We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #27 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel during a business trip. It is located in the district of Polanco, one of the nicest in DF. There are plenty of restaurants around, and the area is quite nice to walk, parks and even some pedestrian streets. A good thing to consider in DF is that it is not far from (i) the airport (ii) the main business district and (ii) the historic centre. If you need to go to any of these, then staying in this hotel will safe you from quite a lot of traffic. I recommend the hotel for both business and leisure travelers (although Mexico DF is perhaps not a typical “leisure” destination). The hotel is near the main business areas, but also within walking distance of the main museums (Mueso de Antropología, with many pre-colombine items, and Museum of Modern Art).

The hotel follows the “W” concept, with minimalist, chic decoration and friendly service. As an example, I arrived rather early and the hotel was full, so I was not able to do an early check in. Nevertheless the hotel staff were very helpful, and allowed me to use the spa to change and take a shower. Also, they provided tips for good restaurants and took care of the reservations.

The rooms are ample, with large beds and a small “living room”. The views were quite nice, given that I was in one of the high stories (23rd). I checked the spa and it was very nice.

Regarding the food, breakfast is quite good, with the option to have a buffet (more or less ok) and to order food “a la carte”, with Mexican specialities. For luch the menu was more “international”, and perhaps I missed some Mexican specialities, although I was able to have a “michelada”.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbarallat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear mbarallat;

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with all our talent as an incentive to improve our service day by day.

Best Regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    295
    139
    49
    28
See reviews for
60
242
55
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife to spend holidays. Nice location at one of upscale Mexico City areas and great restaurants nearby were absolutely great. Gym was well maintained as usual Ws and staff are so friendly and trying to be helpful. For celebration of our wedding anniversary, they prepared wine and cakes while we are out. So great service and relaxed atmosphere we experiences throughout our stay. Definitely recommend this place unless you are looking for a place with uniquely Mexican place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradergom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello 138seanb,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be part again of your next anniversary celebrations!

See you soon,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had a recent business trip to Mexico City recently and was very impressed by my stay at the W. The staff was excellent as I utilized regular services and both the room service, gym, and spa.

While Mexico City can be a very busy place, the hotel gave a boutique feel and was comfortable and trendy.

I was very impressed by the hotel staff on our late check-in as they kept from closing the bar early to accommodate our small group.

I would definitely recommend and will stay here for all my future business stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello AJAChicago,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us; it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and to know our staff is making the difference!!

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you in every visit.

Warm regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Food is delicious... I wish I stayed longer, but the 2 days I spent at the W Mexico City where great. Israel the embassador was awesome and very friendly. Very well located,just a few minutes away from several main attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitoGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello JuanitoGarcia,

It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we are going to share your good review with our staff as an incentive to keep giving the best service ever!

Warm regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I typically avoid W hotels but stayed at this one because I got a good rate. I was very surprised to find that the room had an enormous shower room with a floor-to-ceiling window and a hammock in it! I was on a high floor (23, maybe?) and the views were spectacular.

Room Tip: ask for the room with a hammock in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello ChrisPinc,

Thank you for a great review, we are really glad to know you enjoyed your room and the recent stay with us. I hope you keep giving us the opportunity to have you here more than once!

Regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a modern htel building with a nice style. Great food at the hotel restaurant (the best local food: tacos, enchiladas...), nice rooms with a large bathroom. Comfortabble beds and very delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmawska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello dalmawska,

We at W strive to make each guest experience memorable and pleasant, and it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are really pleased to hear such a great comments from you.

Warm regards,
Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It looks like a fairly new hotel in the heart of Polanco. Filled with fun and style, it has a very good staff throughout all of his floors including restaurants. The corridor will give you a new feel with RED and BLACK and when you enter the room, it's amazing how a new room can shape up.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SDCricketTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Mexico_City, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear SDCricketTen,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Diana Escamilla Whatever Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing