We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Zocalo”
Review of Hostel Moneda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Moneda
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the Zocalo”
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We booked because we were arriving late in Mexico City and wanted somewhere to go. The room was very small and basic but the thing that put us off was the mould and resulting smell in the bathroom. It did have a lockable box in the room for security.
We did like the fact that it had a roof top area where a great breakfast was included in the price. In the evenings this was a bar and a great area to met and mix with other travellers away from the crowds. It also had a free walking tour leaving every day at 10am. This was great and we would never have found half the stuff on our own. Other cheap tours were also available through the hotel but we couldn't get over the hard bed and the smell so we checked out and moved elsewhere after 2 nights.
Great place for young people who aren't too worried about comfort.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Weggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
2
31
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I took my two high school daughters to Mexico City to see where I grew up. I decided that rather than the traditional hotel I would introduce them to the type of travel they would experience once they were off Dad's payroll. The Hostel Moneda is one block of the Zocalo (main plaza) of Mexico City in a Colonial area where the streets are full of markets and vendors. The streets are so packed with vendors that the taxi could not get through and had to drop us off at the Zocalo to walk the other block. The entry is a bit un-inspiring, and the girls were in serious shock with the look of the place after plowing through the crowds. (I am 6'3", 200 lbs and speak fluent Spanish and grew up here, so crowds are not a problem for me). We had booked a three person room with a bathroom which they had ready for us. In true Hostel fashion we were given our sheets and towels and found the room to be bare-bones with three beds, and lockable locker and a too-be-expected bathroom. Everything worked. The girls changed their mind as soon as they got up on the roof where the Hostel has a small bar, computers with internet and a view of the Zocalo and the main Cathedral as well as down on the streets and the Government Colonial architecture. It was very cool! I am an old guy (55 yrs) but immediately struck up conversations with young people from Australia, America, England, Canada, and Germany. Beer was 20 pesos (2 dollars) and cold. the internet worked fine and the Sunsets were WOW over the cathedral.

The location is awesome as you are right in the middle of the world's largest city but with acess (1 blk) to the Metro and right in the middle of one of the great shopping markets. The desk people were very helpful, great to chat with, as were all the guests I chatted with. There is a nice little traditional restaurant 2 doors down which serves a "comida corrida" which means lunch with 3 courses, at a very good price.

The Hostel also has its own tour company. We did the pyramids and Basilica de Guadalupe with them, as well as the Frieda Kahlo and Xochimilco tour. The prices are sooo much better than most and the tours were wonderful. For the Frieda and Xochimilco tour it was just the three of us and one Canadian guest. We went in a Minivan with a wonderful tour guide, stopped at all sorts of great plaza's markets, etc. I felt like we had a private driver. For the Pyramids, we were in a larger van with 11 passengers, but again, the families and young people were from all over the world and the tour guide as great! Wait until you get there to book your tours, they are cheaper there than online. If you do a two tour package the hotel will also discount your room.

Again... this is a Hostel, but there were several families (I was not the only old guy) a bunch of College age persons and while basic, one of the the best rooftop views for the least price possible.

  • Liked — Price for location
  • Disliked — a bit noisy, but what do you expect from a Hostel.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RickVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2006

The hostel is in the worst place in Mexico City. The Zocalo is the last place you want to be after dark. there is nothing to do so you be in the Hostel the whole time. after saying that, and because of that, the place was much to noise until 0300, no sleep at all.
food was ok and the pickup from the air-port is good value, so i can recommend that you stay the first night and move to another place away from the zocalo, Mexico City night life is huge and it be a shame to miss is only because you are afraid to leave the hostel at night time. the rooms were a bit dirty
well this is all

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — un clean rooms!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — try to choose a clean place
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beertuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2006

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Hostel Moneda in Nov 2006. The hostel is in a great location and is really good value for money. The buffet breakfasts and dinners are really nice and quite healthy too!! The rooftop terrace has cheap beers, free internet access and sells purified bottled water.
We slept in the 11 bed mixed dorm, which constantly smelt like the toilets (which are in the dorm room) and were a bit stuffy. The bathroom door did not lock, had no shower curtain and was a bit old and run-down (I was quite glad to only have to shower there twice!)The lockers in the rooms are great and the sheets and towels were comfy and clean (but did smell a little like cigarettes) You can wash and dry clothing for 350 pesos (US$3.50 includes powder) The staff were very friendly and accomodating and spoke very good English too. The day trip to the pyramids was really good. Overall, I liked Hostel Moneda. The rooftop area, staff and buffet meals are fantastic, but I probably wouldn´t stay in the big mixed dorm again, because the toilet and shower are in the room and you have to walk 4 stories to get to the rooftop for meals.

  • Liked — Location and buffet meals
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 26yrOldAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

For the price you pay (320 pesos for a double incl. airport pick up dinner and breakfast), this place is a good deal. The staff is nice. However, as a couple, I wouldn't stay here a second time as the rooms are really not cosy (very humid, little light, seperate bedding)
Nice rooftop terrace

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 December 2004

Just returned from Mexico (12 Dec2004) where, amongst others, I stayed at the Hostel Moneda, just off the Zocalo main square in Mexico City. Safe taxi pick-up from the airport arranged efficiently by the Hostel (120 pesos). Fee safe deposit in Reception. Noisy colourful street market outside - ask for the higher floors to cut down on noise. spartan rooms - one chair, one bed plus en -suite toilet/shower. Clean but bare. A/C noisy. Good value at £UK 14 per night, including a decent breakfast on the top floor resuaurant - nice views too. Good helpful staff. good day trips and walking tours arranged by hostel. I enjoyed the trip to Teotihuacan and Basilica of Guadalupe. IT and Library facilities, however, no Common Room. Good regard for security; full time security guard on duty. Working lift is useful. In conclusion; very well located, good value hostel - just be aware of the noise problem and the spartan decor and furniture.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2003

Great located, nice atmosphere, clean. Lots of travellers. right in the heart of Mexico City.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
Hostal Centro Historico Oasis
#86 of 210 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 210 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#8 of 210 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#39 of 210 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Historico Centro
Hostal Historico Centro
#29 of 210 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#18 of 210 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Moneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Moneda

Property: Hostel Moneda
Address: Calle Moneda # 8 | Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Moneda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Moneda Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Moneda Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing