We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid the food there”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Condesa Reforma

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condesa Reforma
Ranked #288 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid the food there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

This is a modest hotel. Very basic but also very clean!!
However, the food service on site is HORRIBLE. The food is
simple and the price higher than they advertise on site.
Good simple hotel ( do not mind the pictures this is a SIMPLE hotel). Avoid the food on site.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeofthequeencity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    6
    5
    13
See reviews for
6
9
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pasadina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

I stayed at Casa de la condesa Reforma for 1 month , it is
a very nice hotel with a great location , just 1 block from the main Av Reforma ,so you can walk easy to all the places.
The rooms in the hotel are very confortable ,very clean and they have free internet access with high speed, that was perfect for me.
The staff is so friendly and helpful , they realy make me feel great.

  • Liked — the staff an and location
  • Disliked — every thing was ok
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mishelleita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2007

The only positive note in this hotel is the face and the friendness of the front desk chica.
This hotel is usable only for its "cheap" rate applied, and for one or two nights.
The breakfast is very very poor, do not use it, go outside.
The hotel position is good ma the taxi driver was in difficulties to found it.

I'll not use it again and not suggest to other.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bar, service and breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pissenti c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Canadian in NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2007

Well we are from Canada and we were travelling throughout Mexico on our way around the world. We stayed at this hotel for two seperate nights as it was a cheap alternative and close to the center..well its a good walk but i think its in a good position. The people at the desk are accomodating and so are the ladies who clean the room. The rooms are ok. The kitchen is very basic not many cooking utensils are available. The beds are comfortable only i began geting itchy. It also can get a little cold at night. The bathroom is basic and the shower head was a little annoying.

But overall not bad.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank pebblesbanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

We stayed at Casa de la Condesa Reforma each way in transit to Zihuatanejo, as our connecting flights were the next morning. We chose the hotel because it was cheap and seemed fine - and given we didn't spend much time there, it wasn't horrible by any means - but I would definitely spend a bit more for a nicer hotel if I went back to Mexico City. Location is good, there is just something a little off about everything in this hotel (and we are not picky). OK for a bargain but know what you are getting into!

The first night we arrived late and checked in without any problem. In general front desk staff were well-meaning, but a bit slow and we sometimes had trouble communicating with our high-school espanol. We were in one of the rooms situated over the lobby, and it smelled very strongly of smoke. Bathroom was redone and clean (white tile), but not luxurious. "View" was out to a concrete patio and another building - but whatever, we were just there to sleep for a few hours so we didn't care. I woke up shivering in the morning and realized my bed was damp (ew!) - it felt like I was camping. In the morning we wanted coffee desparately but the cafe in the lobby hadn't opened yet (it was 8:30).

A week later we stayed there en route again, this time getting in a little earlier in the evening to enjoy dinner and walking around in Zona rosa. It's an easy walk and we felt safe walking on the main streets. This time our room was one of the "junior suites," with a double bed, kitchenette, and a couch (actually a concrete bench w/ cushions on it). We opened windows to air out the room, since this time it smelled like someone exploded a whole can of lysol. When we returned to the hotel we asked for sheets and a pillow for the couch, and since there were none available they offered to let us move rooms instead to one with 3 beds. So we dragged our luggage into the tiny elevator and back up into one of the rooms over the lobby. No one's bed was wet this time, thankfully, but the room was noisy from traffic and lobby goings-on, and one of us was allergic to something (mold? air freshener?) in the room, so we didn't get much sleep that night, either.

Maybe we just had bad luck with the rooms (and were spoiled from a really great stay in Zihua), but all in all, this was not one of our favorite hotel experiences.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dqframey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2006

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We picked it because we got a good deal online but were a little concerned about being in a "cheap" hotel in Mexico City and figured we could just change to another hotel if this one was bad. We ended up staying longer than we had booked for because we liked it so much. It was clean and cute with a nice little cafe in the lobby and Mexican decor. Our junior suite had a basic, but nice little kitchen & living room, and plenty of room for two (separate bedroom which was great, though the layouts differ from room to room). The carpet was brand new in our room and everything was clean. There was plenty of hot water, cable TV, and huge closets (though, oddly, no coathangers). The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. Our Spanish is dreadful but the staff had a great sense of humor about it and were able to help out with some English (depending on who was behind the front desk at the time). The location is great--very central. The immediate surroundings aren{t that nice (not awful but nothing to write home about) however it is only one block to Reforma (the big main street cutting through the city), a 10 minute walk to the Zona Rosa, and a 20 minute walk to the historic downtown area. If you don{t like to walk, a Metro station is nearby. We found the location ideal. I wasn{t worried about the less than perfect surroundings since it isn{t wise to walk around Mexico City at night anyway (it was fine during the day). Cabs are cheap and can drop you right at the door after dark. The front desk will happily call a taxi for you. I would absolutely recommend this place, especially if you are on a budget and/or you like to have access to kitchen facilities. We will stay there again the next time we{re in Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank helenahandbasket2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manalba
Hotel Manalba
#153 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinto Hotel
Corinto Hotel
#262 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites Marne
Suites Marne
#274 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regente City
Hotel Regente City
#91 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sevilla Palace
Sevilla Palace
#61 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Mexico City
Le Meridien Mexico City
#23 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condesa Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condesa Reforma

Property: Condesa Reforma
Address: Calle Madrid 5, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Condesa Reforma 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet street just behind Avenida Paseo de la Reforma, Condesa Reforma is a small boutique hotel perfect for those doing business in Mexico City or who are looking for an extended stay option. All rooms are equipped with full kitchens and free WiFi. Our modern lobby, friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms are always available at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Condesa Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa Reforma Hotel Mexico City
Condesa Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing