We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay more and get less???”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #28 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
“Pay more and get less???”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I grew up and love Mexico City! I usually stay at the Niko, but I wanted to try the W, because of all the nice reviews. Well... believe me, the price is NOT right nor the stars ratting.
The location is the best and off course the beds are amazing, like all the Westin's "heavenly beds". The staff is great too, all are very nice people. The SPA is great too, specially the Temazcal.
What could have gone wrong with such a nice review? Lets say they are "cheap": The toilet paper is kind of the worse, you can polish your furniture with it, lol. They give you one little bottle (1 oz) of shower gel for the 4 days we stayed there. I made the reservation directly at the Preferred guest Westin in USA and booked it "prepaid" at one price, at the end i finished paying $45 dollars extra because of the "exchange rate" + $35 for the cc international fees. Why?? I paid in US with a US dollars credit card. They claim that the Hotel is in Mexico. It has never happened before. If I would have stayed at the Niko, like always, I would have saved at least $500, same great location and perfectly clean with great food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinita2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Hello there:

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant therefore please know that your comments in regards the toilet paper ,shower gel and the exchange rate will be taken into consideration since your feedback is truly appreciated as it allows us to focus on areas in need of improvement.

Please contact me directly should you need any further assistance at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com, I will be happy to assist you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    306
    139
    50
    29
See reviews for
61
249
55
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The W in Mexico City had been recommended by a few colleagues over the JW Marriott. When I read the reviews on trip advisor, I had some hesitation as the JW gets overwhelmingly positive comments, while some of the reviewers had a few negative comments about the W.

I decided to book the W after seeing the design and room layout of the W. If you want contemporary and a modern feel -- look no further. The W excels in this. The rooms are an amazing size, red walls, flat screem, terriffic bathroom (with amazing shower and hammock, which I did not use), flat screens, i-pod docking stations...and the list goes on. I honestly did not want to leave my room in the W. Plus I was on a high floor, with amazing views of the City.

The Marriott is right next to the W and so is the Intercontinental. One evening, I decided to check both of these places out. I am SO GLAD, I chose the W. Much, much better. The other two hotels are massive structures. Don't have a personal feeling and are really traditional and old-school in terms of design!

Service at the W was excellent. From the time I arrived till departure, the conceirge staff (Eduardo and Cynthia) were so helpful. The restaurant with an outdoor terrace is fantastic. I had breakfast there each morning (great selection!) and lunch on the day I arrived. I was really impressed with the food. Usually hotel food is just ok. This was different.

Also, the hotel Spa is fantastic. Great facilities. In terms of neighborhood, it does not get much better than Polanco. I highly recommend staying at the W. If you stay here, I also suggest that you spend one evening at the restaurant Pujol. Amazing food and a great wine list. You can do traditional Mexican at many places, but this is Mexican Haute Cuisine. Very different...great experience.

When I return to Mexico City, I will definitely choose the W again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Hello there :

Welcome!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant and it’s gratifying to know you enjoyed a memorable stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com whenever you are planning to come back, I will make the proper arrangements to make your next visit a truly memorable experience.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again at W Mexico City soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The W Mexico City is a beautiful-looking hotel in a great area. Everything from the lobby to the room design oozes trendy and elegance. There are some great attributes of this hotel for but $250/night it falls short on a few key factors.

What to love about the W
1. Situated in Polanco, it is within walking distance to many great restaurants and bars.
2. The lobby is very tastefully decorated.
3. The bathroom is very spacious and the rain-forest shower head (with 2 jets) is second to none.

What can the W improve
1. Sound insulation is very poor. I can easily hear my neighbors move around their rooms or use their bathrooms.
2. The rooms are NOT spotless. In April 2011, I stayed in two different rooms and both had scuffs and dirt.
3. The service was below average compared to the JW Marriott or other nearby hotels. Neither the front desk receptionists nor the concierge desk looked happy in front of hotel guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leadbelly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Hello there:
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant and please know your feedback is truly appreciated, therefore your comments in regards of the sound insulation, cleanliness and service will be taken into consideration.

Please contact me directly should you need any further assistance at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com, I will be happy to assist you and ensure you a memorable W experience during your next visit
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We arrived at the hotel in the evening after a 12 hour plane journey to blaring music from the bar in the entrance lobby accompanied by a red glow from the lighting and thought we'd made a mistake booking, but once we got to the room it was beautiful, very trendy and with a panoramic view of the city (we were on a high floor) The shower is a giant wet room, complete with a hammock you can relax in. Only downside was the charge for internet access, but we just walked across the street to a nearby Starbucks.
Safe neighbourhood, 10 minutes walk to the Anthropological Museum. During the week it is a business hotel, lots of suits, not so many tourists but that changes for the weekend. Breakfasts are great, if a bit pricy, service fantastic! Fitness centre and spa were great too. We were made to feel very welcome, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Hello there xenabelle:

Welcome!!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City; it’s gratifying to know you enjoyed a memorable stay with us.

I am sorry you were not aware of this but for future visits; please note that we have complementary internet access at our living room (lobby) and also at our Solea restaurant

We look forward to see you soon again at your home aWay from home!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at the W in Mexico City for 4 nights in December 2010 with our 15 month old baby and it was great.

Staff were very friendly and rooms were great size and had a hammock overlooking the city which was great.

Would recommend again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Hello there darlingnikki71:

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant and its gratifying to know you enjoyed a memorable stay with us.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you and your baby again at W Mexico City, please let me know, should you need any further assistance or if you have any special request, we will be happy to assist you and ensure you a memorable W experience during your next visit

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I stayed here from Jan 3-5 for two nights and the first impression is that the W really does take itself seriously to be the cool kid on the block in the polanco district. Sharing the lane with Nikko, Inter Continental and JW Marriott, it does strikes you as being the one to be at.

the location is not bad, with a metro stop behind the hotel that is walkable under 5 minutes. dining wise, there are many cafes and restaurants for one to choose from, though they are pricey, in the 1 mile radius of the W.

the hotel has a fitness center but no pool, and internet is free in lobby area (though the code the frontndesk gave me kept failing that i ended up passing them my iphone for them to key it in themselves after my countless attempts)

now, lets go to the bad side: the rooms. no doubt ultra spacious and modern, i felt they they lack a simple concept to be stayer-friendly. will you put blinds that do not shut completely in your own home? well, this hotel does. will you put a firm comfy bed only to ruin it with pillows so fluffy that your neck lack any support in your room? well, this hotel does. Will you install hot water tap that takes 3 minutes to warm up in your place? well, you guessed it, this hotel does! Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Hello there GeraldSingapore:

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant therefore please know that your comments will be taken into consideration and your feedback is truly appreciated regarding the blinds, pillows and water temperature. For future visits, please note that we have open internet access at our living room; you won’t be needing a code anymore.

Please contact me directly should you need any further assistance at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com, I will be happy to assist you and ensure you a memorable W experience during your next visit

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This hotel holds to the W brand and is a very well decorated, comfortable and stylish. I have stayed in the Intercontinental and Nikko in the area and I would definitely prefer the W. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. There is a hammock over the oversized tub which is decedant. There are ipod docks and a selection of music and videos available. The spa is beautiful and worth a visit. The hotel is pricey, in that there is no complimentary water, breakfast or internet; there is an extra charge for everything.
I was there for vacation so I found that it was great for a weekend of partying and relaxing in Mexico City. It is in a great location, there are lots of restaurants nearby. The staff and conceirge were great, and we were very well attended to on our stay. I would definitely return but it is perhaps better suited when traveling for vacation rather than business.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Hello there gypsytravels:

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

We at W strive to make each guest stay memorable and pleasant therefore please know that your comments will be taken into consideration and your feedback is truly appreciated. For future visits, please note that we have complementary internet access at our living room (lobby).

Please contact me directly should you need any further assistance at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com or through Trip Advisor, I will be happy to assist you and ensure you a memorable W experience during your next visit

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 310 in Mexico City
1,080 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 310 in Mexico City
1,957 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,311 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
1,215 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 310 in Mexico City
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing