We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hated this place”
Review of Hotel Habita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Habita
Ranked #180 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I hated this place”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Trendiness instead of comfort. NOISY! Had to change rooms because of middle-of-the night noise from bar area. Room was freezing. Needed extra blanket and portable heater. Nice infinity pool, though, for an early-morning swim before checking out. Spurge and stay at the new Sheraton. I didn't stay there but ate a fabulous lunch and as a foodie will say: best location and food in Mexico City.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellens25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    83
    45
    32
    28
See reviews for
8
66
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I didn't love Habita. I think that's because it's too modern and hip for my taste. I think people in their 20's, people looking for nightlife on site, people having affairs, or business travelers might enjoy it more. It's clear that the image they want is hip, modern, club-style, young, new, hot spot, etc. It's a trendy kind of place. Fills up on weekend nights with local club goers. It's also pretty expensive, but everything is in Polanco (the Beverly Hills of Mexico City).

It's very modern in style, minimalist rooms, low rise beds (but soft), small bathrooms with modern fixtures, mood music and dance music piped in to the room (you can turn it off if you like). Bar on the first floor seemed nice. We didn't try it. Room was clean and comfortable and a bit on the small size. Internet worked well.

The bar on the roof is nice, with a view of Polanco and the tall buildings near Reforma and a small pool with overpriced drinks. Heavy crowd of hip young people, club going types, and business men. It's definitely a "fresa" kinda of place.

The location is perfect, right in the heart of Polanco on a busy avenue near shopping, eating, bars and the Metro or numerous cabs, short walk to Chapultepec Park and other sights.

One problem we had was that when we arrived they first refused to honor our reservation claiming "maintenance problems". Truth was they overbooked. They offered to send us to a sister hotel in the suburbs, we held our ground and they eventually gave us someone else's room, who must have had issues when they arrived later. Otherwise the service was fine.

My wife and I just kept thinking that a lot of affairs must go on in this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AugustWest07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
476 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I like this hotel. It’s the second time I have stayed here. The hotel is low key and modern enough. The first time at this hotel was better than this last trip. Felt like management had changed. Some things good have been better. If you get a good rate off the website, it’s a good value. Otherwise, you might consider other options. Regardless, I would still come back and give it another try. It could have just been that particular stay. The location is great. Wonderful neighborhood with many restaurants and cool architecture. The reception is very helpful and attentive. Always willing to listen.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Loved everything about this hotel, the decor, the ambiance, the service... The rooftop warmed pool is smashing - such a pleasure dipping in the warm water when it rains.... This is what a botique hotel should be like! The only thing that upset me was the price of the laundry - over 50 bucks for some shirts and undies! And be careful of the smoking floor (3). Aside or these - highly highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Right in the middle of Polanco with great shopping and great restaurants within easy walking distance this discreet, comfortable trendy hotel is a little treasure. The restaurant is also extremely good with the best "Lamburger" I have ever had !!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Visit Mexico City for the first time. Book the hotel thru a special offer of Leading Hotel of the World 1928 promotion. Stay in the hotel for two nights.

The hotel is a very hip hop chic boutique hotel. If you love hangout at nite this is a great place to stay. The roof have a bar and music. and the pool is located in the roof too. The staff are great. The hotel is located in the Polanco area where is an upscale Mexican neighboor, You could find a very traditional mexican taco restaurant within a block where locals go and dine there. I feel safe by the neighborhood.

Our room was located in the second floor. Very modern, plain and simple room. See pictures. The hotel amenities is by Kielhs. No tub only a shower head and very modern look.

We rent a car to drive around and valet parking is free at the hotel.

However I couldn't imaging this hotel to be part of the Leading Hotel of World hotel chain. In which most of their hotel is more classy, and historic hotel.

  • Liked — Service is great
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alsolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We started our honeymoon in Mexico with a 3 night stay at the Habita. We managed to get a good internet rate (I don't know if we would have been so happy if we had paid the rack rate). The restaurant was great and we really liked the staff. Breakfast was particularly good and we had a delicious dinner there too. The chef was amazing! One night we had room service and that was really nice too.

It is a very well designed hotel and we had a standard room. Although it wasn't massive, it was good for our purposes and is certainly very modern. We liked the toiletries provided. There was no view to speak of, but that wasn't a problem for us. It is central and easy to get around. We walked around a lot or got taxis and the subway and we always felt safe.

The bar and swimming pool at the top were very cool, but we never went there or used the pool. It was useful to have access to internet on two PCs.

We moved onto the W hotel for the last three nights. Although the W is more impressive, we liked the personality of the Habita. It is much smaller and less glamorous but has more heart. We loved Mexico City and would recommend it to anyone, there is a great mix of restaurants, museums and culture.

  • Liked — stylishness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank acutetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Busue a Boutique Experience Hotel
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
907 reviews
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#49 of 305 in Mexico City
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe
Distrito Capital
Distrito Capital
#158 of 305 in Mexico City
126 reviews
Polanco
Obelisk Residencial
Obelisk Residencial
#168 of 305 in Mexico City
57 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Habita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habita

Property: Hotel Habita
Address: Avenida Presidente Masaryk 201 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Habita 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Habita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habita Mexico City
Habita Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Habita Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing