We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Downtown Mexico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rioja(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Lafayette(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Hotel Canada(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Washington(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Ritz Mexico(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Historico Central(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
89
60
36
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
60
36
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barazul historicocomfortable sleepingxvi centuryunusual hotelopen courtyardgreat designrestaurants downstairshistoric buildinghotel groupan enjoyable stayfun place to staybeautiful spaceloved this hotelhour room serviceour honeymoonbigger room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have stayed at the Downtown in Mexico City for a week. Initially it looked like a cool well designed place. However, it quickly turned out that a few too many qualities that make a hotel pleasant to stay were sacrificed:
To begin with, none of the rooms have any windows. During the day you can keep your door open but at night you have to sleep without any fresh air. This fact is made worse by an unpleasant smell coming out of the pipes and quickly filling the room.
Finally, when it comes to sleeping - forget about it. There is a restaurant downstairs in the courtyard around which the rooms are placed - and they play loud music until past 1am in the morning and then come back at 7am, turning the radio on while putting out all the tables.
It's a very expensive place for not sleeping. The stinginess in terms of light and air is continued over breakfast which includes only a juice and some fruit. If you want an egg you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalberto R, Director General at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Nathan,
Thank you for your comments. We take all our reviews very seriously and will make adjustments. I will gladly let you know what changes we make so that you can consider staying with us in the future. I leave my email if there is anything you need. areiter@downtownmexico.com
Best regards,
Adalberto Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

For years, we have been huge fans of Habita Group hotels - Condesa DF, Boca Chica, Hotel Americano - all great. BUT we were grossly disappointed by our recent experience at Downtown. Like so many comments here, we were drawn by the excellent design and previous positive experiences at other Habita hotels. Initially, we were supposed to stay in a regular room, and the management was kind enough to upgrade us at a discount. But the suite was on the street side - apparently ALL the suites are street side - making sleep impossible. And since we were staying 4 nights, we asked for a different room. Attempts to change to a similar room took all day, with constant checking in, and each shift change brought a new round of explaining, without much help or apology. Also, the day we arrived in Mexico City, the new President of Mexico was being sworn in not far from the hotel, and the entire city center was closed. We were not contacted by the hotel about this, nor was any apology made upon our arrival (we camped out for much of the afternoon at Condesa DF, where we should have stayed). When we asked to hire a driver for an excursion, we were quoted two different prices. When we asked for a taxi, a "private" service pulled up that charged four times as much as regular taxi. And to make matters worse, the noise level at the hotel - usually from rooftop parties - made for a very rattling stay. For the money, this hotel is all style over substance.

Room Tip: Best room is Number 9. It's about as good as it will get at this hotel, though still fairly noisy. Also, beware: the bathrooms are totally open. No privacy whatsover.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamalberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalberto R, Director General at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for your comments. Downtown Mexico is always looking for ways to be better and fixing any mistakes we might have had. All your comments have been noted and will be taken care of. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have had during your stay. I would appreciate if you can contact me through email and continue this conversation areiter@downtownmexico.com
Sincerely,
Adalberto Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is a must if you are visiting Mexico City.

You don't need to stay on property to enjoy the experience. I strongly recommend to visit the restaurants and shops in this building. It is like visiting an old Mexico neighborhood. You will find two superb restaurants offering excellent service and outstanding quality, Mexican shops including textiles, jewelry, chocolate, bars, etc.

After your visit to Down Town you will understand what the down town of Mexico was at the beginning of the XXth century.

I have not stayed at the hotel yet, however, I walked around the hotel areas and they are extremely original using materials used on Mexican popular buildings but with a very unique style and architecture. It is a real touch of Mexico with style and quality.

Bravo!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tbaurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalberto R, Director General at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

On behalf of Downtown Mexico we appreciate your comments and hope to have you stay with us on the near future. Please let us know if you have any plans to do so.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights just after the opening of the hotel in July 2012. there are some very good aspects in this hotel but some very bad as well... They will need time to get better.

First the location is absolutely perfect, it is inside a colonial building in the historical center. inside the building there are restaurants and small shops... excellent

We had booked a standard room and the one we were given had no window and a terrible smell of humidity. Immediately we refused this one and we were offered an upgrade with a very nice and bigger room. Rooms are design, pure, clean, very nice but I think all standard room don't have window.. be careful.

Concierge service does not exist, they try to help but it is terrible. The main problem of this hotel is clearly the service. we could stay hours at the pool without anyone coming to us... We booked a tour to teotihuacan and we waited the driver for 2 hours... booking had not been confirmed by the hotel...They are young and nice but clearly not experienced enough.

There is a nice swimming pool on the roof top, access is limited to the hotel's clients which is good.

CAREFUL : there is a nice bar close to the pool on the top and it is open to public. Indeed, on saturday night we had to use earplug to sleep... What a pity !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zumex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalberto R, Director General at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

On behalf of Downtown Mexico, thank you for your comments. Downtown Mexico, being a part of Grupo Habita, is commited in giving a first class experience to all our guests. All suggestions are taken into consideration immediately. There is no longer any smell of humidity in any of our rooms. The volume of the bar is controled at all times. We work on our service daily in order to insure a quality service on all areas. We would love to have you come back and experience again our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The hotel itself is gorgeous – as others described, it’s in a colonial building and no expense has been spared in its renovation and décor. From the enormous plant wall to the murals and exposed brick in the rooms, it’s very nicely done. The rooms facing the street are quite loud, but it’s the Centro – the streets are narrow and crowded. Condesa, Roma, or Polanco might be more your style if you’re looking for quiet in DF. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and they even sent chocolate-covered strawberries to our room the first night since it was our honeymoon -- very thoughtful. Overall, we really enjoyed Downtown Mexico…until the last night.

Our reservation was for four nights. When we returned on the third evening, after a long day in DF, we were greeted by the manager who said they had expected us to check-out that day (after only three nights). We were told they had gone into our room and “packed” our things. We quickly produced our reservation confirmation that indeed showed us confirmed for the fourth night. They were embarrassed, but said there were no rooms available in the hotel and we’d have to stay at Condesa DF (also owned and run by Grupo Habita). The manager bought us a drink while we waited for the taxi, which they also covered. That was it.

So, the last night of our honeymoon was spent schlepping our empty suitcases and about 8 plastic hotel laundry bags across Mexico City. They literally threw all our belongings (laptops without cases, toothbrushes, shoes, etc.) into plastic bags. Upon arrival at Condesa DF, they knew nothing of the situation and, the next morning, we had to argue with the girl about what rate we should pay. In addition to our bill at Downtown Mexico, we paid for the room at Condesa DF. If I had to do it again, I would have found another hotel elsewhere in the Centro that night and been done with Grupo Habita, but we were so tired and just got in the taxi. The manager at Downtown DF was very nice and apologetic while we waited for the taxi, but upon reflection of the whole hoopla, I really think they should have down more to make up for this huge error. We travel a lot, both together and independently for work, and this was honestly the worst experience we’ve had with a hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lostgeographer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalberto R, Director General at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Mr. West,
As you mention on your review, Downtown is very sorry about the error with your reservation. I apologize on behalf of Downtown, Condesa DF and Grupo Habita for the troubles you had to go through on your stay in mexico city. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to change this experience for you.
Best regards,
Adalberto Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews