We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Non-Existent”
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe
Ranked #64 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service Non-Existent”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed one week in this hotel. Reception staff has no interest whatsoever in catering to the guest. In fact, they seem annoyed if you approach the reception desk. Room cleaning needs much improvement vis-a-vis promptness. Twice we had to wait at 4 pm for the room to be cleaned. Restaurant staff is pretty much clueless about waiting tables and is more interested in watching soccer on the TV which has no business in a dining room. Elevators terrible. You can wait forever for it to arrive. When we checked out, we had to look for our own taxi as bellhop was too busy talking to the reception staff did not so much as thank us for our stay. Do not recommend this hotel and would never stay there again

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    179
    73
    12
    12
See reviews for
78
106
70
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Marlowe in 2009 and it was great; this time it was also very good. The location is superb, the staff always helpful and the rooms clean, comfortable and quiet.Highly recommended. And yes, the shower was fabulous- it even had a good view!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlucin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The hotel is located centrally, near Almeda Central, Mexico City's historic center with Zocalo, and the modern area of Reforma. The rest of the city is easily accessible via Metro (Hidalgo is one of the convenient stations). The hotel was fine, the room clean and the service as expected. The inner yard view from the window (room 301) was not amazing, in fact it felt like observing the bottom of a rocket silo (I got sunlight, but not sunshine).
The immediate neighborhood was ok. Av. Independencia offered a range of eateries (stuffed with locals), minimarkets, coffees and other shops. Burger King, KFC, and Starbucks were located on the other side of the block. I definitely felt connected to the authentic street life, but on the safe side.
On the way back, I took hotel car to the airport. The ride was fine and slightly cheaper (160) than authorized airport taxi I took after arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Hotel Marlowe in Mexico City is in a great location, I'll say that. However, the rooms are not that clean and the entire place has a bit of a weird vibe to it. I only stayed here one night, thankfully, as I found myself passing through Mexico City once again. I don't tend to complain a lot, however after I checked in we were escorted to our room to get some much needed rest after a long day of travel. The hotel was basically empty and the room we were given did not have a lock on the door. Sure, who doesn't like a challenge while travelling? However not being able to lock the door to your room while you're trying to take a lay down is a bit unsettling to say the least. The staff was not helpful in any way. The beds were hard, but so far I have found that to be the case in every hotel I have stayed in over the course of many visits to DF, and really the entire country in general, so I wouldn't hold that against this place. In the end, I would not recommend this hotel, even while travelling on a budget. You can find much better hotels within the same price range. One thing I am certain of, the next time I'm passing through DF I will not be booking a room here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop,Derbyshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Sayed for 5 nights in August this year. Room small with window overlooking interior "courtyard" but very clean and had everything you needed (except a fridge, which would have been nice given the hot conditions in the City at this time), bed a bit hard but still slept ok. Bathroom very big with a fabulous marble shower cubicle that was enourmous. Drinking water outlet in bathroom was a nice touch. Water nice and hot and shower pressure great. Staff efficient but not over friendly. Lobby and bar/restaurant areas well maintained. Safe deposit facilities and very good wifi signal throughout the hotel. Loved the position of the hotel as so close to everywhere. Turn left out of entrance then first left for a fantastic breakfast place. Def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulpnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I will start by saying the staff are fantastic. Helpful and courteous beyond description. But there are other things that are important too. The bed was solid granite! The elevator and I mean 1 elevator (another for staff or service but kinda hidden away) was ancient and it was a frightful experience rattling up and down the elevator shaft, noises and creaks and what sounded like broken springs going off. No Air Conditioning in room (has ceiling fan over bed so no big deal on that one). Bed Bugs...COME ON!!!!! Breakfast Buffet... simply 'just OK'. The hotel's own taxi service...COMPLETE RIPP OFF, don't use it and get hustled, take the city cabs instead! Oh and when you are in the shower be ready to dash out of the way of the scorching hot water every time someone in the Hotel flushes the toilet. Also, no in room safe. The PLUS SIDE.... like I said, the Staff were totally fantastic, the location is really really awesome with shops, attractions and restaurants all around you, great Lobby, superb restaurant and the menu was quite nice and very reasonable and no upcharge on Room Service...and the Hotel Room Rates...quite modest and fair. I would stay there again but I will upfront demand a decent comfortable bed with NO BED BUGS!!

Room Tip: Demand a comfortable bed or you are gonna regret it! I saw old mattresses being removed from the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My room is quiet enough here in room 303.I am here from Fri 9/14 thru Fri 9/21. Room has no thermostat, but luckily not needed as weather has been very pleasant. The room has a closet with hangers but no iron. A phone. Vanity sink and mirror and tiled floor bathroom plus carpet in your room. Also has a 27 inch color tv. Ceiling fan. Recessed lighting (which you can control from your headboard which is nice) ...Also theres a switch by the door which shuts off all the electricity for when you go out...then you flip it back on when you come back.PROS: gym, solarium and sauna and nice view all from 9th floor. I also like that the front desk staff are very helpful and will set up tours for you if you want. Also have enjoyed the breakfast buffet here at the hotel which is very good with a good variety of foods. I havent tried their dinner yet. The location is also right in the heart of everything. Plenty of shopping and the best bakery in the world... Ideal Bakery is just a couple blocks up the street. CONS: elevator always takes a long time...and also watch out for the water in the shower which keeps changing temp for no reason. Also dont like that my tv mysteriously turns on by itself around 5am each morning. Other than that.. its all good. I would definitely come back &recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleekio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#78 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#43 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#87 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#22 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Property: Hotel Marlowe
Address: Av Independencia 17 Colonia, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing