We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The location is good, it's close to a lot of attractions such as Temple Mayor and the Zocalo. In terms of transportation, it's closest to the Zocalo metro station and a 2 minute walk from the Metrobus.
It was very clean, the common rooms were big and comfy, the staff were super friendly and helpful. Our bus arrived in Mexico City at 8AM and check-in was supposed to be at 2PM but they were generous enough to give us our rooms early.
The only thing was that it was hard to find, no taxi driver seems to know where it is. You're better off taking the metro there and then try to find your way. Also wifi didn't work everywhere, I had to go to the common area to get wifi. We were tipped off by the "receptionist" that the showers in the big bathroom didn't have hot water, which was fine since our room was closest to the smaller washroom anyway.
Overall it was a very luxurious hostel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    111
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
84
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A truely elegant Casa.
Clean, quiet, wonderful staff, extremely comfortable.
Helpful staff with great getting around ideas.
Awesome breakfast specially on sundays.
Single beds, No Bunks.
Great library, 60 in flatscreen.
Spotless bathrooms.
Will not stay anywhere else in Historic area.
9PM quiet time works well.
This is not a party Hostel, people have permanent appartments here.

Room Tip: Wifi is better in rooms close to main courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Casa San Ildefonso is a very good located in old downtown. The building and it's inneryard is beautiful, the roomy clean and the staff super friendly, helpful and familar. I enjoyed my stay here a lot and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirkoMirkoMirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mirko, we are very glad to hear you had a good time, we hope you can stay here again in the future and enjoy more breakfasts in our courtyard! ;)
Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's near to all attractions in the historical area and can just walk everywhere. The room is specious, the breakfast is generous, the common area is cosy and beautiful. My only comment was the shower in the common bathroom wasn't exactly warm but the small bathroom in the female dorm was OK. It was a good place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantinee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Excelent rooms. Plenty of space And a Good locker. Good price. Staff realy kind. I would like to come back. Breakfast great for a hostel. Also well located. Metro just 3 or 4 blocks. 2 minutes walking from Templo Mayor.lovely!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlacristinamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I arrived at midnight-ish to this hostel to a friendly security guard and staff. The room (5 bed hostel room, en suite) is large, with full size lockers and tables for other luggage. I woke up to the gentle sound of canaries (there is a large cage of them in the common area) and a simple breakfast. I was able to find my way to the Zocalo metro station to go to the Basilica, with the great help of the staff.

When I left the hostel, the security guard walked me to the corner to get the cab they called for me. It's those little details (like the little bar of soap with an "IS" inscription) that make this place a delight.

Be sure to get some coffee at the "Cafe el Jarocho" next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Sharlee, glad to hear that our tips to move around this big city were helpful to you. Thanks for noticing the soap details. We hope to see you back soon drinking some Jarocho coffee while listening to the canaries. Kind Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I definitely recommend this place its like 2 blocks away from Zocalo/Centro Historico.
Hot water at all the times :)
This makes this place really quiet so you can rest at night and get ready for the next day adventure, the personal that works there its very nice and helpful, they make sure that you are having a good time and are always available to answer your questions.
Also a plus is that the metro-bus stop (local bus transportation really clean and fast) its only a block away from the hostel and this can take you straight to the Airport, or take you to other important areas of the city like Bellas Artes, Insurgente, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Claudia, we are happy to read that the hostel met your expectations. We agree with you that the METROBUS is the best option to reach us from the airport, affordable and easy!... We hope you stay with us again in the near future! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#22 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#38 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Property: Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing