We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE !!!”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #132 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE !!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel early this week, and we got some insects in our bed! (probably louses or bugs!!) We then grabbed the pillow with one of those insects that we killed and take it to the the attendant in the front desk showing the evidence along with the weals in our body. The dependant moved us to another room but at the following day when we asked to speak with the owner ( who is always in there but hardly speaks to his customers) they said that he was asking us to pay a difference because the room where we were moved was more expensive. No apologizes at all and they were kind of rude responding that those things never happen in that hotel, even though we showed them the pillow with the evidence. Of course, we decided to leave the hotel with our weals and still feeling itching...Please, for your own wellness...stay away from that nest of bugs!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    123
    72
    14
    17
See reviews for
45
71
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

On a pretty strict budget this looked like a deal for a double room with shared bathroom but as always you get what you pay for . . . for 1 or 2 nights maybe it would have been ok - we stayed for 4 & left a day early. The cheap rooms are on the 4th floor with metal doors (so noisy), most with windows into the courtyard that spans 3 floors down (so noisy) & tiled floors throughout the hotel (so noisy). Obviously it depends on the people staying but basically every door shut or open bangs loud enough to wake a light sleeper & conversations drift up from the lower floors at all hours. On a plus the room itself was basic but clean & the shared showers clean & warm. The room was however tiny & so claustrophobic for 2 people plus luggage. The bed was also a brick so if you're already being kept up by loud people this won't help you drift off. If you can spare an extra $10-20 a night i'd get a better room here (if they are better insulated from the noise & have better beds?) or go elsewhere. No sleep for 4 nights made us a very crabby couple!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexisGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel has a great location, just two blocks to the subways station, and just a few steps of Peatonal Madero. The famous places are really close. I stayed in a solo bedroom with a share bathroom. It was clean and had a TV and comfortable bed. The relation quality price was good.

If your are going to stay in this kind of bedroom, ask in the loby for a fan, because at night is probably that the mosquitoes will eat you if you don't have a fan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osro18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My room was 350 pesos(U$29) including all taxes and was for one person. Excellent location in the Centro Historico, half a block from the Francisco Madero pedestrian street going from the Zócalo to the Torre LatinoAmerica and near Bella Artes. I stayed a Friday night and Saturday night. Wifi works fine on the 3rd floor. The nightlife is very present in this neighborhood so this is a very noisy location. Sleeping quality is poor. Parking is available for an extra 90 pesos (U$7)a day. Safety box in the room available with a refundable deposit of 200 pesos (U$15) The room was a bit small and had no window but had its own bathroom with shower. Everything in the room is very basic but the room was clean, the bed sheets were clean and there was a free bottle of water. The bed cover had cigarette burns although it was a non-smoking room and did not smell like a smoking room. This hotel also has rooms starting at 190 pesos( U$15) a night for people on a very strict budget.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boursay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great location w/ friendly & helpful staff, but the noise level is simply dreadful. I'm hard of hearing and it was still too noisy to sleep. I called the desk to ask them to shush my neighbors but they didn't do anything (I would have heard if they had sent someone up or called the room next door). The hotel configuration all doors open to a 4 storey atrium, and the hotel is old stone, which means that even if your neighbors are trying to be quiet (and they won't) it's still an echo chamber.

Room Tip: Any room is fine but bring your earplugs or your Bose noise-canceling headphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A few of the rooms in this hotel face the street, BUT most face a beautiful inner court yard of a bygone era, impressive at first, BUT don’t let that charm you into staying unless of course:
1. You don’t mind the small 8-Ft wide by approximately 18-Ft deep rooms with double doors opening onto the courtyard which cannot be left open during the night, and
2. You don’t mind that, except for the rooms facing the street, most rooms have no windows to keep open during the night, and
3. You don’t mind the fact that there is no HVAC, and
4. You don’t mind the fact that there are no fans, and
5. You don’t’ mind the fact that the small bathroom is located in the back of your room with a 7-Ft high partition and no exhaust fan, and
6. You don’t mind the noise of the many people walking pass your door to get to their rooms, and
7. You don’t mind the noise of people chatting and laughing at 1:30 am, and
8. You don’t mind the pleasure screams of people sexing at 3:00 am, and
9. You don’t mind the noise of those who get up early to attend to their morning business when you are trying to recuperate from a bad night of sleep, and
10. You don’t mind paying U$33.00 for a room with a real value of U$3.00.

Fortunately I was only booked for one night!

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms facing the street but I'll rather choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jorge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here just for one night and, although the room was small, it did what it is for. Little bit noisy but it didn't bother me. I def stay the historic area of the city is very near and very secure for walking at night.!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javicarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#173 of 310 in Mexico City
292 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#67 of 310 in Mexico City
291 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#140 of 310 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#109 of 310 in Mexico City
103 reviews
Hotel Universal
#181 of 310 in Mexico City
33 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#141 of 310 in Mexico City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Property: Hotel Principal
Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Principal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing