We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”

El Cardenal Alameda
Ranked #4 of 4,368 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Alameda
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the hot chocolate, to the freshly baked goods and the bespoke yet discreet service, my experience at El Cardenal was one to remember. On a side note, I have also tried their escamoles (ants' eggs) omelett and that is another experience I cannot forget!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    259
    47
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great place to have any meal!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Mexican typical cuisine. Great to have breakfast or lunch. Do not miss the hot chocolate! The bread is just fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank libersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is a great place to have breakfast or lunch in Mexico City, you will always find politicians, intellectuals, business people or tourist, it has great mexican dishes, good food, fair prices and good service. Get there early so you won't have to wait for a table. Order escamoles (ant eggs) or gusanos de maguey (worms) they are hard to find and are excellent dishes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PabloMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food decently priced”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

El Cardenal is a classic, and its quality doesn't diminish inthe franchises. I really love the food, with an ample selection of Mexican traditional and non traditional dishes. I am a big fan of the "filete de pescado tallado a las brasas". I also recommend the one in San Angel, south of Mexico City.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigre, Argentina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good place to experience Mexican cuisine downtown”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Chapulines, gusanos de Maguey, and other type of insects, traditional of native Mexican food can be found in this restaurant. I personally like very much this food, though I have to admit, I have tried it better in other restaurants in Mexico.
Service is good and so is the ambiance.
I have only been once here, and tried only three dishes, so cannot rate all the menu (which is reasonably varied).
Based on what I tried, I believe the place is overrated, but again, there might better dishes in their menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cardenal Alameda also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing