We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Have Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Macelleria Roma

Macelleria Roma
Ranked #216 of 4,238 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Roma
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Have Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Located a block away from Alvaro Obregon Avenue in trendy Roma, this restaurant is a very good option to have a nice dinner. They have a decent selection of salads, pastas and pizzas. Their wine menu is medium size but you can find a good selection. Service is good and very polite. I particularly recommend the Lasagna that comes with Costillas Braseadas. It has valet parking and tables both in the inside and at street level.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beto_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540_Gerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Macelleria Roma, responded to this review, 17 August 2015
Dear Beto;

For Macelleria your comments are very important and we are pleased to be recommended, we would like to share you our social networks where you can find our new dishes, executive menu and promotions:

FB: Macelleria Rome
Instagram: macelleriaroma
Twitter:MacelleriaRoma


Greetings and I hope to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    50
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Three times excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have been there three times in this year. All of them were excellente in service and quality.

Every time ther, it has been a different expierence in taste an service. The last time we were there. I ordered the Iceberg wedge salad and the fench dip sandwich. Both were incredible. My friend ordered the Roasted tomato soup and the Rib eye. also were on the incredible side.

For dessert we ordered the apple crumble to share because it is quite big and expresso coffee.

We are not wine drinkers, so I cannot make an opinion on this matter. After dinner they offered a shot of Limoncello, house made, it was good...

Overall, service and food are very very good. I am always invited to come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540_Gerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Macelleria Roma, responded to this review, 17 August 2015
Dear Rick;

For Macelleria your comments are very important and we are pleased to be recommended, we would like to share you our social networks where you can find our new dishes, executive menu and promotions:

FB: Macelleria Rome
Instagram: macelleriaroma
Twitter:MacelleriaRoma


Greetings and I hope to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Two Visits Made Us Fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

(I must begin by saying that although I understand that everyone's taste is different and that restaurants all have their up and down moments, I am astounded by the extremely negative, even vehement opinions expressed in some preceding reviews. Our two experiences were nothing but positive.)

We dined twice in the summer of 2013 at Macelleria Roma, a few weeks apart. Macelleria occupies the space of the former restaurant Travazares, at Orizaba #127, Roma Norte. It's easy to find, a couple of blocks south of Av. Álvaro Obregón and still a block north of Plaza Luis Cabrera (think fountains). If you are familiar with Parrilla y Canilla in Morelia , you may feel at home at Macelleria, although the vibe is much more casual and the prices somewhat lower at the latter.

While the dominant theme at Macelleria is Italian, the name means "carnicería" in Italian, and grilled meat cuts are among its specialties, other than pastas and pizzas.

During the week, they offer a nicely balanced menú del día for $140 pesos, including a refresco or limonada. There's an option of a glass of house wine for $40 pesos. On our first visit, we chose to order a la carte.

But first, our waitress brought us warm bruschetta and a small bowl of sweet potato and beet chips, made on the premises. They were surprisingly addictive. There was also a dish of spiced butter in a pool of olive oil to dab on a plump round of warm bread.

My wife selected a Trío de Brochetas, which combined shrimp, arrachera and chicken on three generous skewers, and a salad of beet, arugula, avocado, goat cheese and candied walnuts. She enjoyed both.

I had a Ribeye steak. We are often hungry for good beef, and this was my first opportunity in a while. It was not too thick a cut, but it was well seasoned with cracked black pepper and nicely cooked. The steak came with a cup of freshly cut and seasoned Papas Francesas.

Dessert was a minor disappointment; Pastel de Tres Leches, along with an espresso. The cut out rounds of sponge cake were not what I was expecting. The espresso was fine.

When we returned to Colonia Roma Norte, we went to Macelleria for lunch, our second visit. On that occasion, we each decided to have the $140 peso fixed menu.

This was a very good deal: the first course was a small bowl of vegetable minestrone, followed by a "Carpaccio de Calabacitas" (laminas of zucchini with olive oil and Parmesan.) The platillo del día was Marsala de Pollo (pounded boneless chicken breast in Marsala sauce with sun dried tomatoes), with a small side of plain pasta.

The meal also was accompanied by the tasty beet and sweet potato chips and the freshly baked bread with a pat of seasoned butter.

The lunch came even came with a glass of lemonade or orangeade, and a surprisingly good scoop of ice cream for dessert. A glass of vino de la casa bore an additional $40 peso supplement.

I would not rate the fixed price lunch as exquisite dining, but it was very tasty, well rounded, and the price a true bargain. My preference, when we next return, would be to order a la carte. I am thinking of the Bistecca alla Fiorentina for two, at $556 pesos, a carnivore's temptation.

One caveat: if you want to order a glass of wine other than the house wine, ask to see the wine list. On our first visit, I had ordered a glass of vino tinto Italiano from our waitress and did not ask the price. On the bill, it was $95 pesos. I wasn't bothered by that, but normally I do not drink such expensive wines.

I would rate the food as 4 stars out of 5; the service 4 stars also; the ambience is casual and not luxurious, overall, it's a delightful, unpretentious restaurant. Note on costs: you can dine for less than $140 pesos (about $11 USD), or you can live high with steaks, pizzas, pastas, salads and better wines. We liked it so much that when we are in Colonia Roma next month, we will bring my two sisters in law to eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540_Gerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Macelleria Roma, responded to this review, 17 August 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Don Cuevas;


Estimado Eric;

Para Macelleria tus comentarios son muy importantes y nos complace saber que nos recomiendas , aprovechamos para compartirte nuestras redes sociales en donde podrás conocer nuestros nuevos platillos, menú ejecutivo y promociones:

FB: Macelleria Roma
Instagram: macelleriaroma
Twitter: @MacelleriaRoma


Saludos y te esperamos pronto de regreso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lo peor de lo peor/The worst of the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Si les gusta comer mal, ser atendido con las patas y esperar que a alguien le importe arreglar algo, vayan a Macellería Roma. El lugar es muy bonito, muy bien localizado, pero de verdad no vale ni cinco centavos.

If you like to eat poorly, be waited on by terrible, slow, inefficient staff and still hope that someone will care to make it right, you've come to the right place. Unfortunately, the place is quite beautiful, and in a great location, but it's not worth the time of day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexicanheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540_Gerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Macelleria Roma, responded to this review, 17 August 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Mexicanheart;


Para Macelleria tus comentarios son muy importantes y nos encantaría compartirte el correo de Marketing para recibir tus recomendaciones y así tu próxima visita sea aún mejor.

Correo: danielact@macelleria.com.mx

Saludos y quedamos en espera de tu correo para implementar soluciones lo antes posible y así puedas cambiar tu percepción del restaurante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macelleria Roma also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Macelleria Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing