourist attractions are pretty close by. Most of the staff at this hotel spoke English so that was helpful. We owed on our bill and they were very gracious and let us pay on the last day. As we did not have pesos. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Mexico City. This is a great hotel to wake up, walk outside get your coffee, get your tacos (5 for 25 pesos!) and start your day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MoushumiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for a week in February 2014 whilst visiting Mexico city. We chose it because of its location and we weren't disappointed - it is 10 minutes walk to the metro, and 5 minutes walk to the express bus and the centre of the zona rosa. The area has a good range of places to eat and is very safe. The rooms are fairly basic, but they are very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and the free wifi connection was reasonably fast. We booked over the internet and found the rooms very cheap.
What makes the hotel special are the staff; nothing was ever too much trouble ! They looked after our luggage whist we went to the coast and gave us the internet discount for our second stay despite us not having booked in advance. We would certainly stay there again !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skindoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is located in a nice location close to plenty of bars, transportation and restaurants. My single was pretty small but for $43 a night it was a decent value. My one problem was that the bedsheets were worn and the pillows both were clumpy and needed to be replaced. It's surprising that the hotel has not replaced them. Also, the room was a bit dark but maybe that was just my room. It also gets somewhat loud if people like housekeeping staff are talking in the hallways. The wifi was strong. The staff is nice and friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Nomad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Posada Viena Hotel
#97 of 312 in Mexico City
165 reviews
Stella Maris
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#100 of 312 in Mexico City
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Astor
#83 of 312 in Mexico City
165 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
707 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#64 of 312 in Mexico City
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £39 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing