We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, economical and in a superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palace
Ranked #160 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent, economical and in a superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I visit Mexico City. I like the location, the price and the friendly staff. It is near to shops and restaurants, across the road from the "Monumento a La Revolución" and 4 blocks from the metro station "Revolución" The hotel has recently been renovated. The restaurant is a little more expensive than nearby restaurants although the breakfast buffet is reasonably priced. The W.C. in some rooms is quite noisy when activated (a high pitched squeal) which we found amusing. The hotel taxis are quite a bit more expensive than the regular taxis that pass by the hotel. My wife and I stayed there in December of 2013 and the double room cost $600 pesos par night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
11
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morges, Suisse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

since 1968, the palace hotel is my place to stay everytime i travel to Mexico from Switzerland. The staff remembers its guests and their habits. The location is very practical and just one block from Reforma. Rooms on the street are relatively quiet during the night. Prices are fair, the rooms spotless. 25 minutes by radiotaxi to the airport. I personally recommend this 3 étoiles (EU standard)
place. Claude Brunner, Morges on Lake Geneva.

Room Tip: ask 3rd or 4th level, streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudeMorges_Suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just back from Mexico City and the country side. We again stayed at the Palace, and again they have been upgrading. Most is amenities, and it still helps. What has stayed consistent is that the staff has been the same warm helping faces for the 15 years I've been there. The lobby, hallways, and rooms are painted, decorated with more warmth and light. A lot of the darker wood paneling is gone. More room in the rooms with flat panel TV and more available outlets. The rooms are very comfortable and they bring you a fan whether you need it our not.
The restaurant has also been redone, and there is a nice private dining room in the back for groups. We had 18 and there was plenty more space. The food is very good.
Again, the hotel is very nice, but no heat or air, we rarely have needed either but we have almost always gone in the Spring. To me the consistency of the staff is one of the Highlights, a lot have worked over 30 years at the Palace and they keep on going like the Energizer Bunny.
Buen Viajes!

Room Tip: Get a interior or high room to get away from the street noise. I love being awakened by the birds s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed at the Palace hotel for three nights in November 2012 at the tail end of my trip through Mexico. The location was perfect for sightseeing with the metro and the MRT just a couple of blocks away. The service was friendly and efficient and the room was immaculately maintained. The only downside was the restaurant, but the sidewalk vendors across the street were a great alternative.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

The Palace is not a luxury hotel, it is by services and design stantards, mid-range. But...I've been staying there regularly for almost ten years. It is safe, well located, clean, economical. I'm amazed every time that the staff know me and remember me and welcome me back every visit. And that in itself is a testament to the Palace...the same dedicated staff for a decade or so, from porters to desk. These people care about their clients.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PuraBuenaOnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have been lucky to work in the Mexico City area and for over 10 years I've stayed at the Palace hotel each time. We are a group going to work, not to play, not for vacation, but for a purpose. We are looking for rest, safety,a bargain, a friendly face and comfort. Over the years they have had several renovations and since I was last there and wrote my last eval they have had at least 3. The rooms, the lobby and the restaurant have all be updated. It is located in the Zona Rosa, close to the monuments of the Revolution and Christopher Columbus. The rooms are very reasonable, I've never had one with heat or air, the people at the desk are very nice and speak English, and the restaurant is very nice and I've had no problems with the food or drink. They have a new web site up www.palace-hotel.com.mx. If your going on a budget, and not interested in spending extra, this is the place.

Room Tip: Higher, and to the rear of the building to get away from street noise. If anything is happening at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

A very homey moderately priced hotel with excellent service. It's in a great location on the edge of downtown.This is the place that the bull fighters stay when the season is on.The staff couldn't be nicer.To me the way to get a good review is to more than fulfill my expectations with pleasant results.This hotel managed that well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offbway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sevilla Palace
Sevilla Palace
#62 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinto Hotel
Corinto Hotel
#262 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#208 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manalba
Hotel Manalba
#152 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
#92 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Property: Hotel Palace
Address: Calle Ignacio Ramirez No. 7 | Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Number of rooms: 265
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Palace Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing