We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowhere near as bad as it's made out here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Polanco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Polanco
Ranked #247 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Caracas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as bad as it's made out here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

After reading the recent reviews, I had a lot of trepidation about staying here for 2 weeks while working nearby (I'd moved from a similar place near the Angel to be closer to our office). While I would rather have been at the W, Intercon or JW Marriott, all of which are nearby, I really couldn't complain.
My room - 316 - was large enough and recently refurbished. Everything was comfortable and clean, and there was a big new flatscreen TV with some HD channels. The staff were friendly (I speak Spanish), and the surrounding area is great. You're one block from the French embassy, a block from lovely Lincoln Park, and 2-3 blocks from the city's most glitzy shops.
Gripes: no wi-fi, so you have to use the 'business center' downstairs which has a couple of desktops, breakfast is a joke (mini-muffins, sunny delight and coffee laid out on a table near reception, and fyi, the Italian restaurant next door shuts at 7pm on Sundays. The restaurant is wonderful, and there's a side entrance from inside the hotel lobby - but you can't charge meals to your room.
To sum up: clean, friendly and perfectly adequate in a very fancy neighborhood. But if you're looking to treat yourself, look a bit more upmarket (and spend a bit more).

Room Tip: Interior rooms have no view, but may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan77Caracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
8
8
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
R
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The price is low, compared with the luxury skyscrappers in the surrounding neighborhoods, and there is a good reason for that. This hotel looks very provincial and badly needs renovation.
The hotel has an Internet site, providing online reservations. However, I am not sure that anybody noticed the reservation that I placed and prepaid. Fortunately enough a suitable room was found.
With all that the room was clean and the staff polite. The neighborhood is green and quiet, probably one of the best one can find in the city.
Internet connection was free and fast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

This was my third time staying at the Polanco and was possibly the worst. My room had a tiny, backdated, poorly designed bathroom. I could not sit in the toilet without banging my nees with the lavatory.
The room was not clean, had pubic hairs in the sheets, and had a "dirty" smell.

Location is great, restaurant is good, but the overall experience is very poor.
I hope I never stay there again-

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaticatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

holland, mi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

This was my second stay at this hotel; the first stay was just a quick one nighter; this time I stayed for two nights.

The hotel, as other reviewers have noted, is dated and old. I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor which proved to be quite noisy--you could hear the street noise quite easily and it woke me up once in the middle of the night.

The room I stayed in clearly was extra space converted to a room. When I sat on the toilet my knees banged up against the wall; and I'm 5'11--not that tall!

The bed was absolutely terrible, rock hard, if I had a sleeping bag I would have slept in it on the floor and probably would have been more comfortable. The lighting in the room isn't that great either; especially if you plan on doing some work by the meager desk.

I opted to stay at this place because the other big chains in the area seemed real expensive especially for Mexico City. But avoid this place. It's basically got the charm of a Motel 6 or Super 8.

The only positive about this place is the adjacent Italian restaurant (which isn't owned by the hotel) is a pretty good place for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I was quite disapointed. The rooms are very noise, no clean in the bed. They don't accept credit cards to payment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilzacarlafloriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

The dining room lends itself to connecting with other traverse and share experiences. The evening meal can easily stretch into many hours.

Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hostamanfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

The hotel rooms are very outdated, but clean. The staff is very nice & helpful. The hotel is in a very good area that is safe and has a lot to do. I stayed 3 nights and then moved to a larger hotel. I was on business and need a better bed/shower. If I had been on vacation, this hotel would have been fine. Good Price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Residencia Polanco
Residencia Polanco
#280 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Polanco
Obelisk Residencial
Obelisk Residencial
#178 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Polanco
Alteza Polanco
Alteza Polanco
#116 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#46 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Polanco
Busue a Boutique Experience Hotel
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polanco

Property: Hotel Polanco
Address: Calle Edgar Allan Poe 8 | Polanco, Mexico City 11540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polanco 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polanco Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Polanco Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing