We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe, clean and central.”
Review of Hostel Moneda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Moneda
Reviewed 19 July 2009

good location. rooms cleaned daily and helpful staff. tours and day trips organised at front desk.

BONUS - dinnner on roof top terrace included in price.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crosthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

I can't actually rate this hostel bceause we didn't end up staying there but I would like to warn people that despite what their website and Lonely Planet say about this place, it's quite a dangerous area of Mexico City to stay in.

I was travelling with a girlfriend and we had organised to stay here on our first night in Mexico. We were fortunate enough to have a friend pick us up from the airport and he offered to drive us to the hostel. It was around 10pm when we were driving there and the area looked very dodgy. There were no street lights, there were very few people around and those who were did not look to be the friendly type (many were transvestite prostitutes). Our friend refused to let us out of his car because HE was terrified of being in that area.

Like I said, I can't rate the hostel itself but from my experience it's not the safest place to stay.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
Thank crayolamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

we stayed there 5 days, and used to thAT HOSTEL, AS IF IT WAS OUR HOME. Staff is so friendly, helpful and funny. really, everyone of them. Breakfast is so great that you even don't need to take snack for the rest of the day (but certainly you will need to get water tres per diez). Especially you enjoy breakfast because it is served on the roof. Hostel is located 4 min. from metro (subway has very easy system to use). In the evening , while eating dinner, one can enjoy metropolitan catedral, national palace. Very close is Templo de mayor. I think it's the best hostel !!!!!!!!!!!!! I highly recomend!!!!!!!!! They offer lots of cool tours. Alejandro (guide) knows all possible facts.
Thanks guys!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tverdenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

The terrace was a fun place to hang out. The free internet was great, though not available 24 hours as some sites indicated. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent (starting it at 7:30am rather than 8am would make it even better) -- all you could eat of fresh fruit (watermelon and bananas), pancakes, eggs, cereal, tea and coffee.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, and I appreciated the locked luggage storage area, though some sort of system to make sure people take out only their own bags would be a good idea. There also was a locker (bring your own padlock) in the room.
The sheets, blankets, and pillows were quite old and thin, but freshly laundered. The bathroom had spots of black mold on the caulking and the walls, but hot water was plentiful. Also, the room was spare and stuffy, but this isn't a place meant for spending more time in your room than is needed to rest.
Overall, this is a good place if you want to meet people, take advantage of their tours, and see things in this area, like the Templo Mayor. However, if you're planning to take up a private or three-person room, already have your own itinerary in mind, and willing to pay for your own breakfast and a little more for taxi fares (Hostel Moneda provides good taxi deals) there are hotels with very similar prices and nicer rooms elsewhere in the Centro.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KMone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed one week in Hostal Moneda in october 2006. We found it through our guidebook and reserved directly on their website. The price was excellent, we had a private room with private bathroom, which were small but ok. Everything was clean and functional and we had a big locker (without a lock, but we had ours) in the room to put our backpaks. The employees were kind and spoke english well. What we prefered about this place was its great location (2 minutes from the Zocalo and the cathedral, 5 minutes from the subway), the bar on the roof with views of the cathedral and the excursions organized by the hostel. For example, they organized a walking tour of the historic places in the surroundings (including the roof of the cathedral and the paintings of Diego Rivera in the Palacio Nacional) which lasts half a day and was absolutely free (tip recommended) ! We also participated in a trek on a volcano and we were alone with the guide !
The breakfast was included in the price and was always very good and elaborated (omelets and ham and mexican specialties). The dinner was included also, served between 6 and 8 but you had to be there at 6 because after that it was cold... after the first day we knew it was better to eat elsewhere if we were late !

We really loved our experience in this hostel and met some really interesting people at the bar on the roof, drinking cerveza and tequila !

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

The hostel is in a great location, the breakfast is good, the room are extremely simple and the bed are so so but the staff is really nice. do not miss the free walking tour of the city!

Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank TomandRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

When we first arrived at this hostel, we were quit surprised – and not in a good way. The hostel looked quit dirty and not at all as in the pictures we found on the website. We didn’t have a lot of luck with the room either: it was on the street side, very small and in bad condition (paint peeling off the walls, humidity,…). There were some other rooms that looked a lot better, with fresh paint and on the back side of the building.

HOWEVER, there were a lot of positive things as well, so overall the hostel is quit alright. Our room was clean and cheap, the people were very friendly, there was free internet and the breakfast was very good. It was self-service, so you could eat until you had enough, which wasn’t the case in many of the hotels we stayed in later on our trip. It was different every day and quit healthy, with a lot of fruit, cereals, pancakes, bread, different types of drinks, ….

During the day, there was a lot of noise, since the hostel is right next to the Zocalo. Of course, we didn’t come to Mexico to stay in a hotel all day, so this wasn’t really a problem for us. In the evening, it was very quiet outside as well as inside the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Liesbethje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Canada
Hotel Canada
#218 of 312 in Mexico City
128 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#132 of 312 in Mexico City
263 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
#105 of 227 in Mexico City
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#25 of 227 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 227 in Mexico City
561 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#2 of 227 in Mexico City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Moneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Moneda

Address: Calle Moneda # 8 | Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: £18 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hostel Moneda Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Moneda Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing