We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet paradise, awesome stay!!”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #28 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pet paradise, awesome stay!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night due to some unforeseen troubles at home, I choose the W because I knew they were the only pet friendly hotel near me - I stayed with my 50 kg Newfie and we had a blast. They made us feel unbelievably welcome everywhere, the service was impeccable, friendly, efficient and fairly swift.

The rooms are incredibly comfortable, large and the bed is amazing. The shower was a whole new experience, an absolute must! The only "problem" was that the rooms are not noise proof. Late at night I could hear many doors slamming, people coming and going and even the couple next door :S Normally it would've been annoying, but this time around since I was with my pup, he got over excited every time he heard the loud footsteps outside our door.

Still, this inconvenience was minor compared to the rest of our stay - the place is pricey indeed but the service is top notch and the hotel 1st class :) highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Gabey

Thanks for your comments and your understanding.
Excuse us for the unpleasant moment that you and your pet had because of the the noise , We are working on improving our facilities to make our rooms more comfortable and quiet.

We look forward to see you back soon.... and of course to your best friend too!!

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    303
    140
    50
    28
See reviews for
61
249
55
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Let's start with the pros:
1. Good location: Polanco is a nice area, with restaurants, bars, the park, the archeological museums, auditorium and safe to walk around
2. Concierge is very helpful with good insider tips
3. Rooms on the highest floors are big with nice view over the city furnished with modern taste.
Cons:
1. Temperature is very low in the lobby and in all the public areas which I found annoying
2. Breakfast is poor in the quality and in the choice, not acceptable for a W hotel
3. Music in the lobby is so high that it's hard to follow a conversation with your friends sitting just next to you (if u didn't become an ice cube because of the temperature :-) )
4. If you are not a spg member, the Internet connection is quite expensive and not so fast!

Overall, I would recommend to stay there as long as you value a lot the location and all the other acceptable 5 stars hotels are somewhere else in a city which is just a big mess with tons of people and quite unsafe sourroundings. If you also like young, modern, design touch it could be a good choice. But for breakfast, go to Saks just around the corner or to Starbucks: both your pocket and your stomach will thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room between 21, 22, 23 floor. If you like hammock, some of the rooms have it in the bathr...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank queen_s_bys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate you taking the time to post such great feedback. Thank you for your comments about the quality and variety of our breakfast, the music and temperature at our lobby. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

Thank you for your review, please contact me anytime at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com so that we can assist you further

Kind regards
Stephen Hertzberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I've stayed at many W hotels around the world but this one doesn't live up to the name. I was here for 2 weeks while on a business trip and unfortunately I was unable to get a proper nights rest. My first issue with this hotel was my bed, which felt like sleeping on bricks. The pillows were also useless and offered zero support. This made for a very uncomfortable nights rest. Aside from the bed the noise level in this hotel is outrageous. The doors are heavy and slam shut, this caused a problem throughout the night (bring earplugs if you stay here). Additionally, there is music and overall loud noises throughout the evening. I was traveling with several colleagues of mine and they also had the same issues with the hotel, we were all on different floors so it wasn't an isolated problem.

On a more positive note, I had a great massage and enjoyed the spa services. The staff was friendly and helpful to an extent (they couldn't do much about the bed and slamming doors). I found the food to be sufficient but not amazing.

Overall the lack of sleep due to the reason stated above was a deal breaker for me. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for those reasons.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high-level floor to help reduce the noise from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SL1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear guest:

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us.
We have noted your comments regarding the comfort of the mattress and would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations, furthermore, we have also noted your comments regarding the level of disturbance coming from the other rooms and from the hallway and would like to apologize for these occurrences. We know how frustrating and disappointing it can be when you have a few minutes to relax and your expectations are not met. We assure you that our Security department responds to all noise occurrences and usually resolves the situations promptly.
We hope you will give us another chance to show our true level of service. Please contact me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com so I can make the arrangements for your next visit in which, we will be assigning you a corner room which is usually at the end of the hallways further away from disturbance.

Sincerely,

Stephen Hertzberg
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

this is the typical W hotel, but the rooms are big and comfy, not like in the Us that the rooms are all white and tiny!
you will get a spacious rooms, with comgfy bed, very modern decor, and pretty views of the city, the service is very good, the spa was very nice and you can use the steam room, sauna, and jacuzzi...
the location is in the trendy area of polanco, you can walk to the best restaurants in the city, lots of pretty people around and many turist as well....

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Patty
We are very glad about your great comments and we thank you for takin the time to post them.

We look forward to seeing you again really soon!


Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Great Hotel! Beatiful. Modern, perfect location, great tequila bar! Comfortable and useful bedroom. Staff well trained and professional. A little to overpriced compared to other hotels in tha area, but still worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanzarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hi Ivanzarif

We are truly thrilled about your great comments and we thank you for taking the time to post them.
We look forward to seeing you again really soon and rest assure we will top your last experience!

See you

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

One of the better W Hotels; super freindly service without trying to be achingly hip like in the US. Spacious open plan rooms with those on the higher levels having a great view over Mexico City which you can take in from the hammock in your wet room. Perfectly positioned for Polanca's high end stores with some great restaurants nearby and close to the airport too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Londonltchyfeet

You´re right !!! Enjoy the view of the city from the comfort of a typical Mexican hammock.
It's definitely a unique experience, we’re glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for your comments and we look forwar to see you at W on your next visit to Mexico City.


Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I'm starting to realize that the party vibe of the W hotel chain and the "Wherever, Whatever, Wet, Widiculousleness" alliteration is not for me. But, this hotel in Mexico city met our expectations in general. The room was nice and big and well appointed, if a bit dark, which extended into the barely-lit hallways. The hammock in the open plan bathroom was a bit contrived, but charming nonetheless. We had a nice view from the bathroom, and the staff was extremely helpful and prompt and we even got a hand-written note on our last day asking how things went. My only problem with the room was that it was a bit dark, and the toilet room was a bit small and without ventilation. The open plan will not be for everyone, but works for a couple.

The hotel lobby is currently under construction, so it is slightly awkward at present. There is a big whiskey bar and nightclub area that seemed alright, and the restaurant on the second floor is quite fancy, but doing a high-end steak and seafood menu that was not very successful, I would not eat there again by choice. The elevators were tiny and slow.

The location of the hotel is perfect in the trendy polanco shopping area, and there are other big hotels nearby, a starbucks across the street, and it is a 15 min walk to the museums and art galleries.

Overall we loved our room and felt the helpful presence of the staff here, so if you like W hotels and dont mind a party, clubby vibe throughout, this could be for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Jonnathan Y

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and observations. We definitely will take all the great, good and not so good and work with it so we can meet all of our guests expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you at any of our great hotel brands.

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,067 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,907 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
1,209 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing