We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Habita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Habita
Ranked #181 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Dublin
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

Habita is an amazing hotel located in a cool and central neighbourhood in Mexico city. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. When our taxi arrived at the door the doorman were waiting to take our luggage and welcome us to the hotel. When we checked in at reception we were upgraded from a standard room to a superior and when we asked for a late check out at 5pm on our final day we were not charged. The hotel is beautiful with tasteful minimal style rooms, a great rooftop bar, nice (but small) pool area and a great ground floor bar & restaurant serving top class food and a good selection of wine. This all made for a really enjoyable stay and by far the best experience we had in Mexico. What most impressed us overall about Habita was the friendly and excellent staff. Everyone seemed genuinely friendly and happy and all were incredibly nice. Nothing that was asked for was too much trouble and the service in the bar, restaurant and at reception was fantastic. For this I imagine that management deserves a lot of credit and this hotel refreshingly seems to be really well managed. Finally for the location, style, service, food and rooms the hotel is very good value for money particularly if you book online.

  • Liked — the staff & service
  • Disliked — pool area could be bigger but is good to have a pool at all in a city hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rosie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    79
    45
    32
    28
See reviews for
8
65
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

If I had written this review before check-out Habita would have, without doubt, received five stars. The room (we stayed in a middle-range one) was large by normal standards, well decorated, with an incredibly comfortable huge bed and a well-stocked bathroom. All the service we received was exemplary and the food and drink were good quality without being too crazily priced for a high-end hotel (buffet breakfast is not included in the room price but is US$12 and actually worked out slightly cheaper than eating the same at a local cafe). So we were pretty impressed - until we got our bill which revealed a number of underhand tactics. Firstly, the exchange rate offered is extremely poor even by hotel standards (we were given 11 pesos/dollar when the official rate was 10.2) So if you want to pay your bill by credit card or in pesos cash you end up paying nearly 10% more. The only way of avoiding this is if you pay in US$ cash - but as the rooms are about US$200 you're looking at a carrying a pretty hefty amount of cash around. Not a particularly pleasant prospect in Mexico City (in the end we never felt threatened but had been given loads of warnings about robbery etc before we arrived and hence avoided big wads of cash). Secondly - there are a load of things left out in the bathroom like an Evian atomiser spray and bottled water alongside the sewing kits/shower caps etc. A nice touch we thought, until at check-out we realised the sprays were US$10 each and the water was also chargeable (incidentally, we did check the minibar menu and checked for price tags on all of the items and there was no indication they were not complimentary). And finally, we asked reception to book a tour to Teotihuacan for us as we realised it was going to be tricky getting up there independently. We were given a price, but when we got the bill we found they had charged us a percentage commission on top of the price agreed. This was not mentioned when we booked it, and seemed like a rather odd practice - surely it should be the tour company paying the hotel commission for getting them custom, not the customer?
Anyway, to cut a long story short we raised all of this with the manager when we got the bill and he basically said many guests had complained about the underhand charges, admitted it was 'unclear' the items were not free, but despite this would not budge on removing any of them from the bill. So a pretty unsatisfactory outcome.
Overall I would recommend anyone staying at Habita to try and enjoy their stay but be aware they are likely to get stiffed financially.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — underhand billing tactics
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank suzya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

The service & care I received was amazing.

The Hotel is very trendy and has a boutique hotel feel to it. I loved coming into my room and having music play in the room speakers.

The hotel is located in Polanco which is a very nice & upscale neighborhood in Mexico City.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, fruits were fresh & the ambiance was nice. This was included in our room rate!

I recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to stay in a non resort like hotel & in walking distance to the many luxury shops in the area.

  • Liked — The location & interior design of the hotel
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Devafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2007

hotel arranged for us to be collected from airport. we got picked up in a hummer which was fun.

the staff were quite friendly and sweet but seem young and inexperienced. the room is nice but nothing special. its annoying that you cant see out the frosted windows of the balcony unless you stand on you tip toes.

the breakfast was really lovely the granola was amazing. again the waiters sweet but not fantastic. the mini bar is a bit annoying as you have to use the room key to open it and its really hard to turn.

they replaced the towels everyday and i would have preferred they didn't seems like a waste. the kiehl's products are great as i love kiehl's! also sorry have to say the shower was not great (no pressure) and the plug in the bath a bit annoying as you had to pull it out with your hand to drain the bath (i think it was broken)

the book shop was close the whole time we were there which was sad as there looked like there were loads of great books i would have liked to have had a look. also you feel a bit weird walking into the hotel sometimes as all the staff seem to hang out by the front door.

i must admit we got the room very cheap i think it was only $120 a day but if i had paid full price i would have been disppointed.

one thing i cant fault is the location - its brilliant - near a metro and the park and lots of restaurants in a very safe area. also it was a bit of a lottery but the staff on the whole were very helpful and had lots of info, maps etc that helped us with our stay.

probably wouldnt stay there again unless i got a good rate but would recommend.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the habita in Mexico City. We booked through Expedia a Queen size bedroom. But as this room was really small and there was no view at all (wall ¡¡), we asked for another room. They changed us to a king size bedroom without additional charge an no problems at all.
This room was bigger and the bed was really good.

The first problem was breakfast. Expedia mentioned that it was included, but the hotel did not know about that and didn't want to discuss the matter.
The service at breakfast was slow and not friendly at all.

The second problem was checking out. Our bill had additional charges from the minibar though we didn't have anything. They explained that the botteled water had a cost. After 3 weeks travelling Mexico and stayed in 5 star hotels we were really astonished to hear that. There were other charges on our bill we couldn't explain ourselves were they came from. They cancelled one charge but we found tips we never signed for. Though we speak spanish quite fluently, we gave up trying to get an explanation for the charges. So do check your bill!!

We really would like to thank RAMON. He was very friendly and helpful with our luggage. Would be great if all the staff was like him.

We would stay there again. We told the hotel about the bill problems and friendliness of the staff and hope, that they will improve their services in the future!

  • Liked — pool, location, room
  • Disliked — some of the service in the restaurant
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hualdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Habita for 3 nights and could find no faults in the hotel's location, facilities or service.

First, the location: it's located in the posh Polanco area, just a block away from the Polanco subway station. For over-crowded, over-polluted Mexico City, this neighborhood is like an oasis calm in the middle of a huge bazaar. The streets around the hotel are perfectly safe with plenty of shopping and dining options. (We recommend nearby D.O. for a superb Spanish dinner)

Facilities: We booked a deluxe corner room. The room itself was clean and well-equipped. My husband particularly liked the in-ceiling stereo system, while I was a fan of the huge shower that doubled up as a steam room. The hotel is wired with free wifi throughout (which we had to pay at the Puerto Vallarta Westin). Terry slippers and bathrobes were provided. The bed was super comfortable as was a wooden chair. Take note though that the decor is absolutely minimalist -- an aesthetic that pleases some but not all.

We took a swim the first morning at around 730am. Thinking we would have to plunge into an outdoor pool where the water was cooled overnight, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel heats the pool in the morning. Although the pool and the gym are small, that's well-justified given the number of rooms in the hotel. We hardly saw anyone else at the gym or pool. The sauna was ok. Not hot enough. One needs to call the reception ahead of time to heat it up.

Service: Service was friendly and intimate. The receptionist, doorman, and concierge quickly recognized us. We were particularly impressed with the efficiency of the concierge. When we expressed an interest at 9pm for a private tour the next day, the concierge quickly had it arranged. Of course, it is a smaller boutique hotel, so the style of service is not the same as at ritz-carlton. For example, the concierge doubled-up as the bellboy to carry our luggage. We thought that was cool and more personal, but some may find it odd or awkward

Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay at the Habita and would definitely recommend to our friends

  • Liked — heated pool
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank blcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

The Habita is in many ways a typical designer hotel - the facade has a largely opaque glass exterior with steel trims. The small yet adequate lobby has exposed (but painted) concrete ceilings with the Aura restaurant (serves all 3 meals and is open almost all the time) abutting the passageway leading to the front desk.

The room itself (I stayed in room 19) is compact with an open area to relieve any build up of claustrophobia. The bed is comfortable but just about adequate for a couple. WiFi service is great in the room but the lack of dressers leaves no room to unpack clothes besides some hanging space.

Despite all the high-end designing, functionality is far from perfect as the closet door could not be opened until the bathroom door was open. The hotel also provides only one bathrobe per room despite double occupancy - so ask for one if you are traveling as a couple.

The roof top bar has spectacular views and a (too?) lively crowd particularly on Saturday evenings. The swimming pool looks great but is less welcoming to actual swimmers as there is just about one lane for swimming. The gym has one each of a treadmill, a cycle and a elliptical trainer - barely adequate even for a small hotel. There is also a business center with two computers next to the gym which is open 24/7.

Food and service in the Aura restaurant is simply outstanding and a table by the window overlooking ave Presidente Masaryk - the street on which the hotel is located - is well worth the very reasonable prices on the menu.

The hotel's location in the very fashionable Polanco district of Mexico City is second to none. Overall a great hotel, particularly for travelers looking to avoid the large crowds in major hotels.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — Design comprising functionality
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Busue a Boutique Experience Hotel
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#39 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#24 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Habita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habita

Property: Hotel Habita
Address: Avenida Presidente Masaryk 201 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Habita 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel Habita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habita Mexico City
Habita Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Habita Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing