We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service for low price”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #131 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here for a few nights, great central location, nice rooms, two computers with internet. Big comfortable rooms with thick walls.
We took one of the king sized rooms with a view of the street, it was cheaper and (in my estimation) nicer than the "plus" rooms we saw, which were more costly. Though there was a lot of street car noise in the am.

Room Tip: While probably a bit louder, I think the king sized rooms with street view were a better deal than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel Principal in Mexico City means business. They are polite without being intruding, clean without cleaning you out and always completely safe in a very chaotic environment like any city of over 25 million people can be.
They have four different floors which would fit any budget, but even the cheap rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms, although inadequate for a full house, remain clean most of the time.
They have free wi-fi and a very efficient crew that will always stay out of your way.
Most of the cheap rooms are taken by traveling merchants and artisans and backpackers. The larger rooms are usually occupied by families or more affluent people.
Don't think of this as a luxury or even a boutique hotel. This is a hotel in the more traditional sense, where you can find a bed and a shower for very little money, yet very decent.

One of the drawbacks of course is that being in the center of the largest city in the world, from time to time and depending on your room you may find it noisy, but who comes to Mexico City to sleep?

Room Tip: The lower floors accommodate families at an average price. The top floor has cheap rooms with shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xochipillitzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Located close to the Zocalo, this hotel is close to the busyness of the city, especially late at night, so if you're a light sleeper, this might not be the best place for you. However, everything was clean and the service was great...I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfeifea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I'll start by saying that, if you are looking for a basic and affordable option in the center of Mexico City, then I highly recommend Hotel Principal! The location can't be beat (right between the Zocalo and the Alameda, relatively safe, close to everything, and easily accessible by metro stops Allende or Bellas Artes, by taxi, or on foot), and I paid just $33 USD per night for a king-size bed!

The rooms are very basic, and a little worn (a burn from a clothes iron in on the carpet and a cigarrette burn in one of the blankets). But it is clean and the staff is friendly and changed our sheets and towels every single day. Some complaints I saw from other travelers (noise, TV remote controls, etc...) were not a problem for me. And really, if you are expecting something better for less than $35 per night in the center of Mexico City, then you simply have unrealistic expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjensen719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This hotel is just 4 blocks from the Downtown. it is clean and really cheap (35 US dollars)

When We came back each night (after 3 am) always we found a nice guy who open the door.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kradruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were generally happy with our three-day stay. We loved the location and the staff were pleasant. We chose room 303 because of the large windows opening onto the street. However, there was an extremely noisy nightclub very close by which provided more background noise than we would have liked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I stayed one night 23 january, in the renovated and new rooms in the 4th floor.
i got room number 417 was clean, New and with a King size bed, there was a safe box available for a 20usd deposit and returned when check out.
2 bottles of water each day, and an inmaculate bathroom.
the location is SUPERB right in the downtown area just 4 blocks from cathedral and zocalo, in the middle of a pedestrian street called MADERO full with restaurants, bars, entretaiment, shops and police men walking there 24 hours 7 days a week. Latinoamericana tower just 2 blocks ahead. Delicious TACOS AL PASTOR right in the front of the Hotel: SALON CORONA
you have to try POTZOLLCALLI restaurant near the hotel and try THE POZOLE ROJO WITH PORK MEAT was awesome i want more and more.
if you stay in the proper hotel ask for a renovated room in the 4th floor and you wont be disapointed TRUST ME.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#168 of 312 in Mexico City
298 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#57 of 312 in Mexico City
309 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#104 of 312 in Mexico City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sevilla
#197 of 312 in Mexico City
231 reviews
Hotel Panorama
#211 of 312 in Mexico City
31 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#132 of 312 in Mexico City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £9 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Principal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing