We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, good location”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #132 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I stayed for a week at Hotel Principal and was quite pleased. The rooms (though basic) were clean and serviced daily. The staff was extremely helpful, the price was excellent, and they provide free internet access in the lobby. Additionaly, the location is excellent--very quick walks to the Zocalo, Reforma, and several metro stations for anywhere else in the city. TV (with some 40 channels) and phone in the room. The only complaint I had was the noise level--the rooms are not soundproof and noise tended to be an issue at night. However, bring earplugs and you'll be fine. Overall, a clean, safe, and affordable little hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank traveler551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2007

I stayed two nights in this hotel. I was a woman traveling all by myself to Mexico to see Roger Waters.
I've never been to Mexico before but I got to say this hotel was great.
First thing is close to everything. Just in front of the hotel there is a little store open 24/7 where you can buy snacks, drinks, etc. Around the corner there is a 24/7 drugstore... very convenient.
Close to Starbucks, Burguer King, Sears.... two blocks away from Zocalo and 5 blocks away from Garibaldi.....

For $20 a night I received a very decent room (I have stayed in rooms like this in Best western paying $90 a night) with a/c, tv, hot water, nice bed.....

The service is good, not great but I mean... at that price you can't expect a service such as the one in Ritz Carlton.....

If I ever go back to Mexico... i will stay here, that's for sure...

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ichaves25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2006

The Principal is located in a great location, just blocks away from sights like the Zocalo, Palacio Municipal, Templo Mayor, Palacio de Bellas Artes and the Alameda park. Many restaurants, ranging from expensive to cheap, and shops (sporting, music, books, clothing, shoes, etc.)surround it.The Allende Metro station is a couple of minutes away. You cannot find a better location. The downside was that the hotel was very noisy and I slept terribly every night for the week that we were there. We could hear the T.V. from other rooms, babies crying, people being intimate, phones ringing, people coming back late, etc. Some noise always woke me up every day in the middle of the night and it was common to be awoken several times.I strongly recommend that earplugs be taken. The pillows are also very hard and because the courtyard is enclosed (glass ceiling) air circulation is poor (we had an inner courtyard room). Cigarette smoke from other guests would filter into our room. Other than that, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. They provided us with nice, big, towels everyday and drinking water in a jar. We paid $320 pesos/night for a room with 2 double beds. It was for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mamrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2004

I have stayed in this hotel twenty times over the last five years. My stays have ranged from four nights to three weeks in length. I love this hotel-and especially Lupe who works as the third floor maid.

I like this hotel because is has a great location, very close to the Allende and Bellas Artes metro stops. One of my favorite restaurants in Mexico City (Central Castellano) which has great Spanish food is very closeby too. The price is right-under $20 for one or two people. I have never had any problems with this hotel, it is clean and safe and the staff is very helpful. Lupe-mentioned above-even takes my clothes to her home and washes them and returns folded and pressed for a very nominal fee.

The only drawback is noice on weekends if you room is near the front of the building. Always ask for a room near the back on Friday or Saturday nights. Other than that I have no complaints about this place and always stay there when I am in Mexico City-I don't even consider another place.


  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2waylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2004

My family stayed at the Hotel Principal for several days in 2002. We asked for one of the large L-shaped rooms facing the street. The room had 4 beds, so my kids each had their own. The downside was the terrific din from the street! There is at least one disco with all-night very loud music. At the time, there was also an all-night construction site with the usual steam hammers, rip saws, etc. My advice is to take earplugs, or take one of the interior rooms, if you can't sleep through loud noises.

Hotel Principal is located in a 400 year old building with high arched brick ceilings. The rooms are old looking but clean and neat. There is plenty of hot water. There is one small service lift. The staff is friendly and some speak a little English. Many travellers from all over stay there.

The Principal is located in an excellent area, with a good bakery just a couple blocks away. It is an easy walk to the Zocolo and several good restaurants. There are two restaurants flanking it on either side--one, Leonesa Parilla, is fancy and rather expensive, but serves excellent food (my kids liked their burgers and shakes.) The other is a vegetarian smoothy bar, a good place to get licuados or ice cream.

Stay at the Hotel Principal, but bring your earplugs. Don't forget to leave a flower or token for the Virgin who watches over the place.

3  Thank LRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Buenos Aires Argentine
14
Reviewed 8 September 2003

This hotel is really great! Located at the very heart of Mexico DF with the lowest price for such a kind of hotel. Only five minutes walk from the main attractions in Mexico DF! An old fashioned house, very confortable and with all facilities availables requested for a nice stay! Ask for a room at the inside balcony! Only one trouble, when I was there there was no breakfast service but ask of a small backery at the next street. So enjoy it!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viviana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#167 of 312 in Mexico City
298 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#63 of 312 in Mexico City
304 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#143 of 312 in Mexico City
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#112 of 312 in Mexico City
107 reviews
Hotel Panorama
#206 of 312 in Mexico City
31 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Dos Naciones
Hotel Dos Naciones
#260 of 312 in Mexico City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £10 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Principal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing