We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the usual high-end hotel fare”
Review of J&G GRILL

J&G GRILL
Ranked #191 of 4,606 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Reforma / Zona Rosa
Description: A comfortable yet elegant culinary experience – J&G Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality meats and freshest seafood available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the J&G Grill dining experience at the St. Regis Mexico City.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I like the burger, fish courses, avocado pizza and Vongerichten's eponymous molten chocolate cake. Appetizer portions are for super-model grazing and prices are towering. Very convenient when staying at the hotel....and cheaper than eating room service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sbeerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Public Relations Manager at J&G GRILL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at J&G Grill. We are delighted we surpassed expectations while dinning with us. Chef Maycoll Calderon is always trying to find new ways to enlighten our clients.

We hope to see you again very soon. Our new summer menu started last week!

Kind Regards,
Joanne Lopez
J&G Grill Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for J&G GRILL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went for dinner to the J&G twice during our recent stay in Mexico City. We stayed at the St. Regis, and this restaurant being one of the two on site, we visited twice.

The first time we ask for the "menu de degustación", the sampler menu, with "maridaje", i.e. with wines according to each plate. This menus was amazing, starting with a Hamachi sashimi with shiitake mushrooms in a soy-yuzu dressing (very recommended), followed by a Sweet pea soup parmesan with sourdough croutons (good), Endive and sugar snap pea salad with parmesan dressing and herbs (didn't like it, since I don't like endives, not the restaurant's fault), Avocado Pizza (out of this world, you have to try this one), this Avocado Pizza is like nothing you've ever had before, it is incredible!. Then a roasted snapper with aromatic black beans and cilantro, and to finish Caramelized Beef Tenderloin with carrots and miso-mustard (delicious!). For dessert we had the J&G cheesecake lemon cram with blueberry sorbet (very good).

We liked dinning at the J&G Grill so much that we returned to order from the menu a couple of days later. We had the Cheeseburger, Avocado pizza, and the Caramelized tenderloin. For dessert I had the sweetcorn cake, cajeta sauce with mezcal ice cream, really delicious!

The ambiance of the restaurant is very good, subdued, nice music, attentive service. All in all a great experience. I definitely recommend dining here while visiting Mexico City.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank El_Josu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Public Relations Manager at J&G GRILL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very proud reading your review and knowing we conquered your taste and expectations. We are very glad knowing you enjoyed your dinning experiences at J&G Grill and had a great time being with us.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joanne Lopez
J&G Grill Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a reservation for 3 people on saturday March 15th at 8 PM. Soon realized we were almost the only patrons there (with 3 other tables). Everything except for one appetizer (great hashimi) was way too salty. Had to return my filet mignon because it was undercooked (had asked for medium). Service is courteous but inattentive. Disappointed and cannot be compared in any way to any of Jean-Georges Vongerichten's other restaurants in New York City for instance (the Jean-Georges of course or even ABC Kitchen - a favorite of mine). We went there because of the name and regret it dearly. Was simply not worth the money spent.

Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Public Relations Manager at J&G GRILL, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry we have not surpassed your expectations of your meals at J&G Grill. We would like to assure you that our Chef and team always look to serve the freshest produce available, We regret that you found that this meal did not appeal to your likings. We are thoroughly reviewing this situation and hope to receive you again in the near future with the service and quality maintained at J&G Grill.

Regards,
Joanne Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The service was great!
Nice patio overlooking the street.
Food was good.
Nice atmosphere
Yummy sangrita and tequila:)

Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaycollCalderon, Public Relations Manager at J&G GRILL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind words and are pleased to have surpassed your expectations. We look forward to receiving you soon once again at J&G Grill and delivering yet another memorable experience for you.

Kind Regards,

Joanne Lopez
J&G Grill Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is by far my favourite spot to Lunch when I am in Mexico city ! CHef Maycoll does a fine job in sourcing fresh and quality product - today I had a perfectly prepared Organic Chicken with green beans. The Terrace is the place - overlooking " El Angel " one hears the buzz of traffic go by however it does not bother- that is part of the magic. Must try the Avocado Pizza which I have had before however today I had off the special lunch menu a Artichoke Mushroom and Fontina Cheese Pizza which was great. If missing a football game is your concern - neatly tucked in a corner is a flat screen where I jkust watched Australia beat Ecuadro 3-0. I could write a lot more on this one of my favourite restaurants around Bon Apetit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carlitosembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaycollCalderon, Public Relations Manager at J&G GRILL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We are very pleased to know you had an unforgettable experience at J&G Grill, a must savor at Mexico City’s gastronomy scenario and a must see contemplated from its terrace. Thank you for your extraordinary review.

Best,
Joanne Lopez
J&G Grill Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J&G GRILL also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to J&G GRILL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing