We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, well located & a great deal!”
Review of Hotel Milan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Milan
Ranked #153 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Oakland, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, clean, well located & a great deal!”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I spent a week at the Hotel Milan during my first visit to Mexico City and found Hotel Milan to be a perfect choice. It was the best priced hotel in the Roma area I found online before my trip, at about $50 US per night for a double room with two beds and a fan. Visitors who don't need a full-on luxury hotel and just want a nice, quiet hotel in a great neighborhood will do well to choose Hotel Milan. The room we had was pretty small, but recently remodeled and very comfortable. Alvaro Obregon is a tree-lined main street in the Roma with lots of cafes, shops and fondas, well situated within walking distance to two metro stops and Condesa. Although they do have a website and it appears that you can book your reservation online, I was told that function is not working. They can be reached by email at hmilan94@hotmail.com and a room can be booked that way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    69
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
38
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

As I'd already been advised by reviewers before me, this hotel is so no-frills it's practically decor-less. No quaint Mexican charm here. Just clean, modern, functional, and safe, with excellent service. My single room was small, but well-outfitted (except for the usual Mexican low-light which is less than ideal for reading) and comfortable. The desk service was efficient, polite, and helpful. For 450 pesos a night (single) in a good neighborhood, a steal.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hypnolinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This hotel was a real find, after a couple less than fabulous experiences elsewhere. The neighborhood is great, there is a terrific organic coffee shop next door, and the connections with the rest of the city are very convenient. The hotel itself seems a good deal more polished and refined than its cost would indicate. The room (we were on the interior side) was clean and nicely decorated; above all, it was quiet. Overall, I would call this far and away the best value of hotels we found in the city. Free spirit that I am, it is seldom that I can say that I wouldn't consider looking for a change of scenery on my next visit to a place, but in this case it is the truth. The price is definitely right and the overall experience makes me look forward to my return.

  • Liked — Good value for the money, fine location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosecrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Milan on two, separate nights earlier this month. The hotel is clean, modern and more than suited our needs. The style is modern-business hotel, bland but not unattractive.

The King size bed room is only $470 MXP, and despite being a bit on the small side, is clean and well maintained. It's comparable to a King room at the Hotel Catedral, in Centro, but the latter costs a bit more.

The bed is very comfortable. The shower and hot water supply are among the first things I notice in a hotel. At the Milan, the hot water arrived within a few seconds and was plentiful. There are the usual bath amenities.

I did not have a laptop along, so I could not try out the un-advertised Wi-Fi I'd read about on a travel forum.. There is a single, coin-accepting PC in the lobby, but it was out of order on our first night, and turned off when I wanted to use it on our second night. The night clerk did not seem to want to turn it on.
However, an Internet cafe, about 1 block west, "esCool", has high speed Internet access. There are even four Macs.

There is a restaurant, but we did not try it, preferring to eat at one of the original Bisquits Obregón located within a block away. The latter offers moderately priced, varied meals and is extremely popular.

We would stay there again when in the area.

  • Liked — Price, comfort, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — PC wasn't in working order
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 08. good 3 star hotel. I started with a room with a street view as it is a pleasant outlook, but as with most of Mexico City it was really noisy & made it hard to sleep. I transferred to a room at the back where the only view was a light well, but blessedly quiet. Rooms are nice & staff are friendly & helpful. Moderate English skills. Prices went up on Jan 1 '08. A single room was 390 pesos, up from 290.

Roma is a good area, plenty of cultural attractions & places to eat. Only a moderate walk to Insurgentes metro station or the metrobus line.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank MWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2008

If you're looking for a hotel in Mexico City, you can do a lot worse. The facility is in a nice part of town, plenty of eating nearby and shopping, easy access to subways etc. Also, the hotel never mentions it but they have WiFi (computer access in the lobby too)! The rooms were clean, service was attentive and fast. The people at the front desk are happy to send bellhops to run errands (buy beer etc) for you. The hotel was nicely decorated, tasteful. Oh, the pillows were hard but that doesn't bother me.

Only one downside, the restaurant. The TVs (3!) in there were blaring so we never could tolerate the noise to order a meal. Too bad, it would have been convenient. I suggested that the manager try an experiment of lowering the volume to see if sales picked up; apparently we weren't the only ones who felt this way, the restaurant was always sparsely attended (the manager defended the practice saying it was a cultural thing). Also, one of the servers in there is really slow (we ordered coffee). Luckily, there's a coffee place right next door with faster service and better coffee. If it weren't for the restaurant ambiance, I would have given Hotel Milan five stars.

Pricing: great value! The rate for a room with one bed ("matrimonial") was $40 a night. The room rate for two beds is $25 a person (X2). The place was impeccably clean. Even their underground parking lot was immaculate. I didn't see a single piece of trash anywhere.

Caveat: the rooms are not heated. If it will be chilly in late afternoon, don't leave your windows open all day. I won't have a problem returning to this hotel if I go back to Mexico City.

Oh, if it matters, I don't know if they speak English.

  • Liked — great value
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kathleenfasanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland & USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I stayed in the Hotel Milan twice in late 2006 (Nov & Dec). The location is great, in the trendy but still authentic Colonia Roma. 15 mins walk from Condesa, easy metro or taxi ride to the Centro Historico, 15 mins taxi to Polanco. Having lived in Mexico city for over 8 years I would rate the Milan tops for value for money. The rooms are priced about 10-15% over those of the Hostal La Moneda and other similar places, but the quality is FAR superior. Very clean rooms & bedding, A/C, spotless bathrooms, cable TV, even a complimentary sewing kit! If you don't mind a little street noise then get a room at the front looking over Calle Alvaro Obregon and the Casa Lamm across the road (excellent restaurant, if a tad pricey, good for a treat). Rooms at the back can be a little dark, looking over a central vestibule, but are quieter. The experience of the previous poster with nocturnal activities would be an exception, this isn't that type of hotel. There are many lovely little restaurants in the area, both along the main street and up side streets. For example, take a left on your exit from the hotel, then another left up Orizaba for 2 blocks to find a shady tree-filled plaza with fountains and lively eateries along one side.

This is the hotel I always recommend to friends travelling to the city who want to be central, comfortable, and economical (under US$50). At these prices it simply can't be beaten!

  • Liked — Great value for money and very clean, comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — Lack of wireless internet access
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Madramor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#75 of 310 in Mexico City
276 reviews
Roma
Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma
Roma
Hotel MX Roma
Hotel MX Roma
#126 of 310 in Mexico City
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#182 of 310 in Mexico City
97 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
146 reviews
Roma
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#198 of 310 in Mexico City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Property: Hotel Milan
Address: Avenida Alvaro Obregon 94 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Number of rooms: 184
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Milan Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing