We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most spacious all-female dorm I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here twice during my time in DF. Once, I had the mini-room (it's not that mini...if it's available and you want privacy, take it!). My only issue with it was that the curtains were see-through at night when I had the lights on.

The second time i stayed there, the mini was not available, so I stayed on the second floor in a 5-bed female dorm. It was bigger than my condo at home! No bunkbeds! Individual lockers (they provide the lock and key!) and a shared bathroom between only the 5 girls. Clean. Huge. Plenty of hooks and places to put your stuff. The walls are paper thin, so bring earplugs...not that it was loud, but you can hear every flush of toilet and bird chirp outside the window.

The people who work there are nice (although some don't know too much about the area) and even though it feels kinds of sketchy in the hood, it's actually super safe. Walking distance to TONS of stuff. They helped arrange a pretty good tour.

I skipped breakfast after the first day...I much prefer to find Mexican things around town.

I can't compare it to any other place, but if you want a simple, quiet, friendly, safe place, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: All female dorm is the huge and clean. The mini is great if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location, only draw back is you cant drive down the road the hostel is on so if you are a woman alone arriving late at night it might be a bit scary. Rooms were very big, fans but not aircon. Very clean! Good breakfast every morning. Individual large lockers in the rooms so no worries about theft. Security guard on the door 24/7 and reception available 24/7. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Approx 5 mins walk to the metro/main square/cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nz-ncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've stayed here twice now during my stay in Mexico, and both times have been near perfect. The 5 room dorm is spacious and is over 2 rooms, with ensuite. Everything is spotless, and that says alot as I am quite picky..! Most importantly, the staff are incredibly friendly - even when i had to check in at 2.30am! When you ask for a taxi they ring a private company and their security guard walks you to the corner and waits with you until it arrives. I really can't fault anything and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuganou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Casa San Ildefonso for a total of 5 nights (at the beginning and end of our Mexican trip). I'd booked a double bedroom with a private bathroom. The double bedrooms are huge and comfortable, clean and simply decorated. The building itself is lovely and have a proper Mexican feel to it. The breakfast is included in the rate: nice bread, fruits, cereals, juice, tea, coffee etc... as much as you want. The communal areas are nicely done - TV room and lounge. There's a guard 24/7. All the staff are extremely helpful and nice. The hostel is conveniently located - few minutes walk from the Zocalo and the cathedral. You can store your luggage safely during the day if you have a late flight. We were even able to use the communal showers before taking our flight. Again, I found the communal bathroom very clean. I would definitely recommend this place. It's all you need, in the location you need. The price is very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very comfortable and secure place to stay in Mexico City. Great location in historico centro highly recommended hostel. Very quite at nights also and security always willing to help at the gate. ..............,,,,,,,,,.....

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillandTalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there 2 nights with my boyfriend in the private bedroom with private bedroom. Incredibly good value, clean and well presented space. Great location. Very helpful staff with good english. They kindly allowed us to check in at 6am as the room was free which was unbelievably welcome as we were knackered after our flight got in so early and pretty much no-where was open. Security is great there and there's always someone in. Great stay would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights with two friends.

Absolutely fantastic place. The hostel is a really nice calm oasis in the middle of the historical district. It's a great feeling stepping away from the hustle of bustle of the city to the relaxed courtyard. It's very secure, with a doorman and located right beside the police station

The staff were very friendly, helpful and obliging.

It's not much of a party hostel, but that's not a problem, as there's any amount of places to go out in the city.

Highly recommend this place to any type of traveller to Mexico City.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank shakey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
1,437 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
827 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,763 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#2 of 227 in Mexico City
408 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#3 of 227 in Mexico City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing