We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, okay service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, okay service”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in a private room (not deluxe) for five nights. Our room and bathroom were clean and functional, and there was always hot water available. In general, the hostel was pretty loud: our first night there, there was a concert on the roof that was very loud; other nights, the doorbell rang throughout the night; and, in general, the place was pretty echo-y and voices carried. We were slightly disappointed that the hostel did not organize any activities while we were there, and there was very little tourism information available. The staff answered questions, but was not particularly helpful about making suggestions or offering information. Breakfast every day was toast with butter and jam, cereal with milk, coffee, and oranges. The neighborhood is great, though, and we enjoyed walking through the pretty streets and trying local restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    29
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
2
24
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the area, I had been to Mexico City once before but never stayed in Condesa. I really liked how close it was to bars/cafes and the museums. If you stay here, I highly recommend the mexican wrestling, it was a big laugh, brought back my WWF days and its really cheap ($30 front row seats) and not far from the hostel (3stops on the train) or a 100peso taxi ride.
Stayinn barefooted is great because it is new, the facilities are modem clean and funky. I splurged on a private room (not the delux one) but I had my private bathroom which was great and the room was cleaned daily. they give you a nice fluffy towel for a 50 peso deposit, which you get back when you return it. Water was hot, it wasn't as high pressured as your 5star hotel, but for a hostel I was impressed. The free wifi was fast and really handy. I never had the breakfast because I slept in every morning but it didn't matter, the cafe down stairs was always open and Satisfied my needs. The front staff were really nice and friendly. We had Maria most days, she was new but so hospitable, apparently she was just relieving someone from their holidays, but I hope they keep her because she had great customer service and gave us good tips on the area.
The place as a whole has a really nice vibe, almost like a really friendly funky coffee shop with a good mix of like minded travellers. I was sad to leave

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

This is a legit hostel. It reminds me of some of the best hostels in Argentina. It's a bit of a party hostel, so if you're going to complain about how some drunk French kids came in at 430am and woke you up, then don't stay here. But I'm not complaining. The only thing I would really complain about were the mattresses in the dorms. They were just ok. A little stiff and cheap. But overall, a great great experience here. Pretty easy to get here from the airport via the metro. Takes about 45 min.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RidinDirti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As far as hostels go this has to be one of the best. A friend and I stayed in a private room which was spacious and had a great shower (important if you're a girl :-))
I had trouble trying to contact my bank back in Australia and one of the staff let me use his Skype account to make the call... Completely lovely and not expected.
It's on the edge of Condesa so not quite in the hub but everything is a short walk or shorter taxi. The metro station is also only 10min walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeecydeLaFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Got recommended this hostel from a girl staying here, I loved it straight away. It's just opened so it's fresh and totally different from other hostels I've stayed in. Great design threw out the interior, good stuff who make sure you'll have a great staying, they also know a lot of places to go and organize trips. Downstairs they have a excellent little restaurant run by Carlos, filled with cheap but tasty dishes fit for anyone traveling. Yeah, not much more to say, stay here if you're coming to Mexico City!

I stayed in a room facing the street so it got a little noisy, just ask for another room if that's a problem for you. They got plenty.
John R

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRunestam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

It's really the people at this place that make it fantastic. I really loved Enrique and Carlos, who are absolutely charming and lots of fun. They make it feel like a home from home and that's a really nice feeling when you're in one of the wildest, craziest cities in the world!
The location is great - a 10 min walk from Chapultapec, and on the cusp of one of the two nicest neighbourhoods in Mexico City: La Condesa (the other is La Roma Norte). Wander around the neighbourhood for bars, cafes and restaurants galore.
The common area is very social; you meet other travellers over breakfast and during the day. The rooms have fantastic giant bunk beds so you can sit up without hitting your head, and they are bright and airy, which is unusual.
The hostel is located on a busy main road so bring your ear plugs. Breakfast, while social, is scant so bring your own breakfast food or have a tea first with other travellers and then go out to eat. The kitchen is not set up for cooking, but you can make scrambled eggs in the microwave. You won't really be able to cook your own dinners, but they have an excellent cafe, as well as an Argentine Parilla right next door. When I stayed there was no hot water, so I had cold showers (which were easier after a Mexcal or two!)
I met some excellent people here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Great location in La Condesa, 5 min walk to the nearest subway station (Chapultepec) and minutes from very cool restaurants and bars. Located on a main road and there was construction going on next door but the noise was only minor inconvenience on weekends after a big night. Found the area to be very safe area to walk around day or night. Stayed in a private room which is highly recommended, affordable, own bathroom, big bed and flatscreen tv. The people that worked there were great and able to help with any questions. The food in the small resto attached to the hostel was fantastic and really well-priced. Can get cold at nights so ask for extra blanket as no heating/air-con. Loved the decor, well thought out and very cool.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochilero81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hostel Home
Hostel Home
#16 of 219 in Mexico City
43 reviews
Condesa
Anys Hostal
Anys Hostal
#7 of 219 in Mexico City
71 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#2 of 219 in Mexico City
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Casa Maria Elena
Casa Maria Elena
#23 of 152 in Mexico City
15 reviews
Condesa
Hostel 333
Hostel 333
#69 of 219 in Mexico City
89 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#3 of 219 in Mexico City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayinn Barefoot Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayinn Barefoot Condesa

Property: Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Address: Juan Escutia, 125 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06140, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayinn Barefoot Condesa 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying Barefoot is a brand new hostel in the center of the bohemian part of Mexico city. The general idea of building this place, was to show every tourist  a Mexico only few have had the opportunity of really experiencing, trying to take each and everyone of them to the center soul of Mexican life.This hostel is part of a backpacking agency that takes you to places all around south east Mexico. We call this trips "Regional trips"  well they are journeys around each of our hostels, no longer than three day ride, leaving and returning to the hostel, taking you to places you could not or would not  visit otherwise. Place you have only seen in pictures where you will live like a real Mexican would.Today we are opening this one, but we are very to close to open eight more all around Mexico.Be the first one to try the Barefoot experience.Traveling Barefoot means letting everything go to live life as free as you could be, so you can learn and grow from what you see.You can also travel all through out south east Mexico with us. For the moment we are just opening our first hostel in Mexico city, but wait at the announcement of the rest. Each one of them located in an strategic part of this country so you could visit as much as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stayinn Barefoot Condesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing