We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Nice -- not worth the money, though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #29 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Pretty Nice -- not worth the money, though.”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

A pretty nice upscale place. Probably best for young couples. As a business travelor I found place came up wanting.
For a pretty pricey room it's absurd to charge extra for internet access and some basic things like bottled water. I read in another person's review that the plumbing made it hard to control water temperature in the shower -- I agree. The same was true of the sink, and the drain was very slow.
Bed and other furnishings were comfortable and the room was quite large. Everyone on the staff was very nice. Coffee delivered to the room in the morning at a pre-appointed time of my choice was a nice touch. I didn't visit the gym or spa but heard from a reliable friend that both were very nice. The bar was very noisy (at the end of a business day I prefer a quieter setting). Some very nice restaurants in the immediate area.
All things considered, the problem is that the hotel tries to be trendy -- and charges a lot for the privilege. But it doesn't really provide that kind of value. Next time, there are a few other 5-star places in the immediate area that I plan to try.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmal30005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    288
    139
    47
    28
See reviews for
60
234
54
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times across 2009-2010 and it has become my 'go to' hotel for Mexico City business travel.

The highlights:
- Rooms are very clean and spacious. A nice treat for travelers is the high-quality Philips stereo in every room, with supplied CDs that are really realxing.
- Showers are awesome, two-headed shower with plenty of space and great bath products (Bliss) like all other W hotels.
- Business center is well-stocked, easy to use and staffed by knowledgeable, friendly people.
- The concierge is great, very helpful and accomidating.

The lowlights...there aren't really, but if I were to nitpick, I would say:
- The in-hotel restaurant is pretty slow at breakfast, which can be tricky for a business traveler
- They don't have an easy kiosk to print boarding passes (that said, it can easily be done in the business center).

I gave the hotel a "Very good" rating because although everything is very comfortable, it is not top-notch / luxury - which W's aren't meant to be. But highly recommended for the business traveler!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junior_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I travel to visit family, the location is perfect right in polanco walking distance from nice restaraunts, super safe area...loved the hotel everything is red, super modern, the shower is amazing, the bed super comfortable, and the service excellent...room service is fast and delicious the quesadillas are great!!!...next time i will try the temazcal at the spa..This is more a hotel for adults but my 9 year old went over for breakfast the last day and loved the hotel!!!..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the following: room was large and clean, all the staff we met were professional and bilingual, Polanco was a safe and posh area, new equipments in gym, room service food was decent
Didn't enjoy the following: no tub in my room (although my friend's room had one), cocktails at hotel bar were subpar, had to pay for drinking water in room, hotel-recommended drivers were misleading in price quotes for rides

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amywolfieNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The hotel is situated in the pleasant Polanco area, which is safe and has a good range of shops and restaurants.

The room was a good size, with an open plan bathroom that has a large, full height, clear glass window to views of the city. Oddly there's a hammock in there too. There's no bathtub so you get a wet floor shower room instead, which is slightly annoying as you have to walk through a flooded tiled floor after a shower to use the toilet.

The rest of the room was fine although if you find yourself in a room number ending 04 or 05, they are close to the lifts and you can sometimes hear the music that's played in the lift areas - annoying when you're trying to sleep. The hotel was full so I couldnt change my room.

I was slightly surprised to find no pool although there is a gym. Web access is not free either.

The bar was busy every night , mostly with locals, although the prices are high enough to keep the clientele fairly upmarket. Service was atttentive and brisk.

The restaurant was good except for slow service during breakfast, even during quiet periods.

Overall I'd stay again but I'd also consider other hotels in this area. The JW Marriott is next door and the Presidente Intercontinental is very closeby.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

It was the last hotel on our mexican few weeks vacations. And how we were glad to stay there! It was our first W experience and we definitely found it different from other chains. Looking forward to have more of them in Europe. We enjoyed the design, music, smell. Restaurant offers very reasonably priced food which is tasty and good too. Every night very lively and young crowd at the bar with great Martinis. Close to good shops, many restaurants, citytours stop or metro station. All in all very nice experience. Pitty that checkout was very bad including bad attitude of male staff at the reception with surprise of non authorized additional charge to my CC which appeared after my return home....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Out of a massive 5 weeks mexican honeymoon/wedding, this hotel, the room, and the service was without a doubt the highlight!!! Thank you so very much to stephen and his staff, for making our honeymoon a real WoW!! This hotel is located perfectly, it is chic and cool, and the staff are more than helpful. I can not say enough about this place, I highlt recconmend it to anyone looking for something special. Our time there was just incredible, thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
1,038 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
1,787 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
1,192 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 306 in Mexico City
1,164 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing