We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxing, and most of all at the heart of a wonderful city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A lovely environment-friendly, pleasant, relaxing strucure where you can stay connected by internet but apart from the world. And, just out of the door, the very pleasant and passionate center of a historical town. A great value for money, but not for "picky" travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floor are quieter but really there is no much difference. Do not get here in the hot season i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We are really glad that we booked Casa San Lldefonso. Very quiet, clean and beautifuls rooms. It felt very safe with the guard. Also cristina gave us excellent service and she even show us a couple of rooms to choose from even though we arrived in the middle of the night. The hostal is very well runed and a thing we really appriciated was that they light some candles and made it really cosy in the evening. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Johan! Glad to hear you had a nice stay and that the candles made your stay cosier. Visit us again soon!! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great value for money. Located right in the historical center. I found the area to be much too busy during the day, but the Casa San Ildefonso was a nice oasis from that. Ample facilities with a rustic feel, clean and well taken care of. I stayed over a week and enjoyed it. Staff was helpful and friendly.

They even offer massages on the premises one day a week (females only, though)!

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the courtyard to have WiFi working in your room (although you might get woken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariyamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It is hard to believe that you are in the middle of a large, noisy city when you are inside this beautifully kept, classical building. Peaceful, serene, clean, historical & lovely are only a few words to describe it. The rooms are spacious with single beds rather than bunks. Each bed has a locker and bedside table. The rooms, bathrooms and common areas are kept immaculately clean. There are several courtyards but one common area outside the kitchen area that is particularly beautiful. It has a flight cage of birds that sing to you as you sit beside the fountain, amongst the flowers to have your breakfast. It is basic fare of buns and jam, coffee or tea & juice. Unfortunately, there is no stove to cook on. Casa Ildefonso is located in El Centro Historico with only a short distance to walk to the main square where there are museums, cathedrals and numerous street vendors to enjoy. I enjoyed my stay and the friendly, helpful staff. I will return to enjoy it again. I highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxHenry487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Maxine!! We were very happy to have you at the hostel, and thrilled to know you had a good time. Thanks for the hammock! ...and for sharing such great pics! Kind Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well laid out with plenty of space. The rooms are large and beds are single bed (no bunk) with a large locker and bedside table. If I did not give a 5 is that the breakfast is basic (bread, jam, cereal, apple, coffee and orange juice) and that there is no stove to cook.

Well located, far enough from the noise but close enough to the zocalo. A security guard on 24/24 and located opposite the police station.

Room Tip: Attention, some private rooms have an en suite bathroom shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThalieChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A very gracious family owns and maintains this hostel. They have renovated this classic building and brought out its calm and beauty. Beds are simple, clean, in spacious rooms. No bunk beds! The premises are kept immaculately clean, and there is an open air courtyard at the center of it all which is a vacation in itself. I very much enjoyed sitting in the courtyard, listening to the canaries, (there must be 50 of them) singing. I slept very well here. This location is within blocks of the Zocalo, with access to subways, excellent bus lines all very close as well. Breakfast is the usual fare, and if you require stronger coffee in the morning, Cafe Jarocho is right next door. They also offer healing massage for women on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a private room in the hostal. We found the place charming and well located. It wasn't our favorite hotel on our trip through Mexico, but we'd certainly stay here again. Mexico City can be a bit overwhelming, and this place offered a quiet respite right in the middle of the chaos.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 231 in Mexico City
413 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#4 of 231 in Mexico City
217 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 231 in Mexico City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 231 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#38 of 231 in Mexico City
267 reviews
CDMX Hostel Art Gallery
#8 of 231 in Mexico City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: £13 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing