We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hostel I've ever stayed in”
Review of Hostel Moneda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Moneda
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hostel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was the worst hostel we have ever stayed in, the only positive of it was the free internet. The loud music, people (which we later found out was one of the kitchen staff) yelling/screaming all through the night and then still carrying on at breakfast when she was meant to be cooking. The people behind the counter we not helpful, the room was hardly clean and there was no air conditioning, I would never recommend or stay in this hostel, there would be much better options available to people for a similar price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietravellersyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
2
31
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

awfull rooms!!! dirty and total basic, not for women
good located
simply breakfast, but tasty

really hostel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Hostal Moneda was noisy! Everything is tiled so it echoes from the bottom floor right up to the top. I stayed in a double room with my partner on the top floor, it had 2 lockable lockers which was great, and a super-uncomfortable bed with thin pillows. The bathroom was preeeeetty clean, but the shower curtain had so much mould on it - it was quite disgusting.

The rooftop bar was cool, a nice place to wind down after a long day walking, but there was some freak DJ playing rubbish music we could hear from 3 blocks away one night.. as we were walking closer we were like.. is that? Is that our hostel? What is that music? It was sooooo loud. The quality of music got better but it went on til after 1am.. no chance of sleep anywhere in the 3 block vicinity.

Hostal Moneda is also the HQ of Bamba tours - a young, hip tour group doing day trips around town and to the major attractions. Their posters are all over the walls on every floor. We did one day trip to the pyramids, which was pretty good, a good insight into the history of the place and Mexico City in general, the tour guide was opinionated but funny and spoke pretty good english.

I asked to print something at the front counter and the lady working wanted to me to email the pages to her (With credit card info on it etc) and then she would print them.. and was a bit huffy about it, i decided to pass. Free internet and 3 lobby computers can't be complained about though!

I have stayed in many hostels before and this is what you would expect. We had the option of staying longer but decided to book somewhere else, and for $100 pesos more per night got an absolute gem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Heart_Delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I hated this place. Not clean, loud - horrible electronic music mixed by wannabee dj till late in the night was played on the rooftop terrace. The water pressure was very low so it was hard to get warm water. Beds not very comfy. Prices way too high for the quality - we spent the next night in a way cleaner and friendlier hotel for only 100 pesos more for a double room.
However, to be fair, breakfast was OK and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capelucito_rojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2010

If you're not picky or fussy (remember this IS a hostel) then Hostel Moneda is a great place to stay. The staff are excellent and very helpful, and they don't mind having a chat unlike some places. The rooms aren't too shabby - I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the mattresses are thick and comfortable and there was an ensuite bathroom with hot water (and a good bit of water pressure to boot!). Could do with a bit of ventilation or a fan, but luckily it's been cool enough to sleep. Free breakfast and dinner buffet is a huge plus... overall a great hostel in a perfect location.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DanDeckchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The hostel was recommended to me by a friend and I was really pleased that I stayed there. The location is brilliant, only one and a half blocks from the Zócalo, and the roof top bar is a great place to relax. The staff are really friendly and all speak English, there is free internet (intermittent but I think that's just Mexico for you), free breakfast and dinner (which includes hot food - great way to save money) and the rooms are clean, beds are big and comfortable. Laundry is also reasonably priced.

My only complaint would be the tiny, low pillows - but really, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sheepless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This was my 1st hostel stay, I had connected with fam/friends coming from the UK, and they were way more seasoned hostel style that I was - they claimed this was decent, for me - it was a bit "rough" - the water pressure sucked, the water in shower backed up, which had you showering in a pool, the towels were like sand paper. And I couldn't get past the prison bar doors that was in addition to your room doors, not all rooms, just some, but the place was not empty, so you did not feel isolated. At night however that place could get very dark... so I would not recommend for solo travelers, groups fine.

And the NOISE, this hostel is located in the central shopping area of Mexico - NOISE CITY! And each morning at 5am - if there's a bday, cannons are going off.
Now the best of this, was breakfast, and the rooftop. Again this was my 1st hostel experience, so the breakfast was basics, but got better next day, when I got up earlier..
fruit, cereal, eggs, beans, bread, butter.... and jam - think they had a toaster too, that was cool. The rooftop view was great - and internet comps provided on roottop style while you took in the view - That was sweet. Best part of the hostel.
The staff was not organized, which you only saw at the front desk, they were more business then friendly.... there's a small community room, but nothing where you can really mix with folks.
I would recommend this for last minute stop overs - onto your nxt destination, but not for more than 1 night, or if your traveling alone. Two or more...

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#36 of 214 in Mexico City
192 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#9 of 214 in Mexico City
550 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
#85 of 214 in Mexico City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 214 in Mexico City
396 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#20 of 214 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 214 in Mexico City
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Moneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Moneda

Property: Hostel Moneda
Address: Calle Moneda # 8 | Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Moneda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Moneda Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Moneda Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing