We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #132 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel has a great location, just two blocks to the subways station, and just a few steps of Peatonal Madero. The famous places are really close. I stayed in a solo bedroom with a share bathroom. It was clean and had a TV and comfortable bed. The relation quality price was good.

If your are going to stay in this kind of bedroom, ask in the loby for a fan, because at night is probably that the mosquitoes will eat you if you don't have a fan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osro18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

My room was 350 pesos(U$29) including all taxes and was for one person. Excellent location in the Centro Historico, half a block from the Francisco Madero pedestrian street going from the Zócalo to the Torre LatinoAmerica and near Bella Artes. I stayed a Friday night and Saturday night. Wifi works fine on the 3rd floor. The nightlife is very present in this neighborhood so this is a very noisy location. Sleeping quality is poor. Parking is available for an extra 90 pesos (U$7)a day. Safety box in the room available with a refundable deposit of 200 pesos (U$15) The room was a bit small and had no window but had its own bathroom with shower. Everything in the room is very basic but the room was clean, the bed sheets were clean and there was a free bottle of water. The bed cover had cigarette burns although it was a non-smoking room and did not smell like a smoking room. This hotel also has rooms starting at 190 pesos( U$15) a night for people on a very strict budget.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boursay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great location w/ friendly & helpful staff, but the noise level is simply dreadful. I'm hard of hearing and it was still too noisy to sleep. I called the desk to ask them to shush my neighbors but they didn't do anything (I would have heard if they had sent someone up or called the room next door). The hotel configuration all doors open to a 4 storey atrium, and the hotel is old stone, which means that even if your neighbors are trying to be quiet (and they won't) it's still an echo chamber.

Room Tip: Any room is fine but bring your earplugs or your Bose noise-canceling headphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A few of the rooms in this hotel face the street, BUT most face a beautiful inner court yard of a bygone era, impressive at first, BUT don’t let that charm you into staying unless of course:
1. You don’t mind the small 8-Ft wide by approximately 18-Ft deep rooms with double doors opening onto the courtyard which cannot be left open during the night, and
2. You don’t mind that, except for the rooms facing the street, most rooms have no windows to keep open during the night, and
3. You don’t mind the fact that there is no HVAC, and
4. You don’t mind the fact that there are no fans, and
5. You don’t’ mind the fact that the small bathroom is located in the back of your room with a 7-Ft high partition and no exhaust fan, and
6. You don’t mind the noise of the many people walking pass your door to get to their rooms, and
7. You don’t mind the noise of people chatting and laughing at 1:30 am, and
8. You don’t mind the pleasure screams of people sexing at 3:00 am, and
9. You don’t mind the noise of those who get up early to attend to their morning business when you are trying to recuperate from a bad night of sleep, and
10. You don’t mind paying U$33.00 for a room with a real value of U$3.00.

Fortunately I was only booked for one night!

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms facing the street but I'll rather choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jorge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here just for one night and, although the room was small, it did what it is for. Little bit noisy but it didn't bother me. I def stay the historic area of the city is very near and very secure for walking at night.!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javicarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On the advice of a reviewer here we asked for a room on the end (facing calle Bolivar) w/a window which we like very much. Our friend reserved one of the interior rooms which he found unacceptable for it lack of windows (other than one to a interior breezeway to which the restaurant downstairs was vented so the room smelled of grease & fried sugar) & fortunately was able to move to one of the three rooms on the end as well. Even these rooms are not for everyone. Tho they are quite large & airy they are on a very large & busy street so if you are picky about noise & a bit of peely paint here & there this is not your spot. We love the age & the 12 foot ceilings & the ability to sit in the large window that actually opens & watch the city go by. We have stayed in many of the hotels in the zocolo area of DF & as long as it is in the right room feel this one is great for the money.

Room Tip: 302 thru 304 or not at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubi55Pozos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a big room on first floor. It was a little bit noisy in the morning but mainly because of other guests. Very helpful staff. We stayed here because the hotel I booked through Booking.com didn't have a room for us and found us a room here. It's close to Zocalo and a friend took us to very nice restaurant close to the hotel. Good for few nigths stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#169 of 312 in Mexico City
298 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#60 of 312 in Mexico City
309 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#103 of 312 in Mexico City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sevilla
#197 of 312 in Mexico City
231 reviews
Hotel Panorama
#211 of 312 in Mexico City
31 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Dos Naciones
Hotel Dos Naciones
#263 of 312 in Mexico City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £9 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Principal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing