We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Option, good location”
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe
Ranked #63 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Option, good location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I must say this wasn't our first choice, we were supposed to be staying at the Howard Johnson, but it was totally full. ADVICE: During summer, make reservations in advance. TheMarlowe was the only hotel in this area with available rooms. But I must immediately say that it was actually good.
The room is comfortable, everything is very clean. The bed in our bedroom was really nice, quite soft. Towels, sheets, carpets, everything in good shape and very clean. Hotel staff nice enough, we read some bad reviews about the staff but they were really good with us. Specially the Bell boy from the morning shift.
While the room was ready they have no problem taking your bags.
The taxi service from the hotel is save and cheaper than normal city cabs, use them, but ALWAYS check your route in your gps before you get in to ANY CAB, they have the bad habit of asking you where should they go to get where you want.
Ojo: there is no air conditioner, there is a little noisy ceiling fan, we didn't need it but It could be a bit of a pain to hear it working while trying to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was in the inside of the building, so ask for a room like 201, 202, etc, it's quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandarina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    179
    73
    13
    12
See reviews for
78
106
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jamaica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and helped us out with our language issues. Surrounding clean and the bed very comforatble. The breakfast in the morning hit the spot from our one night stopver and the staff was very helpful to us. This is somewhere i would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms were good, hovever noise from passage was a hindrance to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Need a pillow, a clean sheet, take a nice shower, feel safe, get off the street, this has to be the place. You can carry your own bags, mingle with some back packing Americans and Europeans and see downtown Mexico.

Room Tip: Be careful the walls are thin, and you can hear someone sneeze in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovenstinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent a week at this hotel two years ago.
It would be hard to find a better location for exploring the city, interesting stores, restaurants, and museums, and getting to the metro and taxis.
I have to give it five stars for convenience and value.
It is a typical Mexican business class hotel...clean, functional, flat screen tv and modern facilities.
The room and the staff were fine. Good cheap hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyhoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel Marlowe is conveniently located one block from the Alameda Central Jardin and nine blocks from the main Zocalo. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean with a very nice bathroom. Internet connectivity was good and there was a new flat screen TV. The hotel had a purified drinking water tap in the bathroom. The room didn't have a view. But, that was not a priority. Your room rates will depend on your choice of a room with a fan or one with air conditioning.

I can’t attest to the noise level of this downtown hotel. Our stay occurred during the Chinese New Year. There were fire crackers and revelers in streets during the night. We still managed to sleep well in a good bed with extra pillows available.

The hotel has a restaurant. However, we elected to eat at several local establishments one block to the East. If you need to purchase bus tickets, there is an OXXO that sells them on the corner from the hotel.

I was very pleased that the night staff was available at 5:30 AM to get us a cab. Overall, this was a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLA_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel as a recommendation from a Mexican friend. It is located very close to the Palacio de Bellas Artes and a couple of metro stations. The neighborhood is not fancy at all, in fact, it's a little scary at night with some bumps and trash in the streets but at least, I never experienced a robbery or any other dangerous situation during the days we stayed there. Besides that, the service was alright, as well as the rooms and the restaurant. I can say the interior facilities were a little old and may need to be improved but for the cost per night. The best thing about staying here was the great breakfast offered across the street, in a small cafe. The quality of juices and food was outstanding for an absolutely fair price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanmsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a travel agent who said that it was strategically placed and a safe starting place for our trip. Let's just say that we arrived at night starving and so we ventured out in this allegedly well-lit and populated area. If you consider homeless drunks population and dark streets fitting of this description, then it is accurate. As we were walking down poorly lit streets with nobody around, it occurred to me that this was exactly what two females were warned NOT to do. We were lucky enough to find two local gendarmes who took a liking to us and directed us to a cafe where we were able to get a solid meal very cheaply. Then we managed to get back to the hotel by OTHER gendarmes driving us back. The room was adequate, at best.
Therefore, I would say this: If you need a place to stay, this is okay, but don't plan on going out at night from here, or expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innvictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#76 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#31 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#44 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#86 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#22 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Property: Hotel Marlowe
Address: Av Independencia 17 Colonia, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing