We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #98 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and inexpensive”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times, for about a week on each visit. The rooms are comfortable, modern, and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is splendid - close to Reforma, Zona Rosa, Colonia Roma, and a few blocks from the Metro. Quiet location in a safe, comfortable part of town with excellent food stands and restaurants. I would expect to pay much more for all of this - the hotel is an amazing bargain. I will keep coming back! Really, there is no downside!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    186
    74
    19
    7
See reviews for
88
151
113
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Del Principado for the first time at the end of October (2010) for six nights. I was traveling with a friend who was in another room. Both of us were very highly impressed with this hotel. The location is great, the food was good, there was never a problem with noise from other rooms and very little from the street. The front desk was very helpful, courteous, friendly, but still professional. My room was very clean and comfortable. The internet was free and worked wonderfully, never a problem nor a delay in connecting. I have stayed in hotels in Mexico City (Polanco) costing several times the price of this hotel and while this hotel is not a luxury property I would say it is more comfortable and welcoming than the more expensive places in which I have stayed. Emma and Gabriel at the front desk were both very helpful, spoke great English, and gave good advice on the area (restaurants, etc). I highly recommend Hotel Del Principado and can't think of one negative aspect of our visit; in fact, I was so impressed that I have booked for a two week stay over the New Year holiday. Good work guys!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHateNoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Gaby and Emma were so helpful organising taxis and helping book other accomodation for our trip in Mexico, always smiling and eager to help. The hotel is well located, clean, delicious breakfast, super comfortable beds!!! we will return terrific value for money!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbits042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed here for a week over the 200th Anniversary of Mexico and it was ideal. I am in my seventies but walking to the subway and to see the parade was no problem. The breakfast was fantastic. There was so much variety that we only had to eat one other meal a day, which was a saving of time and money. The staff was incredible and the other guests were delightful, as well. It is a comfortable, homey hotel with free internet and decent beds. I would go back again. The double decker bus leaves from a location about three blocks from the hotel and this is a great way to get an overview of the city. We took it two days in a row as we couldn't cover it all in one day.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephany38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed with Del Principado two nights. Room was pretty average (on the 2nd floor). Problem without toilet but no major dramas and we got our room changed.

Breakfast was adequate and wait staff efficient and friendly.
Top points to the concierge service from front desk (Gabriel) was fantastic. Such a pleasant and helpful guy!

Will stay again next time in Mexico!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I debated whether or not to write this review because I am echoing so many other comments here but this really is an excellent hotel and an unbelievable value at the price I paid of only $50 a night. Room was lovely, spacious, clean, and quiet. Location is perfect if you want to be in zona rosa and if not, the subway is not far away. Staff was consistently friendly and helpful and spoke English well. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Hotel del Principado is well located in the Zona Rosa, well situated for metro and metro bus to most areas of interest in Mexico City. Personally I find the Zona Rosa a tad too tourist trappy, but it does have action and some good restaurants (don't just drop in any place and expect quality or service). It is a basic hotel, a little dark and austere in the room, but perfectly quiet. There is no AC nor ceilling fan, so it could be stuffy in hot weather. The staff is helpful and courteous. The hotels makes up for any shortcomings with their delicious buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#90 of 305 in Mexico City
245 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#79 of 305 in Mexico City
365 reviews
Posada Viena Hotel
#106 of 305 in Mexico City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 305 in Mexico City
517 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 305 in Mexico City
1,402 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#46 of 305 in Mexico City
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Property: Hotel Del Principado
Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing