We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel EVER!”
Review of Hostel Moneda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Moneda
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst hostel EVER!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here with 3 other friends while travelling across Europe, US and Mexico. Our experience was awful. The rooms were filthy, the beds uncomfortable and unsure if they'd even changed the sheets. The place was noisy and there's parties going on up on the roof all night so you don't get any sleep as the sound carries. The food was not very nice at all either.

My friends card got scammed by the 7/11 next door so be careful using your card there too. All in all this was probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed and I've been all across the world. Truly disappointing.

When we asked to organise the shuttle service we had to pay a high price for it and the staff we're extremely unhelpful. We even got an earlier flight out of Mexico City the next day because of our bad experience. I wouldn't recommend girls travelling alone and staying here as we felt unsafe.

Room Tip: None. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
2
31
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

What a disappointment coming back after 8 years & expecting to find the nice hostel we had known! Now it is like a bad dream! It seems during all these years nothing had been made to maintain the place, improvement is nonexistent, the roof terrace is a shame! Too bad for the view and the potential, as the location is perfect! The breakfast is the worst ever + a lady surveys every move and you have to obey and do as told before she serves. All in all, avoid it until future changes!
Something... EVERYTHING must change there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripspotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If it would be for the location which is very good (almost at the city center - zocalo) I wouldn't know why we slept there. Also fine is that you have a small store just next to the hostel.
Sheets were all very dirty, the same with mattresses. For hot water you need to wait for at least 10 minutes. Food was nothing special, but OK.
At reception we asked them for a taxi to the airport which they told us costs 150 pesos. At the end we had to pay twice that much, because the company had only vans available. We had interactions with 3 different guys/girls at the reception and no one was much talkative.
A real disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrnatumD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here around Christmas last year and had our own bed in a private room, planned to stay a week. After coming back the second day, we found that our extra money, cellphone, and other valuables were stolen from our bags in our locked room. We of course reported the incident to the staff at the desk. He was sympathetic but told us that he has received many such complaints. The manager avoided contact with us, didn't show up for several days even though she was supposedly scheduled to come in every day. When we finally spoke to her, we were told that not only would they not refund our money, but they would continue to charge us for our reserved dates, not let us cancel. We were shocked by this because we certainly didn't feel safe there after being robbed and wanted a different hostel.
We reported the incident to the tourist police, who also told us they have had problems with this hostel. But we couldn't prove anything and got nowhere with the police.
Be warned. Don't ever go to this hostel. They are dishonest. The place wasn't that nice either, was very noisy, and the food bad.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The truth is that the hostel seems that has lost management. Some people told me it was the best hostel that they had ever stayed before, but now that I saw it it was just OK. The location is perfect, on the city center, but the rooms are not so great, they have a weird smell, the beds are not comfortable, nor the pillows... GOOD THINGS: The staff was SUPER FRIENDLY and helped me with some great information about places to eat, maps, day tours and so on. The rooftop terrace is also great, and breakfast is not bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed in Hostal Moneda in 2003 and 2011. Unfortunately, I think it was a better place to stay before.

The location is wonderful and the staff is really friendly, but now the private rooms are ugly and expensive and the food is terrible (I can't understand why, because usually the food is delicious in Mexico).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

As soon as we saw the rooms we left the hotel. Dirty bathroom, full of dirt from the road. Terrible bed, we saw some hair from last client. Smells pretty bad. We have been traveling all over central americas, and I can tell for sure that was the worse hostel we saw. Furtunatly we ask to see the room before pay. you can find better deals in town. Check the following hostels: Hotels Amigo, Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, Mexico City Hostel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintais_do_Mundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 310 in Mexico City
445 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#9 of 219 in Mexico City
555 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#40 of 219 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
#102 of 219 in Mexico City
7 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 219 in Mexico City
399 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#22 of 219 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Moneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Moneda

Property: Hostel Moneda
Address: Calle Moneda # 8 | Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Moneda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Moneda Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Moneda Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing