We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Cheapo, El Bueno y Barato”
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe
Ranked #79 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Need a pillow, a clean sheet, take a nice shower, feel safe, get off the street, this has to be the place. You can carry your own bags, mingle with some back packing Americans and Europeans and see downtown Mexico.

Room Tip: Be careful the walls are thin, and you can hear someone sneeze in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rovenstinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent a week at this hotel two years ago.
It would be hard to find a better location for exploring the city, interesting stores, restaurants, and museums, and getting to the metro and taxis.
I have to give it five stars for convenience and value.
It is a typical Mexican business class hotel...clean, functional, flat screen tv and modern facilities.
The room and the staff were fine. Good cheap hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyhoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel Marlowe is conveniently located one block from the Alameda Central Jardin and nine blocks from the main Zocalo. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean with a very nice bathroom. Internet connectivity was good and there was a new flat screen TV. The hotel had a purified drinking water tap in the bathroom. The room didn't have a view. But, that was not a priority. Your room rates will depend on your choice of a room with a fan or one with air conditioning.

I can’t attest to the noise level of this downtown hotel. Our stay occurred during the Chinese New Year. There were fire crackers and revelers in streets during the night. We still managed to sleep well in a good bed with extra pillows available.

The hotel has a restaurant. However, we elected to eat at several local establishments one block to the East. If you need to purchase bus tickets, there is an OXXO that sells them on the corner from the hotel.

I was very pleased that the night staff was available at 5:30 AM to get us a cab. Overall, this was a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLA_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel as a recommendation from a Mexican friend. It is located very close to the Palacio de Bellas Artes and a couple of metro stations. The neighborhood is not fancy at all, in fact, it's a little scary at night with some bumps and trash in the streets but at least, I never experienced a robbery or any other dangerous situation during the days we stayed there. Besides that, the service was alright, as well as the rooms and the restaurant. I can say the interior facilities were a little old and may need to be improved but for the cost per night. The best thing about staying here was the great breakfast offered across the street, in a small cafe. The quality of juices and food was outstanding for an absolutely fair price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanmsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a travel agent who said that it was strategically placed and a safe starting place for our trip. Let's just say that we arrived at night starving and so we ventured out in this allegedly well-lit and populated area. If you consider homeless drunks population and dark streets fitting of this description, then it is accurate. As we were walking down poorly lit streets with nobody around, it occurred to me that this was exactly what two females were warned NOT to do. We were lucky enough to find two local gendarmes who took a liking to us and directed us to a cafe where we were able to get a solid meal very cheaply. Then we managed to get back to the hotel by OTHER gendarmes driving us back. The room was adequate, at best.
Therefore, I would say this: If you need a place to stay, this is okay, but don't plan on going out at night from here, or expect luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innvictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The rooms are small but clean and a bit worn. My window faced a wall, which was probably good in that it limited noise. Many reviewers reported that the staff is unfriendly. Not my experience, but indifferent certainly. If you need to save $ it is acceptable and the location is good for the historic center, but street where the hotel is located is not so pleasant - for a few $ more you can do better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed one week in this hotel. Reception staff has no interest whatsoever in catering to the guest. In fact, they seem annoyed if you approach the reception desk. Room cleaning needs much improvement vis-a-vis promptness. Twice we had to wait at 4 pm for the room to be cleaned. Restaurant staff is pretty much clueless about waiting tables and is more interested in watching soccer on the TV which has no business in a dining room. Elevators terrible. You can wait forever for it to arrive. When we checked out, we had to look for our own taxi as bellhop was too busy talking to the reception staff did not so much as thank us for our stay. Do not recommend this hotel and would never stay there again

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#35 of 312 in Mexico City
628 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#75 of 312 in Mexico City
412 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#97 of 312 in Mexico City
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
202 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#27 of 312 in Mexico City
686 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#36 of 312 in Mexico City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Address: Av Independencia 17 Colonia, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing