We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST ACCOMMODATION IN MEXICO CITY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #89 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Miami, Florida
1 review
“BEST ACCOMMODATION IN MEXICO CITY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Enchanting staff. Centrally located in the heart of Mexico City. After staying in this Hotel you'll be sure to return...I know I will!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILITAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    182
    74
    19
    6
See reviews for
86
150
111
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Having just spent 6 weeks travelling around Mexico, this is my hotel of choice. It is not 5 star but the hotel is very comfortable, the staff amazingly friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the lively zona rosa its ideal for those who want a lively night life or eating out. The rooms are comfortable and furnished in a modern style, with a hint of Asturias in northern Spain. The resturant food also has Spanish twist. Breakfast and WiFi are included in the price.The tarrifs are very reasonable for a hotel in the heart of the city and communication links are good for the Metro and airport. I will return!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Spent a total of one week at the Del Principado at the start and finish of a 26 day trip to Palenque and back. Really excellent staff and location make it a great choice in Mexico City. The complimentary breakfast is as generous as you care to make it with bottomless freshly squeezed orange juice...yummm!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

My daughter and I just spent 6 days at Hotel Del Principado. The location is very conventient - only blocks from the Metro. The breakfast buffet was incredible - huge assortment of Mexican dishes (as well as the usual yogurt/cereal) which appeals to those of us who do not favor normal breakfast food. Afternoon and dinner menus were also very good. Cute little market across the street for water, gum, etc. The staff is the best! Very accommodating, knowledgable, helpful and had a sense of humor. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
147 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights in a standard room. The room was nothing to get excited about but was a good size and clean with a comfortable bed and cable TV. The bathroom was also a good size with toiletries and a hair dryer provided and plenty of hot water. The room was an internal room and the only window opened to a ventilation shaft about 4 sq mtrs in size. At the bottom of the shaft there was some sort of motor (air-conditioning?) that came on and off and produced a bit of noise. Otherwise the room was quiet. The room rate include a buffet breakfast which was very good. The hotel is ideally located on the edge of Zona Rosa so within walking distance of the cafes, nightlife, etc but far enough away from the noise of that area. Reception staff were generally helpful. Complimentary internet is available.
A couple of negatives. First, the entrance to the bathroom of our room (room 213) dropped about an inch when walked on. This was unnerving, although it appeared there was support for the floor once it sagged the inch. We mentioned it to a staff member who said he would see about fixing it or moving us to another room. But we heard nothing further. Second, although the room rate was quoted in US$ on the Internet the room is charged in pesos on your credit card. The rate of the room was clearly noted in the reception area as 825 pesos per night. However my credit card was charged 845 pesos because that is the amount the US$ charge converted to when the hotel's exchange rate (favorable to them, of course) was applied. It seems strange that the hotel penalizes guests who take the time to book in advance (other hotels we stayed at in Mexico simply charged the local currency room rate). We'd consider staying again, but only after evaluating other options.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I spent over 15 days in Mexico City and I moved to the Hotel del Principado from another more expensive hotel in the Zona Rosa. This hotel became my home base as I came back the MC from my travels to other parts fo the Mexico. All in all, it is very reasonably priced, has good/free in room WiFi, includes a buffet breakfast and it's only 3 blocks from a subway stop and 3 blocks from Reforma. Front desk is courteous and efficient, and other staff are equally friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but very clean with comfy beds, shower and bathroom while small are also clean with a great shower/hot water.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDN_inspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

I did not expect this level of comfort, food (!), and friendliness! Anyone can go two blocks and pay several times the price.

Strong positives: Although the appearance of the restaurant (paint it update the pictures!) did not make a good impression when I arrived, the food was wonderful with superb service. Locals came in to eat, always a good sign. The staff was friendly and helpful at every level throughout the hotel. When I reported water pressure problems in the bathroom, the "fixer" was there within fifteen minutes. My room (not above the street) was quiet. This is a place where the staff adopts your visit and will do anything to help you. The reception desk offers good English during the day. The laundry service is superb. Hot water is strong and hot! Multiple computers offer free Internet just above the lobby.

Negatives: Be aware of the stairs if you are challenged. There are stairs to the front door, stairs to the computers, and two sets of stairs in the restaurant.

Like most hotels in Mexico, Hotel Del Principado has no heat. So be prepared, especially if you go in the winter months. Order an additional blanket (promptly delivered) and wear layers both day and night - not exactly a hotel problem.

The subway (Insurgentes Metro Station), the center of the Zona Rosa, and La Reforma are within a few blocks, as is the Colonia Roma.

Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Posada Viena Hotel
#101 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#92 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#78 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#44 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#56 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Hotel Astor
#84 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Property: Hotel Del Principado
Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing