We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oh, you don't know the shape I'm in". Be aware and avoid”
Review of Hotel El Ejecutivo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Ejecutivo
Ranked #53 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 9 October 2012

First of all, I should say I'm a very easy going one person when reviewing a hotel I stayed in. To be honest, I guess that when we are traveling for leisure, we tend to be more tolerant about minors issues. Afterall, we are supposed to relax and have fun during vacation, right?
To plan travels is one of my favorite hobbies and I always have considered the reviews here on TA to decide which hotel to choose. And it was no different when I booked a 2 night stay in this hotel for the final stage of an amazing 3 week trip. I was aware that the hotel is under renovation works, but it is well ranked on TA and the rates were good.
Unfortunately, this 2 night stay was by far the worst hotel experience that I ever had.

The hotel advertises itself as a 4 star hotel, which is absolutely not true. Maybe when the retrofit that is being held in the hotel is completed and whenever the hotel staff is able to provide guests decent service, it could be rated as a 3 star budget hotel. Unfortunately, based on my terrible experience, I frankly do not think that this will actually happen.

Here is a short list of problems: (i) no water at the time I checked in, making impossible to use the bathroom, for instance (no one at the front desk alerted me about this during check in); (ii) the TV remote control was not in the room (I had to ask front desk to provide me one the morning after); (iii) dirty walls and furniture in bed shape (kind of annoying, since I stayed in one of the remodeled/new rooms); (iv) bathroom door in poor condition; (v) stinky bathroom; (vi) dirty restaurant with nonexistent service; (vii) no soundproof windows, making the room very noisy and virtually impossible to sleep (see, I am not a light sleeper, but the dance music coming from the nearby-or-maybe-not-so-near-night-club was so loud that for moments I felt that I was lying on a bed in the dance floor); (viii) wireless internet not working in our floor (asked front desk 3 – note 3 – times to solve the problem and no response at all was given).

In the evening of the second night, I left a note to the manager where I wrote down all the problems above and none of them was properly addressed. In fact, no answer at all was provided by the hotel staff regarding those matters.

Despite the fact the this review is based on my personal experience during my stay, I feel obliged to share my thoughts, on a hope that such review may help others on the decision making process of booking a room in this hotel.

For me, never, never again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trista-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

We appreciate your commitment with the Tripadvisor community by offering a sincere opinion. It is only a shame that we just received you for a couple days; had it been a longer stay and know before about the inconveniences you mention, we would have been happy to properly address your remarks.
About the water, we would like to mention that in the past days and due to a small fix that had to be done, the water was turned off at 12 a.m. Nevertheless, this was fixed after half hour, leaving every room with the proper service at 12:30 a.m. This schedule was selected in order to avoid any inconvenience from happening to our guests; we are sorry to know that it bothered you.
About our rooms, we would like to mention that we are currently working on a corrective maintenance program that we are sure will eliminate the aspects you report. Also, we have just finished placing “Odor Traps” on the bathrooms´ strainers, which we believe has completely solved the odor issue.
Regarding the internet aspects, we are about to implement a major change on the access points all around the hotel. This will help the internet signal and improve the data transference speed so we believe will be a solution for this aspect.
We have knowledge of a nearby night club that is located two blocks away from the hotel but the noise caused by this has never been reported by a guest before. Nevertheless, we have assigned this room to our next Manager on Duty’s weekend revision so he can verify this aspect and work in collaboration with the rest of the team to see the best way to solve it.
Our main concern is our guests´ satisfaction, which is why we always appreciate comments like yours. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great central location in Zona Rosa, near to great restaurants and bars and not too far from the metro. The hotel is obviously going through a transformation as the large room was newly decorated in a very modern style, wheras other parts of the hotel are yet to be updated. A bit noisy at night so take ear plugs. Also the windows need a clean! Would recommend for the room and location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your comment as well as for giving us the opportunity to receive you.
Indeed we are now working with a new and elegant minimalistic style on our Front Desk, Lobby and Rooms. The works on these areas have been successfully completed; therefore our current guests can now fully enjoy this new design.
Concerning the cleanness of the windows, we would like you to know that our cleaning ladies have the fixed standard of cleaning them from inside each time a guest clears the room. The outside face of the windows cannot be cleaned from inside the room since they cannot be opened from inside for security reason; unfortunately, they got dirty due to raining when some maintenance works (which took only few hours) with concrete were done on our building´s front face last week. Nevertheless, we have a next window cleaning session programmed.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was very kind and helpful, the same the receptionists as the bellboy Mr. Mauricio. The room has been recently renewed, no top quality, but with a clean look and a fresh image, pretty nice. This is an affordable hotel, just steps from Reforma Ave. and Insurgentes Ave., very close to Zona Rosa. For business travel, I think this is an amazing choice.
They have 2 computers for internet service, but always was busy, anyway, around the area there are several "internet cafe" with very reasonable prices.
In our experience, everything was OK. We ask for 2 additionals water bottles and they send it with out charge. We appreciate the kindess.
We always had enough bathroom amenities for both days; the towels are not the best quality, so, if your are picky, bring your own towel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
As you mention, we do count with a Business Center completely charge- free available for our guests. It is a shame to know that last time you found them busy, nevertheless we also count with our own Wifi access also completely free for the use of our guests so they can access it when carrying their personal computers or smart-phones.
As for the towels, we are happy to announce you that we have just received a shipment of completely new bed clothing and towels. Therefore the ones that were worn out or old have been replaced with these new pieces so we believe this will not be a problem anymore. Also, we have established an additional monthly revision of towels and bed clothing so we can detect the ones that are worn out before keep on using them. Please consider us for your next stay on Mexico City, we would love to have the opportunity of receiving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Rooms were nice and staff friendly, but if 1st day we had found all the necessary in the bathroom, after that we had to ask everyday for soap, paper toilet and towels.You were not allowed to make local phone calls from our room even they had our credit card on file.We had to get down to reception to place them,which was annoying.Even we had paid for breakfast when making our reservation we were told everyday to pay for it.Buffet breakfast is terrible for non Mecican people as food is not international and many customers were complaining about.The very best thing about this hotel is his location.Close to Paseo la Reforma, Zona Rosa and we could get taxis and buses at the corner.Still I recommend it because price was fair, and rooms spacious but l they could have offer more as this hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minoufou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank your for taking the time to write your sincere opinions about your recent stay with us. We dearly appreciate all kind of feedback we receive from our guests since they show us our opportunity areas and give us the chance of keep improving our service.
About the phone calls, we would like to mention that they are currently offered in courtesy to our guests while being local. We are now working on adjusting the option of making these phone calls directly from the room although until then you can make them dialing the “0” extension from your room and asking to be transferred.
As for the breakfast, we are sorry about this confusion. Like you mention, you can choose to add this special service directly from our website when making your booking, nevertheless these options as well as the lodging amount are not directly charged at that moment, but paid directly at the hotel since the credit card is only used to guarantee the booking.
The buffet counts with some Mexican courses that are famous options for breakfast, like “Chilaquiles” (tortilla chips dipped in Mexican sauce) or Mexican style eggs (scrambled eggs mixed with diced tomato pieces, onions and Jalapeno chili). Nevertheless we also include the classic international courses used for this meal like natural scrambled eggs, hot cakes or French toast and a wide selection of fresh fruit, natural juices and pastries. Even so our please do not hesitate in communicating our Chef your specific requirements next time. He will gladly cook something more suited to your particular gastronomic preferences. We hope that you consider visiting us again as it will always be a pleasure for us to receive you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We were with 3 other couples and stayed for 6 nights...one needed a room change due to a smoking issue but they were taken care of quickly...our room was kept clean...it was a good location for getting to the city tour buses or walking to a grocery store....Irma Mabarak made sure we had all the questions answered and made sure that we had transportation to anywhere we needed. We all agreed we would stay at Hotel El Ejecutivo again....yes a few issues..but does not all hotels around the world have some.... A good value for the money.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor street side and had no complaints.....no street noise..would do room 504...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenya1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

It was a pleasure for us to attend you and we feel very happy to know that your expectations were achieved on this visit. Also we feel pleased to know that you found the “pre-stay” assistance helpful. This special service was made with the purpose of solving any doubts that our guests may have and arranging any special requirement before they actually arrive to the hotel. t is also ideal for guests who require some touristic information as well as recommendations on what to do in our beautiful City during your stay. We gladly offer this service via email to all of our guests who kindly provide us with their email addresses to contact them, such as the ones that book via our official website or the ones that made their bookings by telephone.
We are very happy to know that you were pleased by it and hope you consider on letting us know next time you visit our City. It will be our pleasure to attend you as well as to assist you towards anything you might need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This îs supposed to be a 4 * hotel. I would hardly appreciate it as a poor 2*. it's dirty, i had to ask to have the sheets changed the first day I arrived. No soap at the bathroom ... In the morning my room smells like food. It is a constant noise, I don't know from where but it is anoying. I would advice everybody to avoid it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brvioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for giving us the chance to improve our opportunity areas.
The housekeeping department is one of our current priorities; therefore, we have taken serious measurements about the opportunity areas you kindly mention. We will watch more carefully the correct restoring of amenities and change of bed clothing,
Regarding the constant noise you point out, we could not identify it, would you please give us more details about it? Nevertheless, in case our guests do not find themselves comfortable at their rooms, our colleagues at the Front Desk are more than happy in changing their room to one that pleases them.
We would also like to mention that we are making some important changes in the Management, which, we are sure, will cover the opportunity areas we currently have.
We appreciate these kinds of feedback from our guests since they offer us the opportunity of keep improving our services. Therefore we would like to extend you the most courteous invitation to contact us via our official website and provide us with more details about your recent stay. We will gladly receive any comment you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

As far as we could tell renovations are almost done (restaurant has not been updated yet). The overall impression is a clean, chic boutique style hotel. Our two double bed room on the 5th floor facing the courtyard was huge! It was a two minute walk to the main Paseo De La Reforma which if you go one direction you end up in Chapultepec and if you go the other direction you end up in the Historic Center. I recommend sticking close to this main Avenue. Coming from NYC we are used to walking everywhere and at one point we took what looked like a sketchy route from the hotel in the evening. That said, all was perfectly fine.
There's a Taco place less than a block away...toooo salty. Diners like Sanborns or Vips are fine places to grab a bite when you're fresh off the boat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueliliflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Ejecutivo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to write such a complete review about us. We feel very happy to know that you had the opportunity of taking a stroll around the Reforma Avenue, which is one of the most important and historic avenues in Mexico city. Like you mention, it connects the Chapultepec Castle with the National Palace, located in the downtown area of the City. It was built like this under the orders of the emperor Maximiliano back in the 1800´s. He ordered the construction of this specially designed street for his wife Carlotta, so she could take a stroll on it. Therefore the street was originally named “Empress walk” (Paseo de la Emperatriz) in honor to this lady. Later the name was changed to “Reforma Avenue” as it is known nowadays. Besides connecting these two important locations in the City, it also has a number of touristic attractions, restaurants and other popular locations on it so we definitely recommend visiting it whenever you have the chance. Please do not hesitate in asking our colleagues about where to go in it for your next visit. We are sure you will always find interesting activities to do in there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
922 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#30 of 312 in Mexico City
701 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#36 of 312 in Mexico City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sevilla Palace
#63 of 312 in Mexico City
487 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#42 of 312 in Mexico City
858 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#65 of 312 in Mexico City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ejecutivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ejecutivo

Address: Calle Viena 8 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#40 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Ejecutivo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Ejecutivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ejecutivo Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing