We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with Quirks”
Review of Hotel El Ejecutivo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Ejecutivo
Ranked #52 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value with Quirks”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just stayed here 3 nights in October 2011. We speak very little spanish but there was always a gracious manager there to assist us. The first room we were given was right above some construction and smelled like sealant as well reverberating with banging -- not to worry, though, as we were promptly given another room when we called down. (They were renovating their second elevator and were giving all hotel guests 20% off at their rather decent restaurant to compensate). The room was uber clean and neat, with a modern feel just like in the photos. The air conditioner was freestanding, though, and the tubing goes out through the window. Because of the levered windows that allow for that, the room was noisy -- we heard our neighbors partying late into the night and the street sounds as well. We easily solved this by putting the air conditioning unit on fan the second night and slept well. The elevator guy, Ricardo, was friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel also hooked us up with a terrific english-speaking tour guide/driver, Santiago, who gave us a wonderful tour of the Aztec ruins. The location of the hotel is great for walking to the major parts of the city and the included breakfast (continental) was fresh fruit and rolls but could be upgraded for a few dollars to a full spread -- on Saturday we got custom-made omelets as well as traditional Mexican food. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there is construction and a room far from it. Also, a room higher up may have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycitywoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. As you say, we are always looking for the way to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible. Regarding the room remodeling, we are glad to announce that we are almost done in the new rooms design, so you may enjoy a complete new hotel.
Be sure that everytime you decide to visit us, you will receive the same (or, even better) quality services as well as a warm welcome from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    464
    186
    69
    50
See reviews for
327
397
127
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have stayed in many hotels aroud the world and every once in a while i stay somewhere where i feel like home. I dont know if its because i took the time to talk to the staff or if its becuase of Ricardo the front desk manager but thank you thank you.

The hotel was under renovation and having their problems, dust, elevators not working, cleaning was hit and miss. I judge people/businesses by how they handle their problems and i have to say they took care of them by killing us with kindness and help with all our needs and then some.

I had a choice of stayng in an unrenovated room and chose the renovated one. It was perfect and exactly what we needed and beautiful, good price too. The hotel is pretty central 15 min cab ride ( because of trafic) to most places you need to go to.

Restaurant is ok and inexpensive. Breakfast Buffet is simple but has mostly everything you want. Lunch special for the price you pay is more than worth it, If you are still in the hotel go for the daily special.
Room service is a little of, the order does not always come the way you order it and they never come ready with change. They make up for it by coming right back.

Becarful on the taxis, we took some "executive" taxis sometimes that the hotel offers for security double the price. But we found the city to be safe enough. Only thing to make sure of is the rules of the taxis. Day time they have a meter and dont let them trick you. At night they may have a fixed charge sometimes. Nothing is really further than 70 pesos ride unless its after 11pm might go to 100pesos. We had a problem with one taxi driver who was mean and had no change. We walked into the hotel and everyone came to our help form security, bellboy, frontdesk clerk and Ricardo ( who i think sleeps there) also came to our assistance.

Thanks to everyone at the front desk for an excellent stay and you can feel asured that they will try to help you in anyway possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omtulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Be sure that our staff is happy to aid you in anything you need, and everytime you visit us will be the same.
It is a shame what you tell us about the taxi driver, that is why we offer the executive taxi service to our guests. They may be a little more expensive but safer than regular taxis, plus they are available 24/7 at the hotel.
Rest assured that whether you choose the executive or the regular taxis, our staff will always help you in anything you might need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Outstanding bellmen and service staff. They refuse to be tipped for outstanding service

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Here at the hotel, we assure you that our best reward is your satisfaction. We thank your for your comment and will be waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights (split 3/1), we got the top level room and were very impressed, it looked exactly like the pictures. I loved the furniture (although the beds are a touch too firm), and the bathroom...the shower and sink are fantastic, very beautiful design. The staff for the most part were extremely nice and helpful. The few niggles were the hallway carpet was in need of a vacuuming (which is odd since the rooms and lobby were immaculate), and the elevators were old, slow and sometimes out of commission. Something which I guess is more of a cultural thing since we saw it at other hotels is the composition of what they consider to be a 'continental' breakfast, you have to pay attention to the 'and' & 'or' its easy to grab the wrong food off the buffet, then its not included with the room, but this is not only for this hotel, so once we figured it out it became a non-issue. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, although I cannot comment on the other room levels (there are possible 3 room types)...everyone from the bellboy, the maids, elevator attendants, to the manager were very very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your kind notes. Be sure we appreciate any kind of comment. We are glad to know that your stay with us was satisfying.
The Continental breakfast is included for free under some rate types as a promotion, which means no extra charge for you. It is a basic breakfast although you could exchange it for a Buffet Breakfast, by paying a small difference. We hope that you visit us again so you can try our delicious buffet breakfast, we are sure you will like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A very kind personal but lousy laundry service. We had to pay over 500 mexican pesos for kg of laundry. Normally you pay only 60 pesos in the normal mexican lavanderias. Don't be lazy and just walk around the corner to find an honest service and personal. They stole my best pantihoses (4x) and our bag where we put the laundry (a very nice one we always used in Germany for shopping) was stolen as well. So...we never got to our deposit (500 pesos) back.

The room was very dirty, specially under the beds, near the windows. The bathroom was the only clean place in the room. However the toilet continuosly was dropping! even after they "tried" to repair it.

It was impossible to properly close the windows. So over 20 mosquitos were bitting us 2 weeks long!!! terrible and painfull! One day, the personal opened a small door to the roof close to our window and at 2, 3, 4 am were smoking and talking (loud!!!) and listening to music... even though we turn on the lights many times.

The rates of the hotel were cheap, no doubt about that, but after my stay there I realizey that sometimes you are more comfortable in an hostel than in such a hotel...

There are lots of hotels in that area, so you will not have a problem finding a really nice one.

Good luck!!

Room Tip: don't take the cheapest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us, we appreciate it. We have run a deep investigation to find out more details about your problem and improve our opportunity areas.
About the laundry service, hotels’ rates tend to be higher than conventional laundry services because we have a price per piece of clothing, not by their weight. The number of items are carefully checked by the housekeeper, before sending them to the laundry and rectified when getting them back. Having these procedures, we are concerned by the issue you tell us, and wish we had more details to find out how this could happen since the guest’s signature is required when receiving and delivering the items to the guest.
As for the room details you mention, be sure we will carefully check the windows and the cleaning procedures. We only had wished to know about your mosquito problem earlier so we could change you of room or provide you with some repellent if necessary.
Again, we would like to offer our apologies on behalf of our staff and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity in the future to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The biggest issue this hotel needs to tackle is to be more guest oriented in service. For example:

* We got a free buffet breakfast voucher to compensate for one broken elevator. The breakfast was pretty good, however the waiter took our voucher and we had to ask for another one at the desk for the next day, instead of giving us two vouchers for the two days we stayed. It felt like it was a trick to have people forget about the voucher and pay for the otherwise free buffet breakfast.

* There was no room service menu in the room and you have to call the desk to have them take the menu from the restaurant and deliver it to your room. This feels cheap and does not encourage the guest to eat at the restaurant because there is no menu.

* Instead of eating in the room we went to the restaurant. The food was very good though.However they were showing a tv show called "1000 ways to die" with very graphical content of blood and crushing bones. Not very nice to see while eating. The staff did not seem to care about it at all. We did not say anything though, but a considerate restaurant should not let it get to the point of complaint at all. In fact, there should not be any tv in a restaurant at all as it distracts guests from interacting and paying attention to each other rather than the tv. Also the waiters were not very attentive and only showed up to bring the food and take the empty plates.

* As guests we got a 20% discount in the restaurant. However we did not get one when we got the bill and had to ask for it. Not a real problem but not very guest friendly if they do not recognize you as a guest by forgetting about the discount.

* We also felt sorry for the person in the small elevator who was pushing the buttons to take guests to their floors. It felt like he was punished for something as he was in the tiny claustropobic elevator all day. It might look luxurious to have something pressing the button for you, but honestly it did not feel like that as the elevator was too small and it was not a five star hotel so it felt like they were trying too hard to make the place feel luxurious. Also we did not understand why he had to press the button as the elevator controls were not that complicated. Also we felt that it would be better if he was in the restaurant as he was very attentive and friendly and the restaurant could use someone like that.

We appreciate that they are trying to improve the place by remodeling the rooms, elevators and interior and we would like to add our suggestions to this improvement.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dariovolaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
We would like to thank you for your sincere comments, be sure that they are very appreciated as they give us the chance to improve.
Maybe you would like to know that we are servicing all our elevators to give a better service, actually the elevator was not broken. To compensate our guests for this, we implemented the procedure you mention in the restaurant as a way to apologize for the inconveniences caused by this.
Also, a great number of our guests that come alone due to Business like to watch the TV (mostly news and sports). Therefore, it is tuned on a national channel. However, we will try to be careful with the displayed programs.
Rest assured that all our staff is happy to help you in anything you need and corrective methods are taken when not. After all, our main concern is, and always will be, our guests’ satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel on August 14, my purpose was to check if it was safe for my family.
I was pleased. My family arrived on the 20th.
I stayed from August 20 to August 25 with my wife and children. The room had three beds,a modern TV, wood floor, A/C; it was a nice room for the price.
Its location in the "zona rosa" makes it convenient to walking, bus, and public transportation. Many nice restaurants are nearby. However none could beat the price, nor the quality of the breakfast buffet at the hotel, one can feast for less than $7(seven dollars) ask for Ranulfo, he is a great waiter.
All the personel under the leadership of manager Ricardo Perez G. were professional and helpful.
I strongly recommend it!
Francisco

Room Tip: Check their web rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamptonguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful that you took the time to write about it. Be sure that we will be happy to welcome anytime you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#35 of 310 in Mexico City
572 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#29 of 310 in Mexico City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#60 of 310 in Mexico City
520 reviews
Sevilla Palace
#59 of 310 in Mexico City
474 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#50 of 310 in Mexico City
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ejecutivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ejecutivo

Property: Hotel El Ejecutivo
Address: Calle Viena 8 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#40 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Ejecutivo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Ejecutivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ejecutivo Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing